1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial How to convert your Frex SCM to SimTools - Updated

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by MasterYoda, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Most likely not, as they have just 10kgf.

    Please remember the topic title. Thanks

    regards
  2. Kullen

    Kullen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    - 30Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I followed this tutorial step by step and now the Frex setup is running X-sim :D

    I'm using this adapter http://cgi.ebay.com/PC-USB-to-RS232-RS4 ... 240%3A1318 an experianced some problem finding the actuators in the profiler. Egoexpress suggested that I should switch the data wires and that solved the problem.


    Thanks again guys for all your efforts with the X-Sim :clap:
  3. Kullen

    Kullen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    - 30Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I belive that the Threshold and Vibe cut option make it possible to adjust the motion speed according to different types of g-forces and speed of the car. But why are you fiddling whith the frex settings? You should convert to X-Sim :lol:
    If your body wheight is 5-6 kg including the seat the SCN5 actuator can support you ;D I think that the SCN5 can only push 10kg. It's very important that you, together with the seat, balance on the pivot point.
  4. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have to say reading this post makes me very tempted to convert my SCM, I only had the thing working for four days after building it and the the simconbase controller packed up!!

    I am now waiting for the units to be replaced by Shige, it's been two weeks of waiting already and I think it could be a couple more, I have read how delicate the Simconbase units are i.e. you shouldn't even touch them and you need an anti-static wristband. Question is are these USB adapters of ebay more robust, do they have any weaknesses?

    In addition the x-sim profiles for rFactor, do they apply more wear onto the actuators, is the actuator more likely to wear out because of the x-sim software?
  5. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have just been looking on ebay the USB to RS485 adapters all come from China, there aren't any in the UK so I would have to wait a while for postage.

    Just wondering if I could do things this way and get all the components quicker because the're all UK sellers.

    USB to RS-232 adapter x 2

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/USB-2-0-TO-RS232- ... 240%3A1308


    RS-232 to RS-485 adapter x 2

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/RS-232-to-RS-485- ... 240%3A1318

    Do you think this would work, I can't face the thought of waiting another few weeks for my simconbase to be posted back!!!
  6. Michael N.

    Michael N. Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Germany, NRW, Düren
    Balance:
    559Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    Hi, i think this Adapter would be better, but ask the others SCN5-Users before order this Adapter ;). I`m not a SCN5 User
  7. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Another quick question perhaps slightly off topic.

    Has anyone tried using TrackIR or Freetrack with a X-Sim or SCM setup, does it work with the movement if so is it best to use 2dof or 6dof?
  8. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Depends only on the profile settings you are using. X-Sim allows to set up speed and accelleration stageless. Imho MasterYoda' F1 profile is quite hefty :D
    Btw, you could load his profile as a basis, and modify his settings to your gusto.

    For that price you wont make anything wrong by simply trying it out. Generally all converters are suitable. Just the Hexin ones seemed to make some trouble so far...

    Please post these questions in one of the FAQ sections. I want to keep this thread clear. Thanks

    @Kullen
    Nice rig :thbup:

    Regards
  9. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Ok, I have ordered my gear, I decided to order the stuff from the UK as well as the adapter from China. I was rather impatient and i'm hoping the UK gear will work so I can have my simulator up and running again by next weekend!!

    Now all I have to do is wait for the post!!
  10. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Montreal/Canada
    Balance:
    - 131Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    From what I have noticed to far, it might be the opposite.
    It seems to be more dangerous to use the SCB software than X-Sim.

    There reason is that x-Sim has a 25% limiter and allows your to set your actuators speed and acceleration. SCB allows speed setting, only.

    I used to have issues with my actuators hitting the bottom with SCB software. I even had limited my range of movement to just 50mm on both axis.

    I haven't had this issue so far with x-Sim, I may have had my actuators hitting the limit 1 or 2 times while I was experimenting with really high speeds and not so suitable accelerations.
    Given that, I would say that so far x-Sim seems safer.

    Cheers,
  11. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My UK USB to RS-232 adapters have arrived along with my RS232 to RS485 adapters so all I need now is my cables then I can start my testing.

    I have taken a screenshot of the Serial port settings of one of the adapters to get some input on configuration, given the options available with my converters do you guys think I should be ok?

    Attached Files:

  12. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    There may be a better driver for your adapters. This looks like the generic COM port interface drivers from Microsoft, not hardware specific drivers. Does your adapter use an FTDI chip? I'm not familiar with it.
  13. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  14. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    The USB to RS232 adapters say HL-340 on the side, I have also uploaded a picture of the adapter so you can see.

    [​IMG]

    The following is a dump from the driver .inf file I am not sure if this can help you determine if there is a better driver out there.

