1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

IBT-2 and arduino uno isssue

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by cyberxu, Oct 10, 2021.

  1. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello all,

    I am having issue with getting my motors turn on. I followed the SMC3 instruction, schematic for wiring up to IBT-2 with my Arduino. When I tested with multimeter, Arduino code (SMC3.ino) uploaded with Mode 2 selected. I have notice the green line on AMC utility software is on the bottom of the graft.

    I ve got power(12v) on IBT-2 but no power on M+ /M- terminal. I have check many times on the wiring ...everything hooked up exactly as it should be.

    Can someone please help, I have been stuck here for 3 days trying to figure it out...no joy!

    upload_2021-10-10_15-57-39.png
    upload_2021-10-10_16-2-6.png
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,682
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +410 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Does the green line move when you turn the potentiometer ?
  4. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi, thanks for the quick respond...
    No... the Green line doesn't move when i turned my pot. Its stay on the top of the graft. or bottom if i swapped the positive and negative. very frustrated.
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,682
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +410 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Check the pot is the correct voltage and resistance
  6. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    this is the Pot I am using...I wonder if its a good one?
    upload_2021-10-10_18-28-12.png
  7. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    My Pot is made by:
    BOURNS
    PN is 3590S-2-103L
    RES 10K ohm +/-5%
  8. Ties

    Ties New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    1 = 5V 2
    1= 5v 2= V+ 3= gnd, 1= red 2 = yellow or green 3= black. Have you tried swapping wire 2 with 3?
  9. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes I have swapped. I also checked with multimeter. I am not sure this pot is good for SIM building. I found out it is multi turn potentiometer. not sure it will make any different?
  10. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have resolved my issue...It turns out it is my Multi turns Potentiometer that isn't compatible. I had ordered this yesterday. Now we wait. ...AGAIN! Haha
    upload_2021-10-12_9-10-39.png
  11. ZeGrundPilot

    ZeGrundPilot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    89Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    You using Arduino analog port 0. Is the IBT Connected to the correct motor control set for motor 1, 2 vs. 3? The code tells you which PWM control pins on the Arduino control which motor. If you are getting a PWM signal and it is hitting pin 2 on the IBT, you should be good. I you want to follow the ways of the purple path if your POT is on A0.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Boris Furtak

    Boris Furtak Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    Having the same problem Gadget999 my encoder are 24v green line moves but when I pull the wire it doesn't change on the smc3 utility...
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,682
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +410 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The smc3 program is designed to work with potentiometers NOT encoders
    • Like Like x 1
  14. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hi,
    After I replaced my Pot, Everything is good to go. It turns out that i was using a multi-turns pot which is causing the problem and green line is not in the center or the chart.
    cheers!
    • Like Like x 1
  15. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I just received my new worm gear motors today. it comes with stepper motor. I was wondering if anyone successfully uses these type of motors with IBT driver?
    upload_2021-10-21_18-36-59.png
    upload_2021-10-21_18-42-51.png
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Boris Furtak

    Boris Furtak Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Messages:
    57
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    Cyberrxu... I'm sure it will work along as your supply is the same as the motors ... if you follow the steps on the smc3 forum ... I'm sure you will get some sort of movement on any DC motor how it will respond I'm not sure ....
  17. yondwangmms

    yondwangmms Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Balance:
    - 121Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    IBT can't drive stepper motor, I think your idea can't be realized with SMC.
  18. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yeah, thanks for the respond. I realized that after i read on the forum...I need to use stepper motor driver in order to run these motors. I will also need some code for it too.
  19. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ok Guys, I have been working on my controller box to fit IBT-2 and Arduino. Here are some of my pictures... Hope you guys like it.
    upload_2021-11-12_10-16-4.png
    Using my son's Left over Lego for mounting IBT-2
    upload_2021-11-12_10-17-3.png
    upload_2021-11-12_10-17-23.png
    Utilizing my 3D printer to attach connectors
    upload_2021-11-12_10-18-35.png

    upload_2021-11-12_10-19-0.png
    Adding RGB Fan for Cooling....why not!!
    upload_2021-11-12_10-19-53.png
    Back side of the box, Uno connection and 12v power with E stop.
    • Like Like x 2