1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Increase the stroke of the motor

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by SteULM, Dec 19, 2021.

  1. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    225
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    611Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi everyone, here's another question. How can I give the engine more stroke because going to the max I only have the displacement that can be seen in the picture
    even if the values in Simtools are max ...


    Axis Limiting.jpg Corsa max.jpg
    20211219_160235.jpg
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,635
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,282Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,263 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can set the range in SMC3 with the Clip and Max Limits, but keep in mind over about 38-40 degrees up and down effective use of torque rapidly drops off:

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  4. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    225
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    611Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    hi noordbeast thanks for the immediate reply, so the adjustment you do on SMC3 is managed on simtools ...?
    So I can only increase the leverage for more displacement.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,635
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,282Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,263 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SMC sets the available range, SimTools allocates that range between various axis.

    But as I said, keep in mind to not overload a motor, as it is diminishing returns when increasing the range of levers, which can end up putting necessary strain on a motor.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    225
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    611Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    what interval do you recommend to use
  7. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2021
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    - 26Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    If you want max range of motion, you can set "max limits" to 0 in SMC3 Utility tool and "clip input" to around 40. However, please change these settings gradually and watch out for binding.

    As noorbeast suggested, best to keep the angles between +/- 45 degree max.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    225
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    611Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks for the contribution, now I try to calibrate smc3 with the values you suggested.
  9. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    225
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    611Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    As soon as I tried I write the feelings