    ; CH341SER.INF
    ; Driver for CH341 (USB=>SERIAL chip) V2.3
    ; WDM&VXD for Windows 98/ME/2000/XP
    ; Copyright (C) W.ch 2001-2006
    ;

    [Version]
    Signature = $Chicago$
    Class = Ports
    ClassGuid = {4D36E978-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
    Provider = %WinChipHead%
    DriverVer = 06/05/2006, 2.3.2006.06

    [ControlFlags]
    ExcludeFromSelect = USB\VID_4348&PID_5523
    ExcludeFromSelect = USB\VID_4348&PID_5523&REV_0250
    ExcludeFromSelect = USBSERPORT\SER5523
    ExcludeFromSelect = CH341PORT\SER5523

    [Manufacturer]
    %WinChipHead% = WinChipHead

    [WinChipHead]
    %CH341SER.DeviceDesc% = CH341SER_Install, USB\VID_4348&PID_5523
    %CH340SER.DeviceDesc% = CH341SER_Install, USB\VID_4348&PID_5523&REV_0250
    %CH341S98.DeviceDesc% = CH341S98_Install, USBSERPORT\SER5523, CH341PORT\SER5523

    [CH341SER_Install]
    DelFiles = CH341S98.DelFiles.SYS
    CopyFiles = CH341SER.CopyFiles.SYS, CH341SER.CopyFiles.DLL
    AddReg = CH341SER.9X.AddReg, CH341SER.AddReg

    [CH341SER_Install.NT]
    CopyFiles = CH341SER.NT.CopyFiles.SYS, CH341SER.CopyFiles.DLL
    AddReg = CH341SER.NT.AddReg, CH341SER.AddReg

    [CH341SER_Install.NT.HW]
    AddReg = CH341SER.NT.HW.AddReg

    [CH341S98_Install]
    DelFiles = CH341S98.DelFiles.SYS
    CopyFiles = CH341S98.CopyFiles.VXD, CH341SER.CopyFiles.SYS
    AddReg = CH341S98.9X.AddReg, CH341S98.AddReg

    [CH341S98_Install.NT]

    [CH341S98.DelFiles.SYS]
    CH341S98.SYS, , , 1

    [CH341SER.CopyFiles.SYS]
    CH341S98.SYS, , , 2

    [CH341SER.NT.CopyFiles.SYS]
    CH341SER.SYS, , , 2

    [CH341S98.CopyFiles.VXD]
    CH341SER.VXD, , , 2

    [CH341SER.CopyFiles.DLL]
    CH341PT.DLL, , , 2
    ;°²×°DLLÊÇ¿ÉÑ¡µÄ,DLL¿ÉÒÔÓÃÓÚʶ±ðCH341¶Ë¿ÚºÍ¼àÊÓCH341¶Ë¿ÚµÄ²å°Îʼþ

    [CH341SER.9X.AddReg]
    HKR, , DevLoader, , *NTKERN
    HKR, , NTMPDriver, , CH341S98.SYS

    [CH341SER.NT.AddReg]
    HKR,,EnumPropPages32,,MsPorts.dll,SerialPortPropPageProvider

    [CH341SER.NT.HW.AddReg]
    ;HKR,,UpperFilters,0x00010000,serenum
    ;ÉÏÃæÕâÐÐÓÃÓÚö¾Ù½ÓÔÚ´®¿ÚµÄ¼´²å¼´ÓÃÉ豸,Æô¶¯Ê±½«²úÉúDTRºÍRTSÐźÅ,Èç¹ûÐèҪö¾Ù,Ç뽫ÉÏÃæÕâÐеķֺÅÈ¥µô

    [CH341S98.9X.AddReg]
    HKR, , DevLoader, , *vcomm
    HKR, , PortDriver, , CH341SER.VXD
    HKR, , Contention, , *vcd
    HKR, , ConfigDialog, , serialui.dll
    HKR, , DCB, 3, 1C,00,00,00, 80,25,00,00, 11,00,00,00, 00,00,0A,00, 0A,00,08,00, 00,11,13,00, 00,00,00,00
    HKR, , PortSubClass, 1, 01
    HKR, , EnumPropPages, , serialui.dll,EnumPropPages
    ;HKR, , Enumerator, , serenum.vxd
    ;ÉÏÃæÕâÐÐÓÃÓÚö¾Ù½ÓÔÚ´®¿ÚµÄ¼´²å¼´ÓÃÉ豸,Æô¶¯Ê±½«²úÉúDTRºÍRTSÐźÅ,Èç¹ûÐèҪö¾Ù,Ç뽫ÉÏÃæÕâÐеķֺÅÈ¥µô

