1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Gearbox i have.

Discussion in 'Off Topic - All other stuff here' started by f1iceman, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Not sure if you all might be intrested in me posting more pics of this gearbox 6 speed or 5 speed with reverse.
    Its a real good setup from rdige racer arcad machine a proppa clonk feel to it like some older type real gearboxs :)
    If you want when i get spare time i will take a few bits off so you can see the way it all works.
    Also took a video but on iphone and will not let me up load it so will try sort that out if i can and you can see what its like.
    IMG_9495.JPG
    • Like Like x 7
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,476
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,917Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,536 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Details about how it works would be interesting as a number of members have already been creating DIY shifters and it would likely spark some ideas.
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  4. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    19,893Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,047 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    +1.gif
    thanks it would be very interesting to see more
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Al.Bundy

    Al.Bundy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    belgium
    Balance:
    686Coins
    Ratings:
    +50 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sure looks interesting ! Great Job.
  6. lukas12

    lukas12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I was also interested photographs the construction of the transmission. I am in the process of building the simulator and it's a great idea it is .

    I join with the requests for more pictures.
    • Like Like x 2
  7. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Some how i thought you would all love this, it is cool tbh, and will try get a video sorted but not quite sure if i can get my iphone vids to upload.
    I will be on it tomorrow for you all and the way and the feel is amazing but a few mods could still be done to get a proppa mech feel of a real old school type gearbox.

    I was using it by adding the bits from the g25 stick to work with the moving parts of this and was ok but did miss sometimes due to my bad bodge getting the mod on it.
    I i was running pc and not ps3 it would have been easy to use the original switchs im sure.

    If anyone can help what i need to do to get my iphone to upload vids it would be a great help, and can show you it moving :)
    • Like Like x 1
  8. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Thats exactly why i thought it would be of intrest.
    I like ideas and like to think all the time what can be done or used to make things, well thats how i used to be, so no doubt when i get my head in it i will try come up with ideas and keep chucking em up for the same reasons, one idea can spark a thinking which can make something amazing or it can be just a load of rubbish and then onto another idea nothing lost. lol
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    The shaft you see is how it makes it click into gear, its a sprung ball bearing witch pushes on the shaft and the grooves as the stick moves forward or backwards, middle groove is neutral then forward/backwards selectingworks same for all gears.
    Inside it has a slider for left to right ect... but will get more on that asap.

    You could mod it how you want it to feel as it goes into gear via the ball bearing pressure /size or groove/size shape i guess.
    • Useful Useful x 2
  10. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I was going to say that, but you already pointed it out. Thats a good idea to give notchy feeling.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Any idea what type file i have to use to upload, i have converted to mp4 but still not let me :-(
    • Like Like x 1
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,476
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,917Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,536 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A video would be a large file, likely too big.

    You could just use Youtube, upload it there then link with the video button in the toolbar, which is what most of us do.

    Alternatively you could upload it to DropBox and share a link to that file.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. lukas12

    lukas12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    The film will also help us
  14. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    • Like Like x 1
  15. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    right i have found my old gmail account and its still going so will get onto it tomorrow with abit more confidence i can get the video up, you really need to see it working.
    • Like Like x 2
  16. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I am thinking of making a design based on that photo alone
  17. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Right guy n gals :)

    some pics for you while i sort the video out.
    Ignore the bodge bottle top and white putty ! lol
    IMG_9518.JPG IMG_9519.JPG IMG_9520.JPG IMG_9521.JPG IMG_9522.JPG IMG_9523.JPG IMG_9524.JPG IMG_9525.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
  18. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    M y first youtube VIDEO !!!
    you will se the switches used.
    Neutral left = clicks a switch then uses shaft switches by springed ball for gear 1 or 2.
    Neutral centre = no switch just uses springed ball shaft for gear 3 or 4.
    Neutral right = clicks a switch then uses shaft switches by springed ball for gear 5 or 6 or 6 could be reverse.
    ENJOY :)

    Gotta be the sexy hand you will ever see :) lol

    • Like Like x 2
  19. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    I think with a bit of personal tinkering i could get this to feel as good as my MX5 and they have one of the best changes ever.
    It even has hight adjustabilty for the sticky out knob bit :)
    • Like Like x 1
  20. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    ridge racer triple screen.jpg This it the system the gearbox came off.
    You cam most likley find the single screen version as some had the same seat base set up and think the same gearbox.
    This video is my friend with the actual machine i have that was his and its running and the only video you will possibley find of one (if you find another let me know) , its not great video but you can hear the gearbox clunk into gear ! lol
    • Like Like x 2
  21. isamu

    isamu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2 / -0
    Virtua IceMan is that you? :cheers;)

    Mate....I am absolutely GOBSMACKED that you own an original arcade Deluxe Cab on Ridge Racer 1, my favorite arcade racing game of all time! Damn you Iceman arrrgh so jealous!!!

    I have only played on the cab a few times but it was incredible back then. The 6spd gear shifter feels amazing from what I can recall. The only other gear shifter I think feels better is the one found on the deluxe cab of Konami's Racing Jam, which is EXTREMELY rare!!!!! That shifter felt orgasmic!

    Anyway enjoy the shifter mate you're one lucky son of a gun!:thumbs
    • Like Like x 1