1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

How to setup actuators to allow me to keep casters

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Globespy, Jun 18, 2020.

  1. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello!
    Just about to install the 3DOF actuator kit I received today.
    Base is a Sim-Labs P1 extrusion rig.
    Currently on small but very strong industrial casters that lift the rig about 2" off the ground and make moving it possible.
    Actuators are 150mm stroke (or 6") and was wondering if it would be possible to mount them in a way that they were barely off the floor when they were in 'off mode', until they were initialized and then would lift the rig up off the ground.
    I'm guessing you can set the minimum and maximum stroke distance, so even if I'm losing say 2" of motion range, that would be worth it to me to be able to relocate the rig on the casters as it's going to be nearly impossible to move otherwise.

    Hope that makes sense and appreciate any responses.
    Thanks!
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks noorbeast.
    I plan on 1 actuator mounted in the middle at the front of the rig and then one on each side just behind the seat.

    That's a very cool idea, but not something I'm in a position to attempt!
    I guess I will try to mount the actuators so they are barely off the ground until they are turned on, which will have a similar effect, but sacrifice some motion.
    Or I could just screw the casters back on if I need to move it and then it should be a simple job of quickly removing the actuators until I move it.
    Could not believe how heavy the box from PT was....over 100lbs, and add that to the 200lb of my rig.
  5. Globespy

    Globespy Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Balance:
    643Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    So I just unboxed the actuators and these things are HUGE, as in tall.
    There's no way in hell I would be able to do what I'm thinking as the casters would need to be close to a foot tall!
    My rig is going to be much higher than I thought, about a full foot higher even with the actuators in fully closed position.

    I have been looking at too many D-Box rigs, those are so small in comparison to these things.
    The wife hasn't seen these yet, I was thinking I could 'stealth mode' them, but Holy moly.....
  6. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    416
    Balance:
    2,754Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have the P1x I was thinking about doing something similar but im going with a very simple solution. Just create a table with 3-4x caster that you put under when its not in use. I just grabbed some 3x the size of the Simlab ones when i came across them but its easy enough to just add a wooden spacer if need be.

    It goes like this:
    Start the actuators. they will lift. Move the caster table under and stop it so it lowers. Move it around.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2020