1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial How to mod a 12V 90A PSU

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by RacingMat, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,926
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,835 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi @gigi
    you can do 2 things:
    - measure the peak with a multimeter with peak memory. That would be factual. Maybe your motor zyt90 23A - 40Apeak is not really 40A peak ;)

    - add a capacitor
    yours
  2. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    342
    Balance:
    1,332Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    Hallo,
    Thanks for your reply.
    I measured 28 A when I inverted the direction of the engine
    Probably the psu does not tolerate any kind of rush
    I also tried installing a 1.5 ohm 100W resistance in voltage clamp but the situation has not changed
    The only way to avoid the peak current of the psu is to mount a battery in parallel
  3. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,926
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,835 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    as the peak is very short, the measure depends highly on the sampling of your multimeter... it's maybe more

    Yes, resistance is useless in this case but battery or capacitor would be fine.

    Keep going :)
  4. Saurabh

    Saurabh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    India
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Thank you RacingMat for a realy good information..I did all good to start with my Awf 11Dc 1400 W ie. Shorted pin no. 11 and 12 and psu started well but I short another 2 pins in amoung that 8 pins and my psu got shut down:( and after that now only one light of psu is getting on and one fan is running and there is no power supply even I shorted pin 11 and 12. Please help me how will I start it again?
  5. dualclick76

    dualclick76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    italia
    Balance:
    23Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I tell my experience: I use for my simulator, arduino and sabertooth 2x32, with 2 24v engines, 2 power supplies put in parallel 600pb dps with the modification of one of them of the earth, to make the simulator work quite satisfactorily I modified the pid in the Arduino code making the movements slightly more docile, without taking away the pleasure of the simulation. only in some cases one of the power supplies goes into protection, and I immediately resolve by switching off and on again.
  6. dualclick76

    dualclick76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    italia
    Balance:
    23Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    20180609_074356.jpg

    questo è uno dei miei motori.;)