1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Got X-Plane 11 working with motion

Discussion in 'X-Plane' started by Zed, Nov 22, 2017.

  1. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,618Coins
    Ratings:
    +690 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It's getting redundant to keep saying how amazing motion is, but it’s amazing! After getting cars going, the next thing was getting planes working. First up was X-Plane 11 and after a bit of tuning, with more to go, I was doing power on and power off stalls in the 172 to see if it buffeted. I’m not quite sure it does but the wing drops and attitude changes do seem very similar. So with all the fooling around at my local airport, I spotted a 747 and 737 getting ready to take off. With only a 172 I wouldn’t be able to keep up for long but thought great chance for cool VR visuals. I misjudged a bit and ended up behind the 747 as it was starting its roll and all of a sudden I hit wake turbulence and my sim was throwing me around and the airplane was hard to control. I never knew X-Plane simulates it but turns out it does. Just nuts. I hadn’t verified it online at the time so flew back to the other end of the runway and waited for the 737 to roll to see if it was really there and it did it again.

    Flight simming is so different now and much easier. Motion and VR makes the ultimate setup. Got to change some geometries to make things fit and work better, but it’s just amazing. :thumbs
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,469Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,333 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Although there is no plugin for it yet, another great title in VR is Combat Air Patrol 2. It's still "in dev" on Steam but the VR experience is superb. I've always loved the harrier jump jet (AV-8) So to be able to "sit in" this aircraft and take to the skies was a no brainer for me.

    Flight sim + Motion + VR = Amazeballs.

    (PS - I've not asked / put this game forward for Sim Motion as it's still in Dev)
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,618Coins
    Ratings:
    +690 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I now know what amazeballs feels like, Archie! Just so bizarre. To drop flaps and push the nose over and feel like you are slowing down is a trip. Getting the jolt when the wheels touch, crossing controls and going a bit sideways in a slip. It’s really weird.

    I’ve flown 6 dof commercial flight training sims but they weren’t VR. Throw VR in with even 2 dof and it’s way beyond those. I can only imagine what the 6 dof guys here get in VR and flight simming. Probably even more amazeballs!

    CAP looks cool! Will keep an eye on it!
  4. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    282
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    688Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    I actually refunded X-11 because it was very laggy in VR using Fly-Inside.
    Frame rate was not good at all... You could fly with it, but it just was not up to par with AeroFly2 in the Rift
  5. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,618Coins
    Ratings:
    +690 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I haven’t benchmarked it but I think I’m running at 45 FPS with reprojection. In last night's session it was kind of laggy but I had forgotten to open the EVGA overclock/fan utility and the GPU has been throttling. Once it restabilized, it was holding what I think is 45 FPS in sim just fine. But yep - not the joy it could be. Still holding out hope that their native VR support will let the frames climb. I may need to just turn down the eye candy some to get a real and full 90 FPS. But have to say the motion integration is beautiful!

    DCS and Aerofly through the holiday!

    Cheers, Brett!
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    803Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Hi

    does sim-tools work with X-plane 11 ???
    I couldnt see a plug in, maybe the Xplane 10 plug-in works ?
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,890
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    85,924Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,245 / 34 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2018
  8. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    803Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    brill thanks !
    • Like Like x 1
  9. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    273Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Here is a detailled X plane set up from SixDegreesofFlight (he is a member here) where everything is explained in details.
    I am using a lot its videos, they are simply amazing.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. SEHATanguy

    SEHATanguy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Belgium
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    When I see that kind of post I find the motivation to try to understand better my sim and have a better result, so tomorrow let's work and have finaly a better motion on XP11 :)