1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

Hall effect potentiometer

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by AceOfSpies, Nov 27, 2013.

  1. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,622Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    FEAR NOT, the bushing's can be SEVERELY abused and still come back to life.


    I also had a wonky pot mount which caused my Right side seat pot to seize up Twice. after the 2nd time i used my Original Flexy plastic pot mounts and Not a single problem since. Up until about 2 weeks ago those pots were still rockin just fine, I just recently upgraded the Seat pots with couplers So technically those are good for ever now untill i run into the rotation life.

    If your pot is really stuck, DONT be afraid to grab some BIG Plumbing channel locks and CLAMP on to that mofo, use a Crescent wrench on the shaft end as to not damage the flat, and Get Wiggling. It WILL break loose at some point. I looked at it this way, The POT is F'd so you really cant hurt it anymore than currently is So Go for it man. No sense pissing away Xmas holiday on a wonky pot, Fix her up and get Back on the black top.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,795Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,364 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Always use flexi couplings problem will never arise then :)
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,622Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    And for how cheap they are, Its Just cheap insurance and can actually make mounting a Pot to a threaded axle rather simple.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. JBoogie

    JBoogie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Occupation:
    Pre-sales Engineer
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    Does anyone have a link for flexi couplings? US link would be great but even if it's not domestic I can at least get a better idea if what to google for.
    Thanks!
  5. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,805Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Bump!! @Nick Moxley you had an Ebay link ? I need a couple myself.
    Thanks
  6. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,595Coins
    Ratings:
    +494 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,622Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I Actually order mine from Aliexpress.com
  8. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,710Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  9. fzxj520

    fzxj520 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    SimTools is a generic Motion Simulator
    Balance:
    942Coins
    Ratings:
    +74 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  10. Goatboy

    Goatboy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Balance:
    304Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Useful Useful x 2
  11. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,805Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. rafael_design

    rafael_design Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Occupation:
    CGI Architectural Visualizations with Blender 3D
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi, I am trying to replace my regular pots by hall effect sensor a1302. I used the mount and body of the old pot so that was not a problem.
    The problem is that readings from the sensor show a offset from middle position signal. I read about wiring a resistor to vcc and vout of the sensor but did not tryed it yet.
    Is this normal or maybe I am doing something wrong?
    Thanks!

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  13. chu

    chu 2dof racingseat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Occupation:
    tecnician
    Location:
    VITORIA
    Balance:
    889Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I built my own hall sensors and spend only 5$ they works fine and there is no contact with the wiper motor.
    Here the materials hall.jpg
  14. chu

    chu 2dof racingseat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Occupation:
    tecnician
    Location:
    VITORIA
    Balance:
    889Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    and here the final result simply hall.jpg
  15. chu

    chu 2dof racingseat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Occupation:
    tecnician
    Location:
    VITORIA
    Balance:
    889Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Here a cenital view, as you can see there is a2-3 mm space between te magnets and the sensor, there is no friction. hall 2.jpg
  16. Mark Nalder

    Mark Nalder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  17. lcturkey

    lcturkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello,

    I also did a diy hall effect pot for my simultor but I cant control the angle when I test the motors with the slider when I slide it to left the motor starts to left but doesnt stop at %100 and continue to turn it is the same on the right side also. When I center the slider motor stops. do you know the problem ? I am using a3503 hall effect sensor

    thank you so much for your answer.
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,718
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,793Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,891 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you changed the pots did you go back and do the setup steps: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/arduino-code-2dof-and-2-pins-direction-hbridge.67/
  19. lcturkey

    lcturkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Const int potMiniRorL=300;
    const int potMaxiRorL=700;


    Setup means this settings ? Everything is working well with the normal pots but not working on hell effect pots
  20. helisfreak

    helisfreak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    551Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1 / -0
    Hi Guys,

    I am in need to get some Pot or Hall Sensor. After I destroyed my 3 turn Spectrol pot... My gearing is 5 to 1 and using Oring as a belt drive.... is this a bad idea?

    Can you guys point me to a hall sensor that have continuous rotation with 1/4 shaft?
    Would the 360degrees work with my gearing?
    If keeping the gearing the same, this mean I can only have 70degrees rotation?