1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Hall effect potentiometer

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by AceOfSpies, Nov 27, 2013.

  1. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    I did not understand a thing :confused:.... these potentiometers hall effect sensor 360 ° does not have mechanical locks?
  2. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    9,211Coins
    Ratings:
    +486 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes. It does not have mechanical locks. But it has active work zone only 180 deg.
    • Useful Useful x 2
  3. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    mine dont, there is a slight stop point but it doesnt stop them spinning 360.
  4. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
  5. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    9,211Coins
    Ratings:
    +486 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  6. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    @bsft But if I exceed 360 °, what happens, they break?
  7. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    9,211Coins
    Ratings:
    +486 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  8. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
  9. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    9,211Coins
    Ratings:
    +486 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  10. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    Perfect !! I proceed with the order. Thank you very much :thumbs
  11. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    I forgot one thing ... I do not see how I kOhm are the K8055 should be okay?

    Live Online digikey on the website are not available on the site Farnell cost more ...
    Do you have any other site that you would recommend?
  12. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    9,211Coins
    Ratings:
    +486 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @-kevin- You should understand one thing about this "hall effect sensors" - they are not "potentiometers" and they has no resistance in kOhm. This (Hall effects) sensor has Voltage (according with rotate angle) as output signal.

    Unfortunately I don't know about K8055, but for Arduino's analog inputs the "Hall effect sensors" and the "Potentiometers" has the same functionality.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF

    Ok, now I understand, and I learned another thing that I did not know :), thank you.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. doctorxeno

    doctorxeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Balance:
    559Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    6127V1A180L_5FS_sml.jpg

    I use these also. Can not break them if something goes wrong like spinning motors. They do their job very well.
  15. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Balance:
    186Coins
    Ratings:
    +146 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    hi @prilad
    iam also using hall effect sensor ss495a with a pair of small magnet, in comparison with this digikey 6127V1A180L.5FS,which has better precision(resolution) and which do you prefer to use?
    regards
    Hooshang
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    9,211Coins
    Ratings:
    +486 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi, @hooshang...
    I prefer 6127 sensor because it has a comfortable design and stable performance. And despite the cost for me it is the main argument. I do not think that the accuracy (resolution) of both sensors is essential for the simulators. In datasheet for 6127 you can read next string (I recomend to read datasheets ;))
    Resolution 0.088° for 360° travel, 0.011° for 45° trave
    It give us resolution 360/0.088 = 4090 steps from min to max.
    And I think resolution 512 (or 1024) steps is enough.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  17. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    Ciao ho già ordinato questo tipo di sensore 6127V1A180L.5FS ma sarebbe una bella cosa approfondire il discorso che facevi riguardo hall effect sensor ss495a peccato che non ricordo dove ho visto che un utente aveva costruito un sensore con una penna bic e 2 piccoli magneti + questo sensore ss495a su un 6 DOF. Visto che tu l'ho usi puoi mettere qualche foto ho se hai qualche video in modo da capire come funziona? Anche perchè rispetto ai sensori 6127V1A180L.5FS che costano € 21,04 rispetto a ss495a € 2,51 ogni pezzo sarebbe un bel risparmio per chi ha 4 o 6 DOF. E poi (credo) che non ci sarebbe usura?;)


    Hello I have already ordered this type of sensor 6127V1A180L.5FS but it would be a nice thing you did deepen the discussion about the hall effect sensor SS495A pity that I can not remember where I saw that someone had built a sensor with a bic pen and 2 small magnets + SS495A this sensor on a 6 DOF. Since you are using I can put some pictures if you have some video so you understand how it works? Also because compared to the sensors 6127V1A180L.5FS costing € 21.04 compared to € 2.51 SS495A each piece would be a nice savings for those with 4 or 6 DOF. And then (I think) that there would be wear and tear?;)
    • Like Like x 1
  18. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Balance:
    186Coins
    Ratings:
    +146 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @-kevin-
    its great if you have any more information or image about hall sensor ss495a and share them with others
    regards friend
    Hooshang
  19. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    Credevo, che tu utilizzavi già questa soluzione e ci davi qualche informazione :) comunque io ho trovato il video dell'autore ma il sensore non e quello citato ma e questo : http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=195


    I thought that you were using this solution already, and you gave us some information anyway :) I have found the video of the author but the sensor is not that mentioned but is this: http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=195

    [​IMG]

    e questo e il video :
    and this video:


    E questi sono i bulloni modificati con 2 piccoli magneti
    And these are the bolts modified with 2 small magnets
    [​IMG]


    Si ringrazia l'autore per la foto e il video ;)

    We thank the author for photo and video ;)
    • Like Like x 1
  20. shanothegreat

    shanothegreat Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Occupation:
    Technician
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    481Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Hi guys, just a warning on the hall effect pots from BI Technologies, do not mount them direct to the shaft as I did. Any slight axis load on the bronze bushing will cause it to seize.

    I had one let go a week ago and another yesterday. Whilst they are rated for 10 million revolutions they will need a flexible coupling or gear or belt drive.

    I'll post some photos of my set up to illustrate what I mean.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1