1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question How to set surge

Discussion in 'SimTools DIY Version' started by sason, Jul 18, 2020.

  1. sason

    sason New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    152Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi guys, how do you set the surge axis ?
    What do you connect it to ?
    Do you set it as the linear acceleration from the game values ?
    Thanks
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    404Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Surge is the linear acceleration you get from braking, accelerating and pitch change. I would directly couple it to your platform pitch. In case of a 6dof, I would additionally set it with washout on the surge axis. On the surge axis you give a strong que that way, and on the pitch axis you prolong the feeling, be it less strong.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. GWiz

    GWiz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Occupation:
    Dentist
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Balance:
    674Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    If you set up surge in both surge and pitch - do you not lose the ability to experience pitch with road undulations?
  5. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    404Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I think you can set up your platform pitch to react to both game pitch as well as game surge at the same time. You just tie both to the approriate motors to make your platform pitch.

    Theoretically, road undulations should also be reflected in the acceleration channel, since you experience a slight forward or backward acceleration from gravity. However, I would not trust on racing sims properly accounting for gravity. Flight sims more likely so.
  6. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    404Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Actually, for my 2dof flight simming, I have surge connected to pitch to give that steady force when accelerating, and pitch rate with washout connected to platform pitch as well to reflect *changes* in pitch. But I don't even constantly couple game pitch to platform pitch.

    One reason is that the motion cue alone suffices to prevent airsickness, and the other is that my platform won't do loopings :)
  7. GWiz

    GWiz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Occupation:
    Dentist
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Balance:
    674Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    For my 6 DOF, I have pitch set to pure pitch and for surge I've changed from a pure surge to a kinda surge with a bit of pitch by lowering the percentages on 2 of the motors, so they move less. The idea is so that on acceleration, the rig moves forwards and tips back a little and the opposite on braking. I'm not sure if there is a better way of setting it up though?
  8. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    404Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    No I guess that is the way I would do it for racing sims as well if I had a 6dof. I would wash out the surge so that you don't run out of it at some point. And then just tune the percentages until it feels natural.

    For flight sims on a 6dof I would use pitch rate to control platform pitch, and wash it out. But that is different than in driving since the possible values and rates for pitch are much higher in flight simming.
  9. GWiz

    GWiz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Occupation:
    Dentist
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Balance:
    674Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I hadn't thought of using a washout filter for surge, I've only been using it for traction loss. That's a good idea, I'll give that a go. Thanks!
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,836
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,687Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post pictures of all of your settings on your build thread.