1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial "HPMC" High Power Motor controller H-bridge using N-MOSFETs

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by speedy, Dec 21, 2013.

  1. postsol

    postsol New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    ardo

    is it a new design you have made or ???
    and dos it use same components as the first one
    i am just ready to order my components but i think i wait until you have sade ok to go a head

    and ind i my former comment i ask which one irf3205 what I should order becouse the companey have 2 differnt kind of mosfet called irf3205
    the first one cost 3.66 euro and the second one cost 1.76 euro and i dont know the difference between the two

    postsol

    I'm impressed and envious of the things you guys are able to make :)
    but I enjoy a great deal that u will help the humans like me to get on with our play equipment :)

    from the bottom of my heart thank you :)
  2. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,843
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    35,464Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,989 / 10 / -0
    The two irf3205 have different amperage ratings, one at 75a and one at 110a.
    I'd get the 110a ones.
  3. postsol

    postsol New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
  4. Albeda1

    Albeda1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    buenos aires
    Balance:
    470Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Hi Speedy,

    I'm designing a simple 3dof (2+traction loss) with wippers motors plus Arduino. A simple/sturdy design, to enjoy myself and my kids.
    Nothing too complicated...

    I found today your Mosfet Controller design and I like it a lot. I love to make DIY thinks so... Bingo!
    Easy enough to etch the boards for myself, easy to solder, and with all the parts available yo buy locally in my city.
    Component cost to build one board in my country is 20 u$. So... It's a very good choise for me!
    (plus...sourcing mosfets from china will be near 10 u$ each, shipped)

    My question is about your last design... You asked to wait for the new files, but I see nothing up to now..
    I also saw your new photos with the new version...

    Will you post the new PCB files ? Or it's better to build your first design (first page in this post) ?

    Some info about what you have done as update ?



    Please, let me know.

    Regards from South America,
    Daniel.
  5. chanzu

    chanzu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    413Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    hi speedy,

    at last i finished the h-bridge,
    https://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/880x495q90/842/kjiiz.jpg
    https://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/880x495q90/845/mv2q.jpg

    just want to make sure there is no mistake i edit the top board picture with text.
    dc supply + and - means psu 12v yellow and psu gnd black right?
    https://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/278x495q90/835/g7aea.jpg
    then the gnd on bottom board for microcontroller (arduino) gnd, am i right?
    and the last my wiper motor picture,
    there is two cable, yellow and green, if yellow cable on top board M1, then where the green cable will go?
    https://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/880x495q90/834/tfhu.jpg

    i'm almost there :D

    thank you
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi Daniel @Albeda1 ... I'm in the testing phase of the new version right now ... thanks to your help ... So I hope the update is available soon ...


    Hi @chanzu ... Nice build my friend :thumbs ... you seems like an expert ...:grin

    This controller board is for single motor only my friend ... use the motor terminals [ M1 and M2] for connecting your wiper motor ...

    You're right about all other connections but before connecting any power or so ...

    Use a DMM or any Ohm meter to do isolation testing between the MOSFET's back and the copper disk ... there should be no electrical connection of any kind ...

    If you have any short circuit between MOSFET's and the copper disk ...
    Then the insulator bushing of the MOSFET's should be on the other side of the copper disk like this ...

    2014-01-22 20.13.25.jpg 2014-01-26 02.45.28.jpg
    the MOSFET's here are totally isolated from the heat sink ... with a totally flushed to surface nuts for perfect Fan heat sink mounting ...

    reducing the chance of any short circuit or mounting disturbance that may come with the fan like this ...

    2014-01-24 12.38.08.jpg
    I'm here using a long bolts for testing purpose only ...

    Did you drill the 8 hols of the top layer for the screw driver insertion ? ... see page 1 first post .
    Last edited: May 16, 2014
  7. chanzu

    chanzu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    413Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @speedy oh i see, i didn't read the one dc motor :D
    thank you, but actually because overheat some pad got lifted and i have to use some kind of jumper to repair it.

    yes i drilled the 8 holes on to board, but my screw on copper doesn't through the top board.

    do you have some example code to test the motor?
    at first i tried to test with the lab power supply and test with multimeter, it seem to work.

    but when i test with pc power supply, with the 12v of course, the wiper motor just make a small move then stop.

