1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Grigory's 6DOF #2 -- compact and no linear actuators, 220V servos

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Grigory, Mar 29, 2018.

  1. waldo wautelet

    waldo wautelet You found me... Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Belgium herent
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have a question, when i connect the servo in the correct way it turns verry good but when i am at around 75 percent it does nothing anymore... so when i turn higher than 75 percent in simtools it doenst move at all anymore. So I started reading the debuging of the visualstudio app and this gives me this : "no solution for ..." Can you tell me what that means and how to solve it?

    Thanks you verry much!
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
  2. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    71Coins
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    The app uses the geometry of the rig to calculate how the motors should turn to place the cockpit in a requested position.

    If, for example, you request the sim to pitch 30deg when it’s geometry only allows it to pitch 15deg, it will not be able to comply. “no solution” means exactly that. You are asking the sim to do something impossible.
    Have you updated the rig parameters in the code to match your real 6dof setup?
  3. waldo wautelet

    waldo wautelet You found me... Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Belgium herent
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Well this solved the problem yes, thank you verry much!
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    71Coins
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    You are welcome :)
    • Like Like x 1
  5. FargusFaustmeister

    FargusFaustmeister Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineering Technologist
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Balance:
    287Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Thank you for sharing so much of your knowledge and input. This build has been a big inspiration for me. Out of curiosity, are you a software developer? The work you did to make an asymmetrical Gough-Stewart platform work is just what I wanted to find for my own designs. Many thanks :)
  6. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    71Coins
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    Thanks for the kind words.

    No, my job has nothing to do with software development, it’s just a hobby.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. waldo wautelet

    waldo wautelet You found me... Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Belgium herent
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello,

    Here I am back again with another problem, my servo works perfectly except when I press the 6dof button in the VB.net application. Then he starts to rotate slowly and this increases until he rotates pretty fast and then he crashes. Do you know why this is and how to correct this mistake? It is probably something with my motor but it is weird because it had worked before.

    All the help is really appreciated!!!
  8. ldr

    ldr New Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Telecom engineer / developer
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    Hi Grigory!

    First of all, great project, your design looks really clean and nice :)

    I'm also in the process of building a 6dof rig based on servos, so position control is really precise, 1024ppr before 40:1 gearing gives me >40k pulses per rotation :) But they're relative, so I need either an extra absolute position readout after the gearing or switches so the device can calibrate before hand..

    Did you choose to do either ? Or do you trust the starting position or so ?

    thanks,

    Leon
  9. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    71Coins
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF

    Hi Leon,

    I neither have the absolute position sensor, nor the end switches. I just use my app to move each lever to horizontal position and then set this pose as the origin. This takes less than a minute and it only has to be done once after powering the sim up.
  10. ldr

    ldr New Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Telecom engineer / developer
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    Hi Grigory,

    Ah alright, yes that'll work of course, if nothing goes wrong in the software ;) I'll think a bit on how to solve it in my own setup. Thanks!
  11. sason

    sason New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi man,
    Awesome job. RESPECT !

    i am also building 6 dof sim. also with mige motors.
    i am trying to configure a dd wheel
    but i cannot get it to move on torque control. pa4=6

    driver: ds100s
    cn1 pin 5 (analog torque+) to +1.0 volt
    cn1 pin 15 (analog torque-) to ground
    pa 29 = 60 (6.0v/100%)
    all other params are default
    servo is enabled, moves in position control.
    even if i change pa39 (analog torque offset), it still doesnt move
    on display it shows command torque =0.00

    in speed control (pa4 =1 )
    it moves regardless of the voltage on cn1 pin 5

    do you know how to get it to work ?
    do you know someone who know these drivers ?

    Thanks