1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Hoddem's DIY Linear Actuator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Hoddem, May 23, 2017.

  1. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,729Coins
    Ratings:
    +870 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What kind of motor is that? Washing machine or dryer? Something similar?
  2. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    I'm just playing, it's a 4.25 hp treadmill motor. I just replaced it on my treadmill and before I take it to the scrap yard I figured I would throw it out there.
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    I updated the design to include the new connections. The power inputs are standard IEC320 receptacles and the Data port is a 8P8C breakout board that I will add terminal blocks to.

    amazon.com/uxcell-Panel-Adapter-Connector-Socket/dp/B01ISO2T1C
    amazon.com/Connector-Breakout-Ethernet-DMX-512-Unassambled/dp/B0120Q1WSU

    Electrical Connections.jpg

    Electrical Connections 2.jpg


    I also updated some of the parts to capture the bearings rather then rely on the press fit to hold them. I noticed in my limited amount of testing that the 25mm main bearing was starting to slowly work itself out.

    Bearing Flange 1.jpg

    Bearing Flange 2.jpg

    I am hoping to get the 3d printer going on the new parts soon, but I had a massive failure where my extruder just kept extruding into itself creating a giant ball of pla covering everything it possible could. I have some replacement parts on order and should be back up and running this weekend.

    Updated the post, I had included amazon links but they never seem to work for me.
    • Like Like x 5
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
  4. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi,

    First Material arrived, everything till now is made with 7075 aluminum. Seems to be fit together :grin
    joint.JPG

    Still waiting for the motors,

    @Hoddem , the aluminum parts for the joint have to be modify for proper Assembly.

    -kermit
    • Like Like x 3
  5. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    Wow, Looks really good.

    Are you saying that you can't assemble the u-joint in the current configuration? it looks like you built them as a solid piece, when I 3d printed mine like that I couldn't assemble them because there was not enough space to fit the actual u-joint in. The design now has caps with u-bolt for retainers to make assembly possible.
  6. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    Also, Are you machining those in house on your home built multi-axis mill? If so you really need to do a time lapse video of it running because that is a very complex part for a home shop to make.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes right I made solid pieces. I modified the 3D's to make it possible to assemble the u-joint
  8. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I didn't make this complex piece on my home machine, a company made this for me. But some other parts are homemade.
  9. dureiken

    dureiken Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    686Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 1 / -0
    Hi,

    what do you use as sensor ? do you have some advices ?

    thanks
  10. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Hoddem ,

    i've the same issue here, neede to flip the ball nut , :-(

    can you send me the step-file (or put it on your dropbox) for the adapter ? so i can flip then easely the rod.

    THANKS
    Kermit
  11. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0

    It should be in the dropbox folder, look in the export folder. I have all of the custom parts exported as step 214 files in order to bring them into fusion 360.

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xktbe5wp8bm9286/AAAYpmETkyo2VQaC_10z1lgga?dl=0

    its called ball nut removal tool, let me know if you cant find it.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  12. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
  13. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Hoddem

    One more question,

    Did you print this part with 1:1 ratio or a little bit smaller for better fitting ?

    -kermit
  14. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    I printed at 1:1, it was still pretty loose for me even at 1:1. If you print any smaller you probably won't be able to get the end of the ballscrew to fit into the tool.

    FYI to make this I grabbed a model off grabcad and shortened it. I then added a hole in the end. The part may not be an exact match to the ballscrew, but it worked well enough for me.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    Here is the new connector plate with the 2 iec320 receptacles and the data port. Not my best print, but it will work for testing just fine.

    image.jpeg


    image.jpeg
    I am planning on adding screw terminals to the Ethernet breakout pcb. I would like to go with 5mm terminals because I need to share the ground on 4 wires, That will require an adapter board though.
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    Well, I printed out some parts with the new capture design and I really wasn't very happy with the results. I decided to go another route and added set screws to the design. The set screws will hit in the groove on the linear bearing and should be plenty to prevent the bearing from working its way out.

    DIY Linear Actuator R2 Assembly 9-20-17 #1.jpg
    DIY Linear Actuator R2 Assembly 9-20-17 #2.jpg
    DIY Linear Actuator R2 Assembly 9-20-17 #3.jpg
    I will have an printed parts with the new design soon
  17. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,186Coins
    Ratings:
    +251 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    What's about your first idea to have two screw from the top to fix the bearing ?
    This didn't work ?

    -kermit
  18. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    No it didn't work, I suppose its a limitation with 3d printing and would work just fine on machined parts or with modification to the design. On the 3d printed parts the screws were too close to the bearings and ended up compressing the entire bearing into an oval shape. I could have moved screws further away from the bearings and added washer, but I am running out of space and that design would restrict the movement slightly.

    I have 1/8" of space on the bottom of the ball nut mount, its a tight fit to get the retaining screw and washer into that space.

    2017-09-20 12_40_07-Greenshot 1.jpg

    on the large bearing any retaining screws on the bottom side will shorten the stroke by the height of the washer and screw head.

    2017-09-20 12_41_11-Greenshot.jpg

    in the end I decided to go with the set screw method, it should work and will be a little cleaner.
  19. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    3,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +612 / 2 / -0
    I didn't see this, are you asking about the encoder or the limit switched?

    The encoder is from sparkfun COM-10932
    www.sparkfun.com/products/10932

    the limit switches are from Amazon
    www.amazon.com/PODOY-Micro-Limit-Switch-Hinge/dp/B0171G7HCY/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?ie=UTF8&qid=1505931496&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=KW4-3Z-3&psc=1

    I chose an encoder over a potentiometer because I will be using a kangaroo driver and I have read on the forums that the kangaroo just works better with an encoder (also encoders have unlimited rotation). However, that being said I may end up going with a kangaroo on my racing rig which has potentiometers so hopefully that's not entirely true.
    • Informative Informative x 1