1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Hall effect potentiometer diy

Discussion in '3D Printing' started by MarcoMade, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    you can print these in 3D and even modify them as you like to adapt them to your needs
    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2862716

    allegro 1302 hall chip
    to fix the 1302, all you need is a strip of multi-hole pcb

    an example from my station
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/FAnFN38YyL4Ym6Yr5
    Marco
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2019
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. ghidossi

    ghidossi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  4. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    17Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    Hi!
    Thank you. I was wonder if it possible to use this kind of system in my own project and now i have good position to start!
  5. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    sure, you can adapt to any gear motor system
  6. Qlittles

    Qlittles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Union City, California, USA
    Balance:
    226Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    hi, does this solution provide the absolute position of the motor? also, it seems like you have to attach a magnet to the motor - is this correct?
  7. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello NO to the motor no magnet must be inserted. there are only two magnets surrounding the Hall sensor. it then returns a voltage value in relation to the position of the measured magnetic field.
    it does not reach the 5vdc output due to losses in the semiconductors, but it is sufficient to then calibrate the movement system in its 180 * of rotation.
  8. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    besides I add that my design, has the possibility to be adjusted in the desired position through the rotation of the cube that contains the two magnets and then fix them with two screws in the desired position. a kind of fine tuning of the position of the rig

    in edit:
    I add some photos just taken. after more than a year that is not even looked at by how well it works.
    as you can see from the photos, you have to build the adapters to connect the potentiometer to your motor, and my motors are out of the standard used by almost everyone. so for the support you have to arrange to build it yourself.
    I hope I made you light.
    live in peace,
    Marco
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  9. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    IMG_20200126_100302.png IMG_20200126_100343.png IMG_20200126_100356.png IMG_20200126_100413.png the HAll sensor is then inserted into the hole until it reaches the magnets, you can help build the support with a breadboard and screw on the bearing base
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  10. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    IMG_20200126_102338.png IMG_20200126_102344.png IMG_20200126_102355.png IMG_20200126_102404.png Hall sensors are A1302

    ahha :)
    I forgot .. the third dof. built 6 months ago ..
    I used a common wiper motor to pull the belts.
    here you can see better how to install from the attached photos.
    Hello
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  11. Qlittles

    Qlittles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Union City, California, USA
    Balance:
    226Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Sounds good! Thank you for the response and the photos - I think I understand now how to use your 3d print design.
  12. tadek

    tadek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2020
    Messages:
    113
    Balance:
    388Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    hi
    Do we gain anything from the operation of the engines?
    I would like to use a hall potentiometer for wiper motors.
    Will it mute some vibrations?
    greetings
    Tadek
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,890
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,676Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,684 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hall sensors have good accuracy, long life and won't break if over rotated.

    I am not sure what you mean by "mute some vibrations", Hall sensors will be very responsive to movement input.
  14. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I add to the already exhaustive comment of @noorbeast.
    If the motors vibrate, it is definitely not due to the Hall sensor.
    rather you have to use a shielded cable for the connections from the potentiometer to the board, a stereo shielded cable is sufficient where the braid will be the negative (ground).
    the wiper motors are very dirty about EMF. therefore the Hall signal cable can be influenced by continuous spikes due to the very stressed motor.
    in my case I have very powerful motors and they work without warming up very relaxed, but I used shielded cable, this is the solution.
    many greetings and let us know if you solve with this small upgrade hello
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. tadek

    tadek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2020
    Messages:
    113
    Balance:
    388Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hello
    I have a question
    Do I need to change the smc3 code to use pot hall?
    Tadek
  16. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    no, then you only have to calibrate the limits and other parameters to your needs based on the power weight of the mobile station
  17. tadek

    tadek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2020
    Messages:
    113
    Balance:
    388Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    thanks
    that is, I connect the sensor as a regular potentiometer and calibrates the settings first in SMC3
    later in ST or FLYPT?
    best regards
  18. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, right. obviously respect the polarities of the sensor
  19. tadek

    tadek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2020
    Messages:
    113
    Balance:
    388Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    HI Marco
    What size of magnets did you use?
    best regaeds
  20. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    ciao
    8 diameter x 5mm height
  21. papito

    papito 2DOF + Traction Loss

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    76Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    HI Marco!!!
    you did a really nice job !!! congrats !
    Im testing my DIY Hall effect pot on my traction loss Motor and is working good but with a narrow angle.
    I used to work with +/- 45 degrees and now is in +/-10 degrees...
    do I have to "touch" something?
    thanks buddy
    david