1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad Plugin

Discussion in 'Other Flight Simulation Games' started by nosimula, Aug 29, 2017.

  1. nosimula

    nosimula New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    Hello guys.

    Im looking for the IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad plugin.

    Have some one?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,782
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,533Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,694 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Not yet, the BOS Devs have been approached about providing an API, do a stable motion plugin could be built against it.
  3. nosimula

    nosimula New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    thx
  4. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    32,560Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,156 / 10 / -0
  5. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    178
    Balance:
    1,244Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    I was under the impression that this title actually does have telemetry output, since it is officially supported on the Next Level Racing v3 Motion Platform via their plugin.

    Perhaps the data output has been made available since the last time one of the plugin Guru's here last had a look?

    Since this is also inVR, I'm sure a lot of folks here would love to play this with motion as well someday.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,782
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,533Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,694 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just because a particular motion setup has motion does not necessarily mean there is a telemtry API available.

    For example, it would be possible to create a SimTools plugin using the memory hook method, rather than telemetry API, however the downside is that the plugin would need to be updated each time game updates affect the pointers used.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    32,560Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,156 / 10 / -0
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    178
    Balance:
    1,244Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Thank you so much for linking to that IL-2 thread.
    What an eye opener!!!

    I'm sick to my stomach that I've supported such an arrogant & close-minded developer...seriously, what a jerk he is with his "you motion guys" statement!!!
    Us "motion guys" are ones who have made the effort to have an immersive experience with the title, only to be treated like second-class citizens.
    If anything, it's us who have the higher standards than this knit-wit.

    I only bought the game due to it being supported by the NLRv3 motion platform (didn't even get around to testing it, as I was busy loading up on compatible games at the time).
    At least I bought it during a sale on Steam, so after they take their cut he didn't receive as much $ as he would of had I purchased it directly from their site.
    If I could have a do-over, I definitely would have skipped the game entirely...regardless of how great it may actually be.
    Although I haven't even logged any time with it, I'm well past the 2 week timeframe for a refund...by around 6 months, LOL!!!

    I was even considering joining that forum to relay my thoughts to him, but I noticed he's such an @ss that he had closed the thread after his final post.

    Ugh!
    Well, I feel like I need to take a shower after reading that thread.

    I hope that you have more success with other developers, and this is a rarity rather than the norm.

    Cheers, and thanks again for opening my eyes with regards to this particular dev.
  9. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    32,560Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,156 / 10 / -0
    Once any of the IL-2 games stop getting updated thou, we can just make a memory hook plugin.
    (We could build a memory hook plugin now, but the plugin would stop working with every game update and have to be redone, so it's better to wait till they are a bit older)
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1