1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

How to know the torque of that motors?? PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Manes, Feb 13, 2021.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,281
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,642Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,461 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I suspect a CTC of around 40-60mm is likely more in the ballpark, depending on rig design.

    Effect use of torque with a levers drops off rapidly after about 38-40 degrees up and down, so 80 degrees max.

    To move 100kg at 0.7 m/s needs 70 N. It takes 9.8N per kg to counteract gravity. Keep in mind there is significant mechanical loss in things like the gearbox, depending on the ratio you may want to allow between 10% to 50% loss for worm gears and the greater the gear ratio the higher the % loss is: http://www.meadinfo.org/2008/11/gear-efficiency-spur-helical-bevel-worm.html
  2. Manes

    Manes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    thanks boss. I dont understand very good the last parameter "Current angle"
    Is the angle of the ctc respect of the floor?? I try that poibilities. It is ok with this parameter??

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2021
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,281
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,642Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,461 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Maximum lever efficiency, in both directions, is when the lever starts at 90 degrees to the rod when the rig is level. So design plays a major role.

    If the motor is directly under the seat, like in a compact design, then the lever would parallel with the floor, with the rod 90 degrees pushing the base of the seat.

    But if it is a shoulder mount design, with the motors well behind the seat, the start position of the levers would be an angle so as to position the levers at 90 degrees to the rods when the seat is level, as the rods are normally on a 20-30 degree angle to the seat.

    So the 'Current Level' would be 0 degrees in a compact design and perhaps 30 degrees in a shoulder mount design.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2021
  4. Manes

    Manes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    OK THANK YOU VERY MUCH. My idea with these engines is to build a compact simulation. I think these parameters are good now.

    CTC- 60 mm
    Engine torque: 62 Nm
    Motor speed: 30 rpm
    Maximum angle: 80º
    current angle- 0º

    Results:
    SPEED: 188.4 mm / s
    Output force: 1033.3 N
    Linear travel: 118.17 mm

    CTC- 40 mm
    Engine torque: 62 Nm
    Motor speed: 30 rpm
    Maximum angle: 80º
    current angle- 0º

    Results:
    SPEED: 125.66 mm / s
    Output force: 1550 N
    Linear travel: 78.78 mm

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2021
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,281
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,642Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,461 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That is more like it, and keep in mind that in a compact design the torque is more important than the linear speed, as the perception of the latter is multiplied by the height of the seat back.

    In a compact design you still should try to squeeze ever design mm distance in the length between the pivot ant where the rod mounts to the lever, this is my compact rig as an example: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/dx-compact-simulator.5866/
  6. Manes

    Manes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    tengo
    I saw this sim in others ocsion Very nice. When i have ready the sim, I will cheack withy moter also ;)

    I have good news for me. check the motors today with a good power supply and the motors has 45 rpm at 62N.
    Iamtinking in to buy this motor driver Sabertooth 2x60 https://www.generationrobots.com/en/402809-sabertooth-2x60-motor-driver.html It´s a good option??
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,281
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,642Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,461 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sabertooth are pretty bulletproof, see the FAQs here: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/sabertooth-motor-driver-max-36v.271/

    You can use @BlazinH's modified SMC3 code for Sabertooth: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-for-arduino.9277/
  8. Manes

    Manes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

    Attached Files:

  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,212
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,203Coins
    Ratings:
    +270 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Put several holes in the lever arms, you can try different length ctc
  10. Manes

    Manes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I go to buy the sabertooth quickly and the Next week start with the construction. I go for sabertooth 2x60. What do you think?
  11. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    19,617Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,033 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    24V 100W => 5A (but much more if you're stalling the motor ;) )
    sabertooth 2x60 is good to go and could drive many other motors (just don't buy a smaller one, they are less versatile)
  12. Manes

    Manes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Sabertooth 2x60 on way. I have a power suply but I dont have the specifications. But the power suplly was working with two motors same of the pictures. Ok, the power suply has two diferent outputs, one for motor, one for othher motor. I am sure they are diferents outputs. Can the power supply works with the Sabertooth 2x60? I hope you can understand, is dificult for the language :D
  13. Manes

    Manes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Today checking the motors, they works at 2,2 amp with nothing, when I brake with the hand the motor, I had, 7,5 amp. Maybe when works with other the structure and me, I have 20 amps max.