1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Hannibal's thread into DIY motion platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by hannibal, Feb 15, 2019.

  1. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hey @wannabeaflyer2 @Pierre Lalancette
    im about to plan / build out my safety circuits...
    you always talked about the bears and losing fingers... lolol
    i just wanted to ask, what type diode should i use when applying to the relays?
    i see diodes on your diagram.. but i just want to make sure i am getting the right type..
    and i assume it is for flyback protection purpose?

    if you have a part number that would be great... perhaps the typical 1N4001 or 1N4007 diode?
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  2. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,821Coins
    Ratings:
    +757 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @hannibal the diodes were standard IN4004's , don't have the spec at the moment but I believe you can use IN4001's as well The IN4007's are I think were rated for higher voltage (Caused/created when Relay coil is switched off something about Magnetic Field collapsing and creating massive spike ...But don't quote me on that ).. I dabble with electronic ( not my stongest point ) so the Tech Guys here Can correct / beef that Explanation up ..

    And I felt safer with the latching circuit as well ( it Prevented Motors Moving again if limit switch Lever was overrun .)

    if you haven't got a diagram im sure I posted one that the guys here Recommended ..
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    just ordered some parts...
    0.1uF capacitors and the IN4007 diodes.

    where are yourr bears @wannabeaflyer2 !!! :p

    (grateful for your replies btw, you have been with me since the start of this madness! )

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  4. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,821Coins
    Ratings:
    +757 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @hannibal Now thats what you call proper layout and workmanship, very neatly done ( will make any later servicing if required easy ) that's a Nice configuration . Im mr rats nest as you can see ( something to do with always changing my mind LOL ) Hmmmmm who was it said Get on with building and stop reinventing the wheel LOL ,, cant deny thats a very Valid Point though Mate
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    im just trying to make the power section compact.. i have to admit, it will suck if i have to replace components inside...
    the inside starting to be like speghetti... lol
  6. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    im starting to wired up more of the hardware...

    but after months from the initial research, i cant remember the thread on which actuator should be 1, 2 , 3 in relation to the bottom frame...

    re-researching!

    at this point i guess sabertooth/arduino #1 will be actuator #1 and 2,
    sabertooth/arduino #2 will control actator #3 and 4.. etc..

    i will have questions about what these will be set to in simtools...
    i see sixdegreesofflight made a nice video about it.. but i couldnt tell how he applied a simtool function to an actuator....

    is actuator #1 set to roll? or heave or pitch?

    appreciated an explanation...
    @wannabeaflyer2 @Pierre Lalancette @SilentChill @noorbeast

    Attached Files:

  7. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    dupont arduino connector! with .1uF capacitors

    Attached Files:

  8. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,821Coins
    Ratings:
    +757 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hiya @hannibal cant help with the simtools info as my plattorm was using Ians BFF software , after all this time i still havent embraced Simtools proper dragging his heals thats Mr dragging his heal talking , but with the new 4DOF thats gonna change , as i wiil be Trying Simtools 2.04 and FlyPt Mover .. :)
    • Like Like x 1
  9. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    you just have to keep doing what you love.. and its the thrill of the build!
  10. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    adding delay circuit for post saber turn on for arduino..

    Attached Files:

  11. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    prepping carbon fiber tubes to be sanded at the ends to apply epoxy later..

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  12. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    power modules are alive!! but still so much more to do.. continuing panic/safety circuit next

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  13. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    planning to wire safety circuit..

    Attached Files:

  14. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 4
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2019
  15. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    prepping tubes for epoxy..

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  16. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,821Coins
    Ratings:
    +757 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey Hey @hannibal gotta hand it to you , thats nice work ,and loving the production line of
    actuators waiting to move to next stage ,, getting closer with each step .. well done , it will all be worth it good buddy trust me i know these things :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  17. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    thank you for kind words! @wannabeaflyer2 ! i stay continue inspired as long as u are in the mix! :)

    @wannabeaflyer2 @SilentChill @Pierre Lalancette
    need to ask u tech question, i dont think not to hard.. im just wondering how to organize the actuators...
    i edited a photos, do you guys say config A or config B? or it is either or config that works depending on simtools settings (im working with arduino and sabertooths... 000 6 dof.jpg

    000 6 dofB.jpg
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2019
  18. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    653
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,421Coins
    Ratings:
    +656 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Mine is ...
    I'm not even sure.
    It's B.
    I change my mind 3 times.
    It's B. One Arduino and it's Sabertooth control the actuator in configuration B.
    I feel kinda stupid as it would have been less wirering to have them in configuration A.
    It made sens to me at that time.
    Oh well, B, stupidly.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2019
  19. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    owe man.. i wired in config A... i guess i have to program as such in simtools.. or make wired extensions for the motors
  20. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    developed my anti wobble ring...

    Attached Files: