1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Grigory's 6DOF #2 -- compact and no linear actuators, 220V servos

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Grigory, Mar 29, 2018.

  1. waldo wautelet

    waldo wautelet You found me...

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Belgium herent
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have a question, when i connect the servo in the correct way it turns verry good but when i am at around 75 percent it does nothing anymore... so when i turn higher than 75 percent in simtools it doenst move at all anymore. So I started reading the debuging of the visualstudio app and this gives me this : "no solution for ..." Can you tell me what that means and how to solve it?

    Thanks you verry much!
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
  2. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +302 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    The app uses the geometry of the rig to calculate how the motors should turn to place the cockpit in a requested position.

    If, for example, you request the sim to pitch 30deg when it’s geometry only allows it to pitch 15deg, it will not be able to comply. “no solution” means exactly that. You are asking the sim to do something impossible.
    Have you updated the rig parameters in the code to match your real 6dof setup?
  3. waldo wautelet

    waldo wautelet You found me...

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Belgium herent
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Well this solved the problem yes, thank you verry much!
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +302 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    You are welcome :)
    • Like Like x 1
  5. FargusFaustmeister

    FargusFaustmeister Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Occupation:
    Engineering Technologist
    Balance:
    316Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    Thank you for sharing so much of your knowledge and input. This build has been a big inspiration for me. Out of curiosity, are you a software developer? The work you did to make an asymmetrical Gough-Stewart platform work is just what I wanted to find for my own designs. Many thanks :)
  6. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +302 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    Thanks for the kind words.

    No, my job has nothing to do with software development, it’s just a hobby.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. waldo wautelet

    waldo wautelet You found me...

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Belgium herent
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello,

    Here I am back again with another problem, my servo works perfectly except when I press the 6dof button in the VB.net application. Then he starts to rotate slowly and this increases until he rotates pretty fast and then he crashes. Do you know why this is and how to correct this mistake? It is probably something with my motor but it is weird because it had worked before.

    All the help is really appreciated!!!
  8. ldr

    ldr New Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Telecom engineer / developer
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    Balance:
    137Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    Hi Grigory!

    First of all, great project, your design looks really clean and nice :)

    I'm also in the process of building a 6dof rig based on servos, so position control is really precise, 1024ppr before 40:1 gearing gives me >40k pulses per rotation :) But they're relative, so I need either an extra absolute position readout after the gearing or switches so the device can calibrate before hand..

    Did you choose to do either ? Or do you trust the starting position or so ?

    thanks,

    Leon
  9. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +302 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF

    Hi Leon,

    I neither have the absolute position sensor, nor the end switches. I just use my app to move each lever to horizontal position and then set this pose as the origin. This takes less than a minute and it only has to be done once after powering the sim up.
  10. ldr

    ldr New Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Telecom engineer / developer
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    Balance:
    137Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    Hi Grigory,

    Ah alright, yes that'll work of course, if nothing goes wrong in the software ;) I'll think a bit on how to solve it in my own setup. Thanks!
  11. sason

    sason New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    148Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi man,
    Awesome job. RESPECT !

    i am also building 6 dof sim. also with mige motors.
    i am trying to configure a dd wheel
    but i cannot get it to move on torque control. pa4=6

    driver: ds100s
    cn1 pin 5 (analog torque+) to +1.0 volt
    cn1 pin 15 (analog torque-) to ground
    pa 29 = 60 (6.0v/100%)
    all other params are default
    servo is enabled, moves in position control.
    even if i change pa39 (analog torque offset), it still doesnt move
    on display it shows command torque =0.00

    in speed control (pa4 =1 )
    it moves regardless of the voltage on cn1 pin 5

    do you know how to get it to work ?
    do you know someone who know these drivers ?

    Thanks
  12. duckdown

    duckdown New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Grigory,

    Fantastic project! It looks like I am going to build a 6DOF rig inspired by your design. Do you have design files with the build details of your rig base as well as the seating housing with attachments that you could share? I have the same driving pedals and shifter, though I have the Accuforce V2 wheel, which may have a different mount.

    My build will likely use the following:
    - Motor: 6x 90ST-M04025
    - Drive: 6x RS-485 interface. I have been looking at some matched motor/driver sets on Aliexpress. Not sure if this is preferable or if I should order separate drivers
    - Converter: 6x PLF90
    - Controller: Thanos AMC-AASD15A

    Thanks
  13. Philip K

    Philip K New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hi Grigory, how is your platform performing?

    great project. I was initially looking at linear actuators, but space will be an issue for me as i'm stealing a little space from the kids play room, but this project both in size and style looks ideal.

    Following on from duckdown, if there were dimensions you would feel happy to share for the platform that would be a great help to avoid the trial and error of getting it a bit wrong.

    thanks and appreciate any help you can provide

    Philip
  14. duckdown

    duckdown New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Here is my current take on the bottom platform. The picture is a bit busy as I am new to this CAD stuff.

    You can change your inscribing circle diameter to suit your playspace. You can then create an upper platform with it's own diameter and use that to get an idea of the angles that your rig can theoretically attain.

    Attached Files:

  15. Philip K

    Philip K New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    cheers duckdown, you’re a gent!