1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Hannibal's thread into DIY motion platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by hannibal, Feb 15, 2019.

  1. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    is this your setup? thanks for sharing...
    so you have (2x) 12v batteries in series with (4x) 24v power supplies in parallel?
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2019
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    2,419Coins
    Ratings:
    +334 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Not unless he has 48v motors... you must place the batteries in parallel to the power supply.

    Also you should connect the batteries via relays to disconnect the batteries from the PSU if the PSU is off...
  3. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    yes.. batteries parallel to power supplies, thats what i meant! :)

    for relays, i was planning to follow @wannabeaflyer2 and have relays between motors and sabertooth, but you are saying we should have between Power supply and battery? i like to show you a sketch wiring diagram when i have it ready @Thanos ! :)
  4. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    it would be nice to hear you guys critique of my power...

    i still have to figure out what size batteries, and finalize the wiring sizes.

    Attached Files:

  5. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    just when i settled on going on direct shaft drive motors after seeing @CHEOPHUS design.. after reading more about going this route, im learning that people are adding gas pistons or pneumatic rods to offset the load...

    i happy chosen the 24V route... with my apartment environment, i am undecided for going the linear actuator route.... still hunting for a good motor for a NON linear actuator based 6Dof setup...
  6. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    566
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    4,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +531 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    For the batteries, I put a kill switch between the two batteries. It's simpler and it cuts the batteries from the system in one go.

    battery.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  7. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    i need a huge throw switch? kill switch will have to handle 200A?
  8. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    566
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    4,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +531 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Mine is rated 200 Amps.

    IMG_2024.JPG
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  9. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    thank you. i posted a question on your thread! wow.. i really depend on ppl like you on this forum!
  10. wyoben

    wyoben New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    - 15Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Hannibal,

    The progress you are making looks good. I will definitely be following your build.
  11. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    thank you @wyoben it will be a slow build. im going to start off slow, im just enjoying the journey. im going i hope to complete 3 linear actuators and the power equipment. im pretty much following @wannabeaflyer2 @SilentChill and sixdegreesofflight. i am obssessed now.. i guess i have to go all the way.

    the only thing i worry about is the state of VR.. the upcoming headsets do not have sensors, so im not sure how thats going to unfold for motion cancellation..
  12. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    ordering linear actuator parts..
    learned something interesting about carbon fiber tubes!
  13. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    my two sim chairs have been collecting dust for the last 3 years. i will have to say RIP at some point when my 6DoF is developed.
    wont have the space. ill modify the custom built pedals for the 6Dof.. but my cyclic will most likely be not be part of the 6Dof project... good memories building. i just wish DCS had a glove for hand track, or just by camera hand tracked, using a hand controller and hotas just was cumbersome.

    Attached Files:

  14. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    currently learning about everyone's linear actuator builds...

    trying to understand the anti wobble ring problem and the fastening of hardware together..
    was able to see @SeatTime 's recommendation of "nutserts" to attach to the carbon fiber tube

    havent seen the most ideal way to attach the carbon tube to the ball screw.. research continues..
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2019
  15. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    566
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    4,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +531 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Just to say. After reading SixDegreesOfFlight thread and the problem he had with anti-woble ring inside the carbon tube. I decide to not use any. My ballscrew's rod is free inside the tube (that sounded weird).
  16. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    ok thank you so much for clarifying what happens with the screw and the carbon tube.
    ok! i feel like every day i am trying to solve a different problem that everyone has done.
    i know one side of the screw has a thread hole.. im going to see if i can find one round metal ball and try to attach it
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2019
  17. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    looking to order the plates for the actuator..
    i see a few of you guys using aluminum
    sixdegreeofflight used 6mm aluminum plates..
    @Flymen used 7/16 aluminum plates
    im trying to figure out the plate material and size from @SilentChill and @wannabeaflyer2 's photos
    @Pierre Lalancette you are using aluminum i see as well

    so far i am seeing that acquiring 3/8" x 5" x 5" A36 steel plates are possible for me..
    not sure which is stronger A36 steel or aluminum...

    comments? :) :) :)
  18. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    3/8" x 5" x 5" aluminium plate is perfect !( no more than 3/8)
    the top one are 3'' x 4 1/2''
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    566
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    4,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +531 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Aluminium is lighter. Steel is stronger. Carbon is expensive.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Balance:
    1,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    awesome. just ordered 20 plates... (extra 2 just in case i make a mistake..)

    appreciate the reply!!
    my next step to figure out what size bolts and rods.. i was able to figure out the obvious ones, like the M12 rod at the top of the carbon tube.. i think i will use 1/2 rod for the plates... it was 6mm bolts for the bearing sleeve.. i have home work to do!