1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question G27 encoder 5 wires

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Lebois, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...) Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    448Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi ! My G27 board is dead (I accidentaly inverted the +/- from power supply...). Now I am trying to replace the board with MMOS feedback + stm32F4 + moto monster.

    What I need it to get informations from the G27 encoder. I know how works a classic 4 wires encoder. You get power from red and black wires, and digital signal from the two other cables.

    But the G27 has 5 wires ! I guess black and red are power supply (5V between both), but I don't know for the others... I got also around 5V between red and green.

    It's possible that the encoder suffered when I plugged the inverted power supply, but I made tests on an other working G27 and didn't manage to find out how the encoder works...

    Thanks in advance for your help ! 34023187051_cacf67d3f9_b.jpg
  2. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    829Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Left side to right:
    Red : unused
    Green: Vcc
    White: Channel A
    Yellow: GND
    Black: Channel B
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...) Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    448Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks ! So I guess mine is broken because the best I can do is to have one channel working...
  4. razzor13bt

    razzor13bt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    automotive technician, sales manager.
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    i would be interested in this conversion seeing i have 2 x G27 wheels and a DFGT wheel collecting dust.
    all of them have pcb issues.
    one G27 has a voltage regulater failure after a year of operating at 30v :)
    The other G27 and DFGT, the pc doesnt see the usb connection. happened after a Win 10 update early last year.
    could not race for 8 months till i saved up for a G920.
  5. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...) Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    448Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You can check this thread :
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/diy-ffb-steering-wheel-mmosffb-in-progress.7769/page-17

    I am asking questions about stm32, mmos etc...

    But if you want to save money, it's not a good idea. In theory, it's less expensive to fix than to buy a new one.
    But in reality you will burn so many components and make so many mistakes than it won't be interesting...

    In my case, I burned two stm (around 17€ each), and today, I undestood than I ordered mcp23017 instead of mcp23s17, so 10€ spent for nothing.

    On top of that, it will takes a lot of times to fix everything. My G27 is broken since christmas...

    Otherwise, this is a good way to learn a lot of things.
  6. Chris_Beeves

    Chris_Beeves New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Don’t know if this is still interesting, but I recently transplanted the insides of my DFGT with an Arduino Pro Micro and a BTS7960 (overkill, but had one laying around). It was surprisingly simple and a cheap fix.

    I still have to wire the wheel buttons..