1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad Plugin

Discussion in 'Other Flight Simulation Games' started by nosimula, Aug 29, 2017.

  1. nosimula

    nosimula New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    Hello guys.

    Im looking for the IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad plugin.

    Have some one?
    • Agree Agree x 2
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,236
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,366 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Not yet, the BOS Devs have been approached about providing an API, do a stable motion plugin could be built against it.
  3. nosimula

    nosimula New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    thx
  4. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,619
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    28,440Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,649 / 10 / -0
  5. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Canada, Eh!
    Balance:
    1,994Coins
    Ratings:
    +250 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    I was under the impression that this title actually does have telemetry output, since it is officially supported on the Next Level Racing v3 Motion Platform via their plugin.

    Perhaps the data output has been made available since the last time one of the plugin Guru's here last had a look?

    Since this is also inVR, I'm sure a lot of folks here would love to play this with motion as well someday.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,236
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,366 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just because a particular motion setup has motion does not necessarily mean there is a telemtry API available.

    For example, it would be possible to create a SimTools plugin using the memory hook method, rather than telemetry API, however the downside is that the plugin would need to be updated each time game updates affect the pointers used.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,619
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    28,440Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,649 / 10 / -0
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Canada, Eh!
    Balance:
    1,994Coins
    Ratings:
    +250 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Thank you so much for linking to that IL-2 thread.
    What an eye opener!!!

    I'm sick to my stomach that I've supported such an arrogant & close-minded developer...seriously, what a jerk he is with his "you motion guys" statement!!!
    Us "motion guys" are ones who have made the effort to have an immersive experience with the title, only to be treated like second-class citizens.
    If anything, it's us who have the higher standards than this knit-wit.

    I only bought the game due to it being supported by the NLRv3 motion platform (didn't even get around to testing it, as I was busy loading up on compatible games at the time).
    At least I bought it during a sale on Steam, so after they take their cut he didn't receive as much $ as he would of had I purchased it directly from their site.
    If I could have a do-over, I definitely would have skipped the game entirely...regardless of how great it may actually be.
    Although I haven't even logged any time with it, I'm well past the 2 week timeframe for a refund...by around 6 months, LOL!!!

    I was even considering joining that forum to relay my thoughts to him, but I noticed he's such an @ss that he had closed the thread after his final post.

    Ugh!
    Well, I feel like I need to take a shower after reading that thread.

    I hope that you have more success with other developers, and this is a rarity rather than the norm.

    Cheers, and thanks again for opening my eyes with regards to this particular dev.
  9. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,619
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    28,440Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,649 / 10 / -0
    Once any of the IL-2 games stop getting updated thou, we can just make a memory hook plugin.
    (We could build a memory hook plugin now, but the plugin would stop working with every game update and have to be redone, so it's better to wait till they are a bit older)
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. FlyingColander

    FlyingColander Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Balance:
    637Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 2 / -0
    Hello, @yobuddy.

    Have you been able to experiment with the motion code released by IL-2? What do you think? Will it work nicely Sim Tools?

    Thanks.

    Flying Colander
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2019
  11. FlyingColander

    FlyingColander Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Balance:
    637Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 2 / -0
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  12. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Looks like water diminished the stone )

    Getting working plugin would be really nice, IL2 works quite well in VR and is fun to play.
  13. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,870
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,545Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,754 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  14. detail

    detail New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    28Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Seems they don't mind supporting motion with this company:

    Personally, I'm more impressed with DOF Reality. That said, I hope DOF makes a P6 that can do over 300 pounds. They only do 220 and I'm close to that and then the equipment means I probably would break the weight limits.
  15. thad the eternal

    thad the eternal Beginning stages. Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    Owner of Sand Creek Floors
    Location:
    Denver
    Balance:
    9Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    I cant get the game to patch I keep getting not a valid path I have tried every sub folder in my Il2 Sturmovik main folder I have tried the main folder I have no idea what to do next I have read the manual numerous times with no help what is going on? I know the game is installed I play it every day
  16. BrassEm

    BrassEm G-Seat + SFX100 Builder Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    NE of YMML
    Balance:
    661Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, 4DOF, 6DOF
  17. BrassEm

    BrassEm G-Seat + SFX100 Builder Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    NE of YMML
    Balance:
    661Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, 4DOF, 6DOF
    What version of IL-2 are you using? Steam or 1CGS?
  18. thad the eternal

    thad the eternal Beginning stages. Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    Owner of Sand Creek Floors
    Location:
    Denver
    Balance:
    9Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    1CGS