1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

I need help on SMC3

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by SteULM, Dec 6, 2021.

  1. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    As the title suggests, I have a problem with the motor calibration on SMC3. Following the tutorial to the letter but the green cursor of the potentiometer cannot be brought to the center, trying to bring the blue target up everything works by moving it to manual but the limits cannot be calibrated.

    SMC3Utils.jpg SMC3Utils_escursione.jpg
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,543
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    126,408Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,886 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just to be clear with the un-powered motors in their neutral mid position you should be able to remove the pot, turn it by hand until its line is mid graph in SMC3, then carefully reteach the pot.
  4. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi noorbeast thanks for the immediate answer, in this picture you can see the maximum excursion of the potentiometer, I can not bring it to the center



    SMC3Utils_escursione_max.jpg
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2021
  5. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    The potentiometer is a normal 10K it is not multiturn but I don't think that's the reason ....
  6. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    As you can see from the first image, with the motors powered, by moving the cursor manually the motor behaves correctly by reversing the rotation, only that the limits cannot be adjusted to those values so far away and there is a risk of breaking the potentiometer that I am leaving not tightened.
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,543
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    126,408Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,886 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Additionally your Max limit is set to zero.

    Clip Input is very low.

    Clip Input Used to create a band at either limit of the target range beyond which any values sent to the SMC3 are clipped. In addition to this clipping, if the motor feedback does move beyond this range (typically through inertia), the SMC3 will attempt to brake the motors hard by driving them in reverse until they are back out of this limit zone. The value can be anything from 0-255 (however can’t be less than the current limit setting). Reverse braking is applied in the band between the Clip Input and the Max Limit settings. Reverse braking can be disabled - refer to PWMrev.

    Max Limits Used to create a band at either limit of the feedback range beyond which if the motors move (typically through inertia) the SMC3 will automatically shutdown the drivers and keep them disabled until reset. This is essentially a safety mechanism if something goes wrong. The value can be between 0-255 (however can’t be greater than the current clip setting).
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Sorry........

    I had to set those values to get the feedback travel inside the limits, if you look at the last image setting the limits correctly the potentiometer excursion stays out and the motors don't turn
  9. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I tried to replace the potentiometers with others of different values and I also tried to do the tests on two other PCs but with the same results ...
    Please help me. :(
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,461
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,271Coins
    Ratings:
    +345 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    measure the actual resitance of the pot in the up and down postion

    is the feed to the potentiometer 3.3v or 5v or more ?
  11. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks for your interest, they both measure 9.9k max and 0k min powered at 5V, but I've also tried others with different resistances and they always give the same result, the green feedback line is always shifted upwards as seen in the images above .
  12. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,461
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,271Coins
    Ratings:
    +345 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    what type of board are you using ? is it 5v compliant ?

    what is the voltage on the board ?
  13. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I use Arduino Uno and the potentiometers are connected on pin 5V
  14. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,461
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,271Coins
    Ratings:
    +345 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    swap the feed to the potentiometers to 3.3v and let us know what happens
    • Like Like x 1
  15. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Unexpected error ....
    the negative pin from arduino has been disconnected !!
    Now the feedback is back in the center, thanks everyone for the help, I will update as we continue with the works.

    SMC3Utils_OK.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  16. yaksnip

    yaksnip New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hi need some help green will not follow the the blue i believe i have wiring rite. thank you
    upload_2022-1-8_18-50-28.png

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 9, 2022
  17. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    but if you move the potentiometer by hand, the green line moves ...?
  18. yaksnip

    yaksnip New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yes they do
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,543
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    126,408Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,886 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    And are the posts physically attached to the motors via a coupling?
  20. yaksnip

    yaksnip New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    air line tube 20220110_072650.jpg
  21. SteULM

    SteULM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Messages:
    116
    Occupation:
    Alla ricerca di cose nuove da imparare.
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    you are sure you have wired everything correctly.
    Could you post some pictures of the wiring
    • Agree Agree x 1