    actually i confuse whether my circuit or my power supply doesn't work (need more ampere maybe),
    the power supply can give 12v at 13a, and when i tried to connect to wiper without circuit it can move though
  8. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    This is the stand alone testing without connecting any Arduino or SimAxe boards ...
    If you have connected it to a motion controller ... Can you give me a photo of the final connections you've made ?
    So I can figure out what do you need exactly .
    Last edited: May 17, 2014
  9. chanzu

    chanzu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    413Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    sorry @speedy i didn't have time to post,
    i tried with your explanation, but it didn't work.
    then i realized the M1 & M2 top board not connected to bottom board and the - dc supply too.
    so i connected them but the led direction only show the green light even i switch the input.

    maybe i will send the photos later.
    is there any points to check with multimeter?
    i would like to see the photos of the connection of yours @speedy
    and it would be great if there any block diagram of the circuit

    thank you
  10. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi @chanzu ...
    Don't worry my friend ... take your time

    That last M1 & M2 missing connection doesn't affect operating the motor ... And I can see now you have the green direction led is ALWAYS ON ... So that confirms that you have a short circuit between MOSFET's and the copper disk ... So the PC power supply is shutting down to prevent any damage ... check for NO connection between the MOSFET legs and the copper disk ... please .

    Multimeter check list starts with :
    all basics to confirm that all tracks are good without cracks and with no copper residues in between them to give short circuit ...
    1-all cross links between two boards are OK for continuity and firmly connected .
    2-IC's orientation plus all other components are OK and are good seated in there base for good connection to the circuit .

    Regards
    Last edited: May 24, 2014
  11. moon310

    moon310 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    615Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor
    Can I connect this circuit to the Arduino board

    How do I connect the wires in the circuit
  12. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    here are connections and a run test video ...

    2014-10-17 02.46.52.jpg 2014-10-17 03.01.05.jpg 2014-10-17 03.29.52.jpg



    I'm almost finished with modification to the latest version so files on the first page will be updated soon ...
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2014
  13. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Sorry for all that late ... I have to check it all again and I hope I didn't miss any thing ...

    files are updated and the last version now is the HPMC v1.0 for DC motors up to 48V :thumbs...
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2014
  14. BADAIR

    BADAIR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Occupation:
    Aircraft design and test pilot.
    Location:
    Paignton Devon England
    Balance:
    959Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    Thanks. This stuff is so useful but shows I have a lot to learn
    • Like Like x 1
  15. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi @carsten ...
    I waited for your question post again here rather than in PM ...
    So I'm sorry for quoting your PM ... I guess I have to reply on this error in public ...

    I guess doing the layers on double side board will make some noise from motor to the IR2110 input control signal ... So check for these next points to see if they solve the problem for now ...

    1- For the boot strap capacitor some capacitors are not good and have high ESR and can't fully charge ...
    So (use 1000U/25v) to give you enough ON time (8-10 seconds or more ) for the motor to go ... before reversing direction and the capacitor is recharged again in real simulator game action .
    boot strap capacitors.jpg

    2- Some of the MOSFET's power requirement (gate charge ) is higher than others ... so to keep them ON all the time replace the 4 X 2.2k gate safety resistors for the high side with 10k or higher resistors , they may consume some of the gate signal charge that MOSFET's may need ...
    hih side gate safty resistors.jpg

    3- you may also use a lower than 10 ohm resistor for the MOSFET's gates of the low side to 4.7ohm or lower ... so low side MOSFET's are switched on faster than the high side so the boot strap capacitor is charged enough for the high side MOSFET's for each pulse the low side is ON .
    low side gate resistors.jpg

    Other wise use a single side boards for top and bottom layers as suggested making some air gap to prevent the little interference between layers ...
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  16. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    This is perfect My friend ... can you give me the top side photo ?...


    IMG_5988.JPG
  17. carsten

    carsten New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    510Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @speedy: thank you very, very much for your comments. i will incorporate into the design and then update you on the changes. Once working my plan is to build these to control my motors for the x-sim. As of now, this is only the prototype and I have built it on a double sided board. (it as the first time ever that I eatched a board myself... there is still so much more to learn). This is a great forum. Pls keep up the great work. WOW!
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  18. Nur

    Nur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    • A BOM of all the components ...can be generated from a printed silkscreen PDF file of each layer ... or just use this components list.txt file ...
    • They are different parts. Which of them updated?
  19. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,733Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,274 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    The silkscreen layer is preferred ... But where did you find a difference ?
  20. Nur

    Nur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF