1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

FlyPT 6DOF/Stewart/Hexapod Interface for linear and rotating actuators

Discussion in 'FlyPt Mover' started by pmvcda, Jan 2, 2019.

  1. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thank's for testing!
    Did you tried the Yaw with washout?
    And Extra1 in sway?
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah seems to work fine need more testing/tuning but it all feels great.

    If we only had an autotune for tuning centre lol
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,663Coins
    Ratings:
    +887 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda and @SilentChill major thanks guys for the work developing and bête testing this great looking option , can already see the performance capability of the Interface and as silentchill mentioned , he's still not dialled his rig and interface to his satisfaction WOW .
    Guys just watching silentchill put the motion platform/FlyPt hexpod interface through such a punishing pace , begins to hint at what's to come (Mind you that's if the body can take the pounding LOL ) it looked to me like the feedback from track was pretty dam good Guys ....Massive clap hands for showing the possibility .. Well done .... This avenue has to be explored ... Really need to get my AMC option sorted (as its a point to prove for me)and if possible used with this FlyPT hexpod but great to know this is a Proven and working Option for us wannabe 6DOF dreamers .. Happy days indeed Craig
    • Like Like x 1
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Working absolutely brilliant, only problem is that it doesn't seem to recognize the software limits, couple of times it's hit the hard limit switches now.

    Anyways here's my first race test everything that could go wrong did go wrong but it was still fun and still some small tweaks to be made but it does feel great.



    @wannabeaflyer2 this is a awesome interface and for @pmvcda to give it for free is amazing he's one of us, not here to cash out, although I would quite happily pay for it as it takes all the hassle out of sorting you axis's out
    • Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  5. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,663Coins
    Ratings:
    +887 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Cheers My man , You make a great beta tester , I'm learning a lot and liking your progress with this .. i'll be first to admit im only following in the footsteps of you guys .. but i'll eat humble Pie every time if it get me and my Sim backup and Moving LOL 'watching this like the proverbial hawk :)

    Just had a little play with this setup so gonna hook up my spare actuator to see if I can get communication and then see where it goes ( not through the roof I hope LOL ) .. SIMTOOLS connection to FlyPt ok so now onto SMC hookup ...Cheers again for the kickstart guys :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 3
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019
  6. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    It's a pleasure to share this.
    Never thought of making money with this.

    But now that you say that... :think






    Just kidding! :p
    After getting so much, it's fair to give something back.
    • Winner Winner x 5
  7. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Did it go beyond the specified range in the interface?
    If that happened, I might have something wrong with the addition of scale that affects range.
  8. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi pmvcda

    Can´t waint to test your software with my 6DOF with rotating actuators. :thumbs:thumbs:thumbs

    Hopefully you will programm it soon ;)

    Many thanks in advance

    Peer
    • Like Like x 1
  9. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Still lot's of work to be done...
    Sem nome.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  10. Jürgen Schon

    Jürgen Schon Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    - 2Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    Wow that is so brillant hug:

    Cant wait to test the rotating actuators :grin

    Thanks for programming
  11. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,663Coins
    Ratings:
    +887 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @SilentChill need a tip please , Ok trying the FlyTp hexpod interface ( Great Application and very user friendly by the way so mega thanks to @ Pmvdca ) and seem to have gotten to a point where simtools is connected Ok to FlyPt Hexpod, Platform Graphics / sliders on interface all OK , but Motors no Movement (Great start just small stumble at final hurdle ) Hmmmmmm where did I read that Earlier in this post LOL ,

    For this test I selected 2 Ard's to control 6 Motor's option (even though I will only be using 1 actuator )
    all the interface and platform dims settings were based on your setup . ( Just to get initial movement for testing )
    For testing ideally id like to use the Fltpt Hexpod Interface to move the Actuator manually then move onto Simtools/ LFS till I dial the system in

    Anyways I know your using the Ard / SMC3 setup just wondered which version? are you using the new packet serial option ( Sabertooths ) or the earlier software simple Version ?
    I think that might be where I came unstuck as it were ..


    Off for Eye Op now but will put up some screen prints of the interface and settings as soon as the eyesight allows
    Cheers
  12. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Balance:
    219Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @wannabeaflyer2
    nothing to do with Ard or SMC3
    i have the same setting and no problem(thanks to @pmvcda )
    i think you should select the 'Type of output" to custom binary
  13. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    An image would be nice to see if there's something wrong on the selected interface options.
  14. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,663Coins
    Ratings:
    +887 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda thanks for the feedback will post some pictures as soon as I make another Actuator using Pot and Wheelchair gearmotor setup ( just for movment test ( My actuators are so powerful I don't want to do damage to it or Me lol .. Thanks By the way i.m sorry if I asked this before but which version of SMC works best with tis setup , I was trying SMC packet serial the latest version Thanks
  15. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    The interface outputs like the serial options on Simtools (except hex), so anything that receives position by serial should work with the interface.

    Working on some updates, with rotating actuators, but also implementation of speed and current position for standard serial input/output.
    Sem nome.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  16. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,663Coins
    Ratings:
    +887 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Wow @pmvcda thanks for the rapid response , still playing in the mancave but really appreciate the work and effort your putting into this . ill post my test setuo once this actuator is made Cheers and Once again big up thanks for putting this out there for others
  17. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    New version 1.6.1 (beta)

    Serial output should be corrected...

    Please keep previous version!
    Need feedback to make this a definitive version.

    Download in the first post of this topic: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...hexapod-interface-for-linear-actuators.12859/

    Sem nome.jpg

    New version with new features and upgrades:
    -First build with rotating actuators
    -New menu strip to simplify interface, making dimensions in new window (setting your rig dimensions should be a one time task)
    -Added gain to the pose components and actuators
    -Many internal changes for optimisation.

    Known problems:
    -Some interface errors while changing dimensions
    -Images still to be updated in the rotating actuators dimensions. Anyone willing to share a Sketchup of a rotating actuator rig?
    -There was a problem with the lastConfig.FlyPT file. If you are unable to open the program, please remove the file from the program folder.
    -If you put crazy values, expect crazy behaviour. For example rotating actuators might change side or big sizes cause drawing errors in the 3D preview.
    -Some miserable English errors :oops:
    -Need to update first post with instructions for this version. Only when it becomes a definitive version.

    Feedback needed:
    -Is this still working for linear actuators in custom serial? (@SilentChill)
    -Is this working for rotating actuators? I have no rig to test it.
    -Need feedback on scale for rotating actuators
    -Need feedback on resolution for rotating actuators . Does it behave like a stepper motor with low resolution?
    -Test if the application reads the lastConfig.FlyPT file in the application error. You could edit the file and see if the change shows in the interface on startup.

    Be careful!


    Rotating dimensions:

    Rod = Part connecting to the rotating axis.
    Crank = Part connecting rod to top joint
    Range = Degrees up and down that you allow your rod to rotate
    Middle = Middle angle relative to horizontal position. You can say that instead of zero, middle is 30º. Horizontal should be 0º.
    Cranks angles is the top view angle of the crank relative to axis X (right).
    Swap direction to change the side of the crank relative to the axis of rotation.
    Maximum error: The code looks for the angle to get the desired position. It stops the search when he gets an error under this value. To big, is faster but with less precision.
    Low value is precise, but slower.
    If he can't get an angle with an error bellow this value, it's because the pose is out of range.
    • Winner Winner x 4
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,347 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    *$#%& Just found that part of the serial communication has a timer problem...
    I will try to correct it today. Sorry.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,370 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No need to apologise dude :) what testing is all about