1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial GameVibe Manual

Discussion in 'Tutorials and Tips by the Developer' started by yobuddy, Dec 25, 2017.

  1. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,018Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That's exactly why I said I was excluding it for "obvious reasons". I know the Elite Dangerous plugin takes a ridiculous amount of effort to maintain, I even offered to send SilentChill a little tip each time he has to fix it after a patch but he gracefully declined. I decided it was entirely too much to ask for a feature that would add more work!

    I will admit I do still really want a nice "bump" when the docking clamps grab on or detach, and motion cues for the hangar elevator would be really nice too!


    @paulopsx2 I did basically the same thing for Elite Dangerous but the results were not very good. Weapons seem to have no punch, the docking sound is not very strong, and if you crank volume up you get a constant huge vibration during flight. Better than nothing, but Elite sounds isn't well suited to this method.
    Last edited: May 28, 2019
  2. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    138
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    711Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Anyway it's quite easy to implement your own plugin which supports GameVibe....
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,540
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,594 / 10 / -0
    The big difference thou, is that with GameVibe, the plugin writer needs only to add the output into the plugin and then it just works.
    Also, GameVibe technically is still in beta, and look how many games are supported while still in beta (vs other apps that have been out a long time.)

    Last update to GameVibe gave us these new outputs.
    (Which should help allot for flying games I think.)
    • Flaps (Flaps)
    • Landing Gear (Landing Gear)
    • Weapons1 (Gun, Cannon, or any fired weapon)
    • Weapons2 (Gun, Cannon, or any fired weapon)

    All in all thou, I think we are close to a full release of GameVibe, as the internals have been polished up along side v2.4 of SimTools.
    In short, this means I can finally concentrate on actually using the tool for more games, and stop spending tons of time on how to make it easy to use for plugin writers. (as it will be finished.)

    And btw, adding new affects in the future is not to hard either.
    So even once its out of beta, its been written in such a way that we can add whatever we want for vibes as we go!

    Take care guys!
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    1,036Coins
    Ratings:
    +98 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    for shure. tks. put DCS on priority list rs
  5. gbdesai

    gbdesai New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Balance:
    90Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Hi. I'm new to GameVibes and just got it setup today. After some driver issues I have all four of my Buttkicker MiniLFEs working. I setup my soundcard per the manual/tutorial and now am trying to create vibes. Are there any recommendations on which sound patterns work best for different vibes? I could tell the white, brown and pink noise are probably preferred for turbulence and engine hum type sounds, but am not sure if sine, sqr, or tri is better for one sound type or another. Is there any info on that anywhere? Thanks in advance.
  6. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,540
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,594 / 10 / -0
    Yes, when adding them, this was my though.

    I think this is mostly preference and what works best for your setup.
    I would start with sin wave thou.

    Hope this helps!
    Take care,
    yobuddy
  7. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    1,036Coins
    Ratings:
    +98 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    well it depends. some games like NLS2, elite dangerous, haves a diferent patterns. racing games have intuitive rpm vibes... generally betwen 700 and 9.000 for rpm.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. PetroVitallini

    PetroVitallini Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    598Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I haven't been able to try gamevibe because of the regional issue. Should be fixed, but my rig is not operational at the moment.

    I'm wondering if it is a good assumption that running gamevibe would provide tactile effects more in tune with a motion rig running simtools than for example using simtools for motion and simvibe (simxperience) for tactile?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Game Vibe lets you customise tactile effects,which are different from motion, but both use telemetry data.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. PetroVitallini

    PetroVitallini Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    598Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hmm, it might be I badly frased my question. Because gamevibe and simtools are part of the same application and interpret telemetry in the same way. Or atleast being created by the same person. Would it mean that the tactile effects sync better with the motion when using gamevibe, opposed to using other software alongside simtools motion to drive the tactile effects?

    I can check this my self in a few weeks time, but just being curious.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The telemetry driving both motion with SimTools and transducer for Game Vibe is the same, but is used differently to what outputs they drive. In both cases the telemetry data is dealt with quite efficiently. That said using different software for say transducers and SimTools for motion will work, at times there are some port conflicts to manage, but other than that the main differences is in having differences of approach in the two software as to how they lay out and manage controls.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. PetroVitallini

    PetroVitallini Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    598Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    That makes sense. Thank you for the insights noorbeast .
    • Like Like x 1
  13. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    905Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hi, I am still in progress of figuring GameVibe out, but I am writing to report a crash I am seeing sometimes:
    Application: GameVibe.exe
    Framework Version: v4.0.30319
    Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
    Exception Info: System.AccessViolationException
    at <Module>.CoCreateInstance(_GUID*, IUnknown*, UInt32, _GUID*, Void**)
    at SlimDX.XAudio2.XAudio2..ctor()
    at XAudio2_GameVibePlugin.GameVibePlugin.PlayNote_GameVibe(IntPtr, System.Guid)
    at GameVibe.MyAudio.Note.PlayNote_GameVibe(IntPtr, System.Guid)
    at GameVibe.cls_ActiveNote.CreateNoise()
    at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart_Context(System.Object)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object)
    at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart()

    I feels like it has to do with order of startup of Game (rF2) vs GameVibe - I hope stack helps :) Note that it does not crash all the time, just sometimes - I have not figured out exact repro sequence yet.

    PS: I wonder if order of available devices changes when I start VR HMD or something?
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try this and see if it makes a difference: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
  15. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,540
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,594 / 10 / -0
    Hi @The Iron Wolf,
    Please make sure you are running the newest GameVibe version, as it has all the prerequisites in the installer now.
    I only say this because I see this in your post "Framework Version: v4.0.30319" and its now compiled against v4.6.
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
  16. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    905Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Thanks @yobuddy, I grabbed my mine from the simtools site after upgrade of license. It appears to be v2.0:
    upload_2019-7-26_7-12-4.png
    But I installed Simtools v2.4 on top of v2.3, I wonder if there's some conflict. To my surprise, I still see v2.3 in the control panel:
    upload_2019-7-26_7-14-43.png

    Lastly, I do not think I have .NET 4.6 installed, highest I see is 4.5.1, I wonder if that is the issue. Also, crash seems to be in SlimDX/Xaudio - are those built against 4.6 as well?

    However, if it was dependency issue, wouldn't tool crash all the time? It crashes only sometimes, and it seems to be related to the startup order of SimTools/GameVibe/Game. I am getting my transducers/amp today and will update if I figure out the exact sequence that leads to crash.
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2019
  17. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,540
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,594 / 10 / -0
    It's worth it I think to simply update you .net to the latest version.
    just so we can cross that possible problem off the list.
  18. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    905Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    would you recommend exactly v4.6 or the latest? (4.7.2?)
  19. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,540
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,594 / 10 / -0
    I'd simply load the latest.
    Take care!
    • Like Like x 1
  20. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    905Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    It looks like my system already has that, so that is not the cause of crashes.