1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Hydraulic 6 DOF Motion Platform for F-16 Cockpit

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Pascal Thanheiser, Mar 5, 2021.

  1. Pascal Thanheiser

    Pascal Thanheiser New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    56Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey there guys, i am Pascal from germany and quite new in simulator games. i was dreaming since i was a little guy, well i didnt grow that much but okay, to fly planes. i never reached that goal. 2 years ago i build my first cnc and startet to build a full scale F-16 Viper cockpit. due lack of space i couldnt make it at home, but my boss liked my idea and told me i could build it at our company. i got my own workshop and alot of space to build. one day we found an old 6DOF hydraulic motion platform from bosch rexroth, which were build for the expo in hannover in 2000 for really really a few bucks. we bought it, the parts are still 500% more worth than we paid.

    so, how the hell we should get it working without any experience with hydraulic or motion systems? you dont find any about it online.

    it started to beeing hard to figure out how i can get it work. the motion control computer was missing, the second control box for start the hydraulic pump, emergency stop also. so alot of studying the plans and measuring the voltages and so on. the goal was to control it with an arduino.

    i got the system running and could move single cylinders by give some volts to the prop valves. i found out that the valves work with negative and positive voltages, in or out. so i took my rc transmitter, an old servo and removed the motor out of the servo and wired it up to the pro valves. i really could move it up and down with my rc transmitter.

    now i think i won the game, i took an arduino and testet with some servo basics to move the cylinders. works really good. then i added the pods including in the cylinders for postioning to my servos and the dof works like it should. i tried simtools with the free live for speed and yup, it works nicely.


    i am sure you want to see some pics now, but its not combined yet. the F-16 Cockpit is not fully completed. 20200129_144559.jpg 20200206_162206.jpg 20200208_200210.jpg 20200216_152851.jpg 20200219_194340.jpg 20200320_162009.jpg 20200828_112517.jpg 20200929_155801.jpg 20201002_104652.jpg 20201112_222458.jpg 20210119_165509.jpg 20191111_163017.jpg 20191111_163024.jpg 20191111_163038.jpg 20191111_163222.jpg 20210302_100841.jpg 20210302_100852.jpg 20210302_100900.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 8
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 5, 2021
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Pascal Thanheiser

    Pascal Thanheiser New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    56Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    i just realised that i cant edit the posting? it seems that some pictures are 2 times uploaded?! and probably the important thing that i forget to say that i used the servo .ino from eaorobbie. i changed just the actuator count from 2 to 6 and added the pwm pins and the actuator scale.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,892
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,729Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,683 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +296 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    thats a neat hexapod seat - how much can it lift ?

    moving it will be possible by editing the code to drive a h-bridge - the direction pin can be used to fire the correct solenoid

    what does it use to measure distance ? does it use potentiometers
    • Like Like x 1
  6. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    371
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,548Coins
    Ratings:
    +331 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    @Pascal Thanheiser Very nice project. The full scale Viper cockpit is amazing.
    Do you know if the hydraulic solenoid valves are proportional?
    Repurposing sophisticated systems like this is one of my favorite things to play with.
    Very ambitious project. May I ask how old you are??:):):)
    Thanks
    tp
    • Like Like x 1
  7. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    371
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,548Coins
    Ratings:
    +331 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    P.S. That seat looks like it came out of Proctologist's office... Ouch!:grin
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Pascal Thanheiser

    Pascal Thanheiser New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    56Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @noorbeast Many thanks

    @Gadget999 thank you, it should lift round about 350kg on 80bar pressure.

    Yeah i think that will work too. Thats my second idea. I just bought by mistake 10 Double H-Bridges. I actually just need 3 .

    Yes, kinda potientiometer. I didnt open any cylinder. There are build in and 3 wires comes out(to the 4 of the solenoid). On one i can measure changes in the movement.

    @T R Para thank you very much. Glad there are so many communitys to get dimensions because i never sit in a real one.

    I think they are. Its a STW 0153/10. And what i found online it says yes.

    You are so right, on of my workmate wasnt happy because he didnt noticed that "thing"

    I'm 38.
  9. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,707
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,625Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,990 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice work, those proportional hydraulic systems are very expensive, so a good find:thumbs. Will be interesting to see if it performs better then a modern AC servo setup :think.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Pascal Thanheiser

    Pascal Thanheiser New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    56Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thank you,

    Yes it is. We got the seat, the platform, hydraulicpump. cables and controlbox twice, some additional prop valves and so on. Just one prop valve(used) cost on e bay 350 Bucks. Thats what we paid for the whole thing. I has been ridiculus not to buy. No matter if working or not. Gladly every single part is working. I will post a video when its finally done
    • Like Like x 1
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,707
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,625Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,990 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Recommend you move onto control software which has higher resolution then just 8 bit (256 positions) as it will be noticeably choppy over the length of those actuators.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2021
  12. Pascal Thanheiser

    Pascal Thanheiser New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    56Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Okay, i will check it out. What you think will be okay? 10 or 12 Bit or something up to 32Bit? I still do need some research.
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,707
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,625Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,990 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Anything more than 8 will be a vast improvement. I and many others use 16 bit.
  14. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    333Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi great, interesting project, maybe I can help. Send you pm
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2021
  15. hideki

    hideki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    167Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Brutal!
    • Like Like x 1