    [CH341SER.AddReg]
    HKLM, SOFTWARE\WinChipHead\IC\CH341SER, WDM, 0x00010001, 0x00000023
    HKLM, SOFTWARE\WinChipHead\IC\CH341PORT, DLL, 0x00010001, 0x00000010
    HKLM, SOFTWARE\WinChipHead\IC\CH341SER, Function, , USB=>Serial
    ;HKLM, SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\CH341SER, UserRemoval, 0x00010001, 0x00000001
    ;ÉÏÃæÕâÐÐÓÃÓÚÔÚϵͳÍÐÅÌÖÐÏÔʾ¡°°²È«É¾³ýUSBתSERIALÓ²¼þÉ豸¡±£¬±ãÓÚÓû§ÊÖ¹¤É¾³ýÓ²¼þ

    [CH341S98.AddReg]
    HKLM, SOFTWARE\WinChipHead\IC\CH341SER, VXD, 0x00010001, 0x00000022

    [CH341SER_Install.NT.Services]
    AddService = CH341SER, 2, CH341SER.Service

    [CH341SER.Service]
    DisplayName = CH341SER
    ServiceType = 1
    StartType = 3
    ErrorControl = 1
    ServiceBinary = %10%\System32\Drivers\CH341SER.SYS

    [DestinationDirs]
    DefaultDestDir = 10, System32\Drivers
    CH341S98.DelFiles.SYS = 11
    CH341SER.CopyFiles.SYS = 10, System32\Drivers
    CH341SER.NT.CopyFiles.SYS = 10, System32\Drivers
    CH341S98.CopyFiles.VXD = 11
    CH341SER.CopyFiles.DLL = 11

    [SourceDisksFiles]
    CH341SER.SYS = 1
    CH341S98.SYS = 1
    CH341SER.VXD = 1

    [SourceDisksNames]
    1 = CH341 Serial Installation Disk, CH341SER.INF, ,

    [Strings]
    WinChipHead = wch.cn
    CH341SER.DeviceDesc = USB-SERIAL CH341
    CH341S98.DeviceDesc = USB-SERIAL CH341
    CH340SER.DeviceDesc = USB-SERIAL CH340
  15. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Looks like an old Xircom product. Intel took over Xircom some time ago and stopped supporting their products. Try googling Xircom HL-340. You may find a better driver somewhere. You could also look at Intel but I doubt that they support it.
  16. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I just found this review of the adapter...


    Works well, and cheap.
    Posted by adrianjball on 11/22/2007
    Involvement: Expert (understands the inner workings) - Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

    Price:
    Ease of Use:
    Build Quality:
    Usefulness:
    Overall Rating:

    Pros: Cheap, compact, well made.

    Cons: Uses HL-340 chip, so doesn't do unusual baud rates. You need an FTDI chip based converter for that.

    Other Thoughts: The driver on the included CD is an executable, that needs to be run BEFORE plugging the converter in. Windows 'found new hardware' wizard can't find it if you have not run the executable first! For WinXP it is: \USB-232\HL-340\HL-340.exe

    Bottomline: Great if you just need a simple serial port. If you need to connect to unusual hardware you may need a converter based on an FTDI chip instead.
  17. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hehehe, the bottom line says it all! :lol:
  18. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    So will this not work with Profiler2 will the SCN5 not be picked up in the plugin.

    How about the serial port built into HP & Dell laptops. I have a few spare laptop's lying around they typically only have one Serial connection each so I would have to use two laptops, but would that work with Profiler2 and the RS232 to RS485 adapters I have above?
  19. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Your adapter will probably work. I can't say for certain because it hasn't been tested with X-Sim yet. I doubt that it will have as good of switching times, etc.. as an FTDI product though. I was only recommending to look for a better driver ( than the windows default) in an effort to improve it's performance.

    Any COM port should work. X-Sim has good flexibility to accomodate a variety of adapters. However, most of us prefer (and some of us are a little more outspoken about it) FTDI chips.

    Don't give up on your adapters yet. They may prove to have acceptable update rates. Xircom did not produce terrible quality products in my experience.
  20. viper221w

    viper221w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Occupation:
    Technical Architect for Accenture
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    290Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I found a Uk supplier who stocks FTDI based USB to RS232 adapters. The USB to RS485 adapter I ordered from China won't be here until the end of the month, I am hoping to get thing working this weekend so I am wondering what to do at this point.

    What are my chances realistically of getting it working on my existing adapters?

    Should I order these?

    http://www.usbnow.co.uk/p47/USB_2.0_to_ ... _info.html