1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Grigory's 6DOF #2 -- compact and no linear actuators, 220V servos

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Grigory, Mar 29, 2018.

  1. douweeric

    douweeric Repareric Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Service Engineer
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Grigory, Thank you for sharing, you really helped me. Very well done!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    427Coins
    Ratings:
    +50 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I guess I might as well ask if you have the output levers as a dxf file that you could share.
    I am guessing 25mm x 60 mm rectangular flat bar.
    I am getting ready to order some aluminum .
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. douweeric

    douweeric Repareric Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Service Engineer
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Grigory,

    Can you tell me where the setting are for your auto home/level function? I want to ajust them. My motors turn to far with your settings.

    Regards Eric.
  4. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    726Coins
    Ratings:
    +294 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    Yes, I can get these when I get back to my computer.
  5. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    726Coins
    Ratings:
    +294 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    There is no auto home function in my software. I do not have limit switches and so I use the up/down buttons to manually move the levers to horizontal positions and then press “define origin all” to let Arduino know that this is the origin.
  6. douweeric

    douweeric Repareric Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Service Engineer
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Grigory,

    Oke, but why do the motors move when i push the 6dof button? Is the motor out of limmit? It seems to go to a specific step count...

    Regards Eric.
  7. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    427Coins
    Ratings:
    +50 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I think what Eric is talking about is motor movement off origin when clicking on Auto 6DOF box.
    I see it also. Here is a video I made to demonstrate it.

    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    726Coins
    Ratings:
    +294 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    When you press auto 6dof button the motors move to position the cockpit in accordance with commands coming from simtools. Angles are calculated based on the dimensions of the rig specified in the code as I explained above.

    In my case, horizontal levers correspond to cockpit tilting backwards, so when simtools send zeros on all dofs the front levers must move down and the rear levers must move up from origin to level the cockpit.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. douweeric

    douweeric Repareric Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Service Engineer
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Thanks Grigory,

    I will look at that...

    Eric.
  10. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    726Coins
    Ratings:
    +294 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    This initial movement is also limited in speed to prevent dangerous jump. The speed limiter is gradually relaxed and eventually is fully removed.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1