1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Games bundles, Special offers, Steam sales, etc..

Discussion in 'Off Topic - All other stuff here' started by prodigy, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    13,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,290 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    It means, that it *is* compatible with SimTools and motion *is* supported.
    For patching select the path:

    C:\Users\User\Documents\My Games\DiRT3
    Patching_Dirt3.png
    What it means is that we cannot make use of the additional dash data that is available with extradata=1.

    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  2. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    20,564Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,076 / 21 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks @value1

    Simtools compatible oui.gif
    but GameDash not compatible non.gif
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,685Coins
    Ratings:
    +402 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, JRK
    Shame they haven't fixed that.. It was working fine before second patch when they decided to fix the sim moving after race end and they broke telemetry output. The irony is my simulator is still moving after race and also in menu, so they didn't even fixed that completely and they broke the thing that is actually more important.

    I probably wouldn't complain about dash not working if their ingame HUD were positioned correctly. On triple screen setup the RPM/Gear Hud is positioned in the corner of right monitor and it's anoying to turn your head evertime to see it, losing sight from road.

    But that solution with screen mirroring came into my mind like @bsft did, that could work good, just need to set it up with my tablet.

    And on top of the problem above, I have the most known problem with Steam version where my wheel is turning to the right with FF enabled :)

    But at least it remembers my controls configuration now, no need to configure for each start of the game.
  4. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,252Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,675 / 23 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    The mods done to dirt3 was ask for by DBOX and now is only runnable with extradata=1 with a DBOX.
    And yes the Steam version has changed the FFB , @prodigy what did you do to change it back?,lol , Im getting use to it thou.
  5. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,685Coins
    Ratings:
    +402 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, JRK
    I actually haven't done anything with FFB, I've turned it off in game because I couldn't play like that and I've added center spring effect on my wheel just to feel something. But I've done just couple of races and put it aside until they fix the FFB..
    • Like Like x 1
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    FFb in dirt3 interesting, feels a bit rfactor ish, and takes some getting used to
  7. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,067 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    they know there's a problem with wheels, mine is affected too: Always tends to the right.
    also I'm struggling setting surge/sway, I can hardly feel something decent
  8. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I dont have that problem, just feels different
  9. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,252Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,675 / 23 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Mines pretty wild , as in I really need seatbelts to hold me in the chair. Anyone else rides in I need to turn the main to 90% or they cant drive in a straight line.

    My MIN/MAX,
    Roll 8,-8
    Pitch 8,-8
    Heave 0.9.-0.9
    Sway 20,20
    Surge 15,-22
    And Axis settings is Roll 25% , Pitch 25% , Surge 20%, Sway 20%, Heave 10%

    But Im running Jrks at 12bit so my my settings might not work for the Ard.
  10. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,067 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I'm quite surprised: for example, my Surge is 2, -4
    I'm on JRKs too now, but on wiper motors. Of course they're weaker, but on other games - like Assetto Corsa - I have no trouble making someone wanting to wear seat belts (I'm 70 kg, motors start struggling with 75-80kg guys)
  11. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,685Coins
    Ratings:
    +402 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, JRK
    Yes, those are pretty big numbers for surge and sway with only 20%, I don't feel almost anything with those, but I haven't tried trailblazers with that, they produce more G's. My surge is similar to yours, 2 and -6, I believe he relies more on pitch and roll.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Apart from comparing wipers to faster motors, it also is the settings at what we run our motors at. Hence different numbers work for different setups
    • Agree Agree x 2
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,636
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,290Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,263 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    DCS spring sale is now on: http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/shop/

    • DCS: Flaming Cliffs 3: $39.99 to $11.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: A-10C Warthog: $39.99 to $11.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: Black Shark 2: $39.99 to $11.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: P-51D Mustang: $29.99 to $8.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: Fw 190 D-9 Dora: $49.99 to $14.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: Bf 109 K-4 Kurfürst: $49.99 to $14.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: Combined Arms: $19.99 to $5.99 (70% off)
    • F-15C for DCS World: $9.99 to $2.99 (70% off)
    • Su-27 for DCS World: $9.99 to $2.99 (70% off)
    • Su-27 The Ultimate Argument Campaign: $9.99 to $2.99 (70% off)
    • A-10A for DCS World: $9.99 to $2.99 (70% off)
    • Su-25 for DCS World: $9.99 to $2.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: MiG-15bis: $49.99 to $29.99 (40% off)
    • DCS: F-86F Sabre: $49.99 to $14.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: UH-1H Huey: $49.99 to $14.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: Mi-8MTV2 Magnificent Eight: 49.99 to $14.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: C-101 Aviojet: $59.99 to $17.99 (70% off)
    • DCS: MiG-21bis: $49.99 to $24.99 (50% off)
    • Hawk T.1A for DCS World: $39.99 to $19.99 (50% off)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,067 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Does anybody use a T.Flight Hotas and has profiles (buttons assignments) to share?
    DCS/War Thunder/Elite Dangerous

    Thanks!
  15. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,067 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    • Like Like x 2
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,636
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,290Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,263 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you are into FSX or Prepar3D you are probably aware at how horrendously expensive good third party scenery is, though it also makes a huge difference to the realism and experience. I use ORBX and during May there is 37% off, so if you are in the market for a scenery upgrade then here is your chance: https://www.fullterrain.com/
  17. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,792Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,377 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Damn you @noorbeast - Just spent a little too much on ORBX stuff just now.. :p

    I got AU SP4, VECTOR and EU OpenLC.

    I already have BASE, YWOL & EU England

    Heard good things about VECTOR, can't wait to see the difference.
    YWOL is superb on P3D, the attention to detail is excellent (Like all ORBX stuff)

    What Cessna Model do you recommend for P3D?
    (I tend to fly with the Baron 58 most of the time. The Old School non G1000)

    I wish P3D had commercial jets built in like FSX did. Miss the 747 and 737 :(
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,636
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,290Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,263 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sorry @Archie I don't have a Cessna, I got the IRIS Jabiru as that is what my father uses for his pilot training: http://www.irissimulations.com.au/ols/?main_page=product_info&products_id=23

    In a lot of cases good freeware FSX aircraft will work fine in Prepar3D, so check out some of these and do a Google search to find more: http://steamcommunity.com/app/314160/discussions/2/620703493312353410/

    My father's all time favorite is the freeware Ants Aircraft Tiger Moth, but he is a traditionalist at heart so has a real soft spot for it: http://www.antsairplanes.com/tigermoth.html
  19. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,792Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,377 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I thought the Cessna 142 was a squeeze with two in it.. That J-160 is positively miniature! Never actually seen one before!
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,636
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,290Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,263 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The Jabiru is a pretty common training aircraft in Australia, as they are made in Queensland.

    My dad's instructor is well over 6 foot and has to wind himself into the Jabiru, while my short stuff father has to use 2 giant cushions behind him to reach the pedals as the seats are a molded part of the cockpit, so can't be adjusted. The Jabiru is a study but oddball creation and is so light that they have wind speed restrictions for flying it.