1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Resolved hall sensor not working

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by bruce stephen, Oct 2, 2015.

  1. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    so i purchased a couple of these
    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/BI-Technologies-TT-Electronics/6127V1A360L5FS/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvWgbUE6GM3OSmYYjqrbwYGv2F4QwNCRYs=
    but when i hook them up the motor moves away from the target.
    tried to reverse poles but get no signal from the sensor.
    i have it connected as labeled on the sensor. i'm missing something simple?

    10k resistor on 5v+?
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,883
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,666Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,682 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you ensured the pot is centered, the motor moving away sounds like it is not.
  4. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,706
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,618Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,990 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You cannot swap the poles on a Hall sensor as you are actually powering a small circuit board inside the case.
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,407Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    You need to swap the poles on your motor, Thats the way I've done it.
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Useful Useful x 2
  7. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,028
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    10,142Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,975 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    What Tombo and Seattime said is absolutely correct. I use those pots as well.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,230 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ty all. So simple yet i messed with it for an hour. I'll try after work.

    update: reversing poles on motor fixed it. also had to reverse motor in axis settings for simtools to compensate.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015