1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Full Frame 2 DOF + Traction Loss new build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Halloween2go, May 20, 2020.

  1. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Pfm21, The Rig looks good. How does it respond when you are sitting in the seat? I decided to go with shoulder mounts because I did not think my 50:1's would respond well in a compact sim design.
  2. pfm21

    pfm21 pfm21 build 3dof dinamic

    Joined:
    May 13, 2020
    Messages:
    139
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Good now I have buy motor from Australia and when arrive I change it because wiper motor I don't like
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Snapdi

    Snapdi New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    - 191Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    THANK YOU! you went above and beyond "rough dimensions". This is a huge help to me. I have motors/controllers/psu all set up, but my frame is horrible. Looks like I'm going to be ordering some metal soon!
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Jdog

    Jdog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    This is a great build! you have done an awesome job, i believe i will be modeling my design off of yours, thank you for the inspiration.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pfm21

    pfm21 pfm21 build 3dof dinamic

    Joined:
    May 13, 2020
    Messages:
    139
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Can upload setting of simtool with traction-loss? I try whit Ac but third motor (traction loss) it doesn't move.
    Thanks
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So I added two buttkickers, (sorry only one is on this video) I bought a second sound card to feed in the telemetry data to them. I mounted one to the rear of the frame and one under my feet at the pedals. I turned all the effects off and then turned them on one at a time to tune them. I used (and paid the developer) for SIMhub and it seems to work just great. So here is a video of the rig from last week and me crashing into a wall.
    I have the overall Aseto Corsa effect set at 80 instead of the usual 89. This matches the power of the Formula lights car a bit better. In any case, I plan to get two more transducers so that I can have one on each corner.
    A quick shout review.. The transducers absolutely add to the immersion. If you dont have one, get one. DMAX
  7. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    The arduino supports all three motor controllers. You have to access the traction loss in Sim Tools by using the 'EXTRA 1" button or by the 'Yaw' setting. That's how i did it.. I think they are both the same, but Im definitely not the expert on this.. Maybe search the forum for Traction loss settings in the SimTools manual or PM Noorbeast .. He seems to know all this stuff and he's the moderator of the forum
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,773
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,885Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,632 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Traction loss and sway are not the same, the simulation of traction loss is based on a forward pivot point while yaw simulation presumes a central pivot point.

    Extra1 is the plugin convention for TL.

    There are TL tips in the SimTools section of the FAQs: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss-in-simtools.175/
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Here is a few photos of the transducers mounted to the Rig. I had to weld a 1 inch bar underneath the pedals to mount the front one. When I buy the other two of them I think I will make them out-riggers. We will see. I have a computer upgrade coming soon so after that I should have the other transducers ready to go and will post an update on how they end up working.
    GAMER 2 mounted in the rear of the RIG
    upload_2020-9-2_20-30-55.png

    Both Front and Rear Controllers mounted near the shifter.

    upload_2020-9-2_20-32-10.png

    Front transducer mounted under the 2000 Driving force pedals.. (dont laugh too hard- Im getting some V3's
    upload_2020-9-2_20-34-4.png

    Front view of the Rig.. Still in my garage (kind of like a car hahah) I still need to take it apart and paint the frame
    upload_2020-9-2_20-35-18.png
    • Like Like x 3
  10. Rav3n87

    Rav3n87 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    41
    Balance:
    328Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi,

    Absolutely fantastic effort Mate love it!

    You have inspired me to finally get moving on mine, I've had the same image in my head for a 2dof with Ts for a couple of years now, I'm sure i will have some questions along the way!

    Thanks for posting your Build!
  11. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So I added the second Buttkicker Gamer 2 to the Rig and finally solved my Oculus Rift issue.. (had to purchase another 'refurbished' headset.. So Here is a short video of the rig in Asetto Corsa Road Atlanta with the Rift in 1920x1080.. I will be upgrading my little bitty I-3 computer soon. But It is awesome!!
    Check it out
    • Like Like x 2
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,773
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,885Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,632 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great update :thumbs

    Do you have a cover or something to keep the dust out of the Rift when not in use, as it will be a natural dust collector hanging on its new mount?
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yeah, I just hang it upside down..
    I also have a anti stat bag to put it in Seems to work fine.
    I work in Fiber Optics so dust usually does not 'stick' to inverted surfaces. I was just trying (for the 3rd) time to shoot a video on it and stored it the opposite way from usual..
    Still, I did not have to do any motion Compensation, which was great! Good right out of the box in this case!
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Since my Last update didn't show the Simulator action the way I wanted it to (something went wrong with the footage), I am posting another video here which actually shows the motion of the Rig much better.
    I will be upgrading my PC soon (right now I am running an old I-3 with 8GB ram and it just is barely able to keep up with the demands of Asetto Corsa, Simtools, Simhub for the 2 buttkickers and recording with OBS capture). I am running a Nvidia 1080 founders day card and get 75-89 FPS if I am the only one on track with settings turned down a bit but resolution for Oculus Rift CV-1 at 1920x1080 (in game).
    I have an older MB which is an I7 3960x cpu LGA 2011 socket and 64GB ram which my Son gave me when he upgraded. But I have not run it yet and am waiting for a water cooler to come in the mail. Until then..
    • Winner Winner x 1
  15. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I was a bit worried about the motion tracking with the Rift CV-1.. (more so because after I built my motion platform I plugged in my original CV-1 and it refused to work... so I was kind of stuck.. - Do I buy another type of HDM? Do I see if someone can 'fix' my original? How much$?.. Will it get me SICK? I had no idea.
    Well, I had to buy a refurbished HDM from Oculus (facebook) for a discounted price of $250.. It arrived within 2 days and I plugged it in and crossed my fingers...
    Long and short... It worked.. No motion sickness. Tracks the motion platform perfect as far as I am concerned.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    This next video may shows the motion platform a little bit better while driving the Jaguar D Type.
    Putting the motion platform to the test
    • Like Like x 1
  17. thanh tin

    thanh tin New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I am building a 2dof model but when I see your model I want to make one like you
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks, I appreciate your comment. I put all the dimensions etc in this thread so if you want to build a similar one it will eliminate a bit of guesswork. Seems to work pretty good so I post the videos so builders of this type of sim platform can see it in action
  19. susocalfail39

    susocalfail39 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    GALICIA, ESPAÑA.
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Congratulations very good 2 dof, I prefer the cranks a little shorter so as not to have so much swing, but it is a matter of tastes, by the way why do you hold the seat belts to the base, is it not better to hold them to the back of the seat so that you can adjust them better?
    • Winner Winner x 1
  20. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Balance:
    904Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi and thanks for the comments! The waist straps are mounted to the seat. I connected the shoulder straps to a set of bungy-type cords which are mounted to the base. When I hit the brakes, the shoulder straps roll across those top rollers and the force of the seat moving forward via the motors cause the bungy cords to stretch. You really notice the shoulder straps pulling on you much like if you hit the brakes really hard in a real car.
    • Like Like x 1