1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Games ?

Discussion in 'Off Topic - All other stuff here' started by f1iceman, Sep 10, 2015.

  1. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Thanks for kind words.
    I have done a few things like that but after 5 other robberys i've had in the past i don't expect to see any again, just takes awhile to settle in, I still have not been to my workshop kinda mental block tbh with the fact it will be and feel empty there, i might get lucky was put all over facebook too to try make them too hot to handle with the pics.
    Police just said it might turn up if kids get hold of them on car parks and people complain about it.
    Be nice to see something back as after all it was my savings i had so i could relesae money when if i needed it and not waste it away! lol
    My motion sim is now what i am doing and will keep me happy i guess and busy, sheds 1 week away from being ready for it to start it all off.
    Typical tho, my welder has not been used for 8mths and now i need it it's been stolen :-( grrrrr
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sucks to hear Bud, But 5 break in's.....isn't that a little excessive ? Same guys ? Camera's on location ? Have you thought about moving shop, As it seems the current location isn't very well protected.
  3. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Yeah not the best security tho.
    It started with my tv/ aerial shop that was done twice and got me into so much trouble after and still no where near out of it 7years down i just keep being done over ive moved 4 times now.
    I can not afford the extra a mth for the insurance, its all made me very ill with the things that came after from it.
    Its not the best building where i am and to set it up they would have still got in what i have learnt, i was in a town centre before and twice they did the shop in full view of cameras and alarms ect...
    Im a stay at home dad atm the misses works so i'm taking time out to get better, but has put me back again being ill all this was my safe nest for the problems from shop if needed but now its about gone with whats left.
    I got stung by everyone after robbers where not as bad as the banks and things, it nearly had my life thats how bad it all was.
    Nothing i can do i just need to keep smiling as best im can and do the silly outragous things i normally do ! lol

    This sim building stuff again should be fun, i really enjoyed the last ones i did.
    I've taken the gearbox out my old ridge racer triple screen system its brilliant real type 6 speed box or 5 speed n rev.
    will get some pics up of it soon.

    I so want to get running now, just everything to do with other software is not fun at all.
    I have just bought a computer thats very good ish spec and comes with all racing games on it so i got a bargain while i build my big comp.
    so got the two now comps nearly and getting more more itchy to get something working :)
    Fitted my t500rs upto race07 but not got the feel right yet with settings but still awesome.

    Thank you all for your help on this site i feel i have found some good friends so to speak already :)
    • Like Like x 1
  4. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    On the games thing, i have a problem with the buying games online and down loading them as you don't get a good deal if theres more than one computer and family members that paly games.
    If i look at say my ps3 shelf i can grab a game play it and my daughter can grab another and play it.
    This can not be done on the pc with the steam type thing going on.
    Now if i could buy the game as a disc i can play and so can my daughter play games at the same time if im playing on the sim.
    Now this is not such a bad idea getting the disks as your own hard copy to do as you please, i feel things like steam own you and what you buy off them.

    Is this right what i am thinking.
  5. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Also if you buy a game on say steam you have some kind of rights to make a copy of that game as a back up so does that mean you can install a dodge copy and use it with nothing that can be illegal as you own a copy of the actual game.

    Umm just thinking about it you would have to hack it to be able to play it i suppose and that part would be illegal.

    I think ya stuffed either way as you can install a game to any comp so you have your back up i guess but you just can not play more than 1 game at any time.
    so really your game shelf you have bought is 1 game and if you play 1 game the shelf is empty to others so have to buy them again.
    Thats terrible way to have games and we are all supporting it because the only way. should have said no hey at the begining.

    it's not a big problem as the kids can stay on ps3 sod em ! lol
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2015
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Depends. I share my steam account with my 11 yr old but yes , only one of us can play online at one time.
  7. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Think i will look see if can buy games direct not tied into a system before i get any, defo gotta look into it as could be a pain in the bum if steam gets hacked and account gets buggerd up.
    Always wbothers me this new tech and ways.
  8. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @f1iceman , maybe cracked games are for you then, some are LAN, some are not. Thats the simplest way to set up 2 machines.
    These days, regarding steam and other online game retailers, thats the way it is. You usually have to register the game somehow.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,104Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,053 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    It's a pain with Steam! You should have two accounts and buy the game twice.
    I miss that old days where LAN was always in the options!
  10. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    I will just have to fall in line i guess and just let the kids use ps3 :-(
    Tbh prob better that i don't put a pc for kids to use.
    I don't want online problems so will have no choice to run it right me thinks and put games on thru steam !! doh

    It just seems like a big restriction to buyers of the games and easyer for them and cheaper for them to make and send out as no packaging, no hardware, just the files.
  11. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    Think i found info about a beta version for family use with steam ??? i can not find it now ! doh
  12. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    found it again and its still the same problem and not addressed the thing everyone wants i guess the use of two different games at once, but the family share gives you a cahnce to use others games but still only one account at a time by sounds of it.
    Y they can not let you use the games on other comps if all on the same network or internet is beyond me, would not be a problem for anyone.

    The way i see it now is everytime we download a game we push it on ourselves and will be the standard way to get games and buying games twice will happen, bet theres no other options to buy the games so you buy direct and get a code for the game abit like a disc i don't no as i hav'nt bought anything yet, but direct would mean you can run each game anywhere as your not part of a distribution system to play and buy games.

    so if i buy say rfactor direct i get a key for it to play that download, i could then download say race07 and get a code for that game and download.
    That way i can play one game on one comp and the kids play other on another comp.

    Just wonderd if this is an option for buying the games as such on all games.
  13. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    For PC , you would need 2 separate accounts but again no. Once its registered on one pc , you usually cannot shift it. Well , I certainly cannot and ive tried. Unless someone else has an idea
  14. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    LAN is. Just not with more recent games. Hey , if you can find a way to get a server PC to act as Racenet and become a host , then you can overcome the online problrm.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  15. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,104Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,053 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Never thought about it I'd study on it
  16. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Ive had a dig around but could not find a solution
  17. F1Nut

    F1Nut New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I must be getting old, I remember before the internet (can't believe I just said that), you'd buy a game and if you want to play against someone on a lan at home your options were to use a cracked version, of a game you already own - no less, or buy another copy!
  18. F1Nut

    F1Nut New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    At least we can listen to the radio on two different radios at once! (Do people still use the radio:grin)
    • Like Like x 1
  19. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    I had to buy 3 copies of gt5 to run triple screen and 3 ps3 , but issue still for me with downloading from steam is your libray of other games that you have and would normally be a cd on a shelf for the kids to play what they liked other than what i was playing.
    But nothing can be done as when the first person downloaded a game and joined steam the standard was set and the future was set and will now stay.
    We got shafted they own us now ! lol

    But on the bright side one less shelf needed :)
    I am trying to find the games elsewhere before i commit to steam or the likes.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. f1iceman

    f1iceman Why So Serious ? ( The Joker )

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    762Coins
    Ratings:
    +389 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, SCN5
    I have watched zillions of youtube videos now on AC and PCARS.
    I defo seems AC is the better for simulation and PCARS for aracde style with abit of simulation to it.
    But i have to say the graphics on PCARS OH MY GOD ( SIMPLY AMAZING ) So real and natural fell in all that and is a big reality check for another side of the game, you can only see PCARS 2 being amazing if they go for simulation effort making it.
    AC tho is still amazing but defo don't have the realism emersion via graphics but has the bit thats matters by sounds of it with the driving simulation side.
    I really want to drive that realism feeling as thats gotta be amazing too.
    looks like im gunna end up with both those games now ! i gotta see them graphics in my home.