1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom FlyPT - 6DOF Brushless DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by pmvcda, Aug 29, 2017.

  1. Michael_miass

    Michael_miass West

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Russia, Miass
    Balance:
    708Coins
    Ratings:
    +156 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Guys, how does everything work for you ?! Don't you think that the voltage divider on the circuit is drawn incorrectly? The green wire must be between the resistors. Black (gnd) and red (plus) around the edges. Then the voltage on green will be half as much as on red.
    Делитель напряжения.png
  2. GruntyPig

    GruntyPig New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Ice Cream QC Engineer
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Balance:
    - 88Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I think there is an updated schematic on page 26 that shows the correct arrangement.
  3. Michael_miass

    Michael_miass West

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Russia, Miass
    Balance:
    708Coins
    Ratings:
    +156 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thank you. It's just that the information on the first page is not corrected, so I was mistaken at first :)
  4. fcppenta

    fcppenta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi guys

    Just received the PCBs from JLCPCB. 16 euros for 5 boards, including shipping. I can now start soldering and make sure that the board's are good.


    Edited: The boards are validated, everything is good. To the guys that want to use this PCB Design, pay attention to the level shifters position. All 3.3v MUST be on the left side, for all level shifters.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 30, 2021
  5. fcppenta

    fcppenta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi @Gabor Pittner

    Can you provide what box did you use to put all the electronics ? It's very good. I was thinking in making one in wood, but that you have is very nice.
  6. fcppenta

    fcppenta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    The 2 boards are soldered.
    Meanwhile, I have to wait for the mechanical pieces, so can anyone explain me the Excel file that FlyPT has created ? What parameters do I have to set to get my platform dimensions (top and bottom bases) ? IMG_20210702_193743.jpg
  7. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    12,535Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,749 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Don't follow my measures, I tried to make it compact, and it's not easy to go in and out.

    Not sure what Excell file you are talking.
    But I just used a base equal to the top in dimensions.
    There's always 2 joints close one to the other, try to keep them close to make the almost perfect hexapod.
    One of the calculations I have done is to make the actuators not less than 30 degrees angle to the floor at maximum yaw, or you start having high loads on those actuators (lever effect).

    To work on those 30 degrees, you might have to increase the size of the actuator.
    I don't mean range, but size!
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. fcppenta

    fcppenta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda , thank you for your answer, I was talking about this spreadsheet that you posted...

    Hexapod inverse kinematics by FlyPT - Google Sheets
  9. Michael_miass

    Michael_miass West

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Russia, Miass
    Balance:
    708Coins
    Ratings:
    +156 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda . During calibration, the actuators move to the maximum position, if they start from the same position, then they come to the maximum position almost simultaneously. But if they move from different positions, then one of the drives comes to the maximum position first and turns off. At the same time, under the influence of the gravity of the installation, it begins to slide down, when others are still going up. Therefore, the installation is skewed. It seems that it does not affect the calibration, but I wanted to ask, can I make it in the code so that the drive that first came to the maximum position would hold it before all the other drives come there? At least within three drives on one board. As I understand it, in order to do this on all six, it is necessary that the two ESP32 boards inform each other about the end of the calibration process.
  10. Ranch

    Ranch New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,
    I currently have a 3DOF which works well (3X BLDC 400W mounted in rotation, with MMT-DPW controllers), and I find the realization of FlyPT so interesting, that it makes me want to switch mine to linear 6DOF by recovering a maximum of my current pieces ...
    I have a simple question: I saw that you need 2 cards controlling 3 motors each, or 3 cards controlling 2 motors each.
    for organizational reasons in my box, I want to opt for 3 cards with 2 motors. my question is: is it also efficient? because I have read all the threads and I have not seen anyone use this configuration ...

    in this case, I suppose that it is necessary to put "numberactuator = 2" and that it is necessary to use the first 2 of each card, and of course, to redefine 3 cards with axis1a, axis2a / axis3a, axis4a etc ... in the software
  11. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    656Coins
    Ratings:
    +179 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I know, it's old, but could i have the stl file? Could be nice!

    [​IMG]
  12. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    12,535Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,749 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Don't know where I have the file... Have an idea.
    I will post it if I find her
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    656Coins
    Ratings:
    +179 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    What I also wanted to ask...what are your long term experiences with it? Do you use Grease a bit?
  14. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    12,535Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,749 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I don't use them...

    I made a measure error and at shortest length, they touch the limit and fall inside the tube.
    But never noticed the screw touching the tube, so never corrected the problem.
    Might be a bit more noisy, but I'm now using headphones and in the garage, so not a problem for me.
    I still have 2 actuators with them, they never got out.

    Grease:
    I use a grease in spray. Don't remember the specs from memory, I can take a look by the end of the week (I'm not at home right now).
    I tried a grease in paste, but it was to much. When rotating, and being an open system, it goes everywhere...
    So if you use grease, get some in spray and don't put to much.

    Edit:
    I think I have the file in a SD card inside the 3D printer, but can only see it by the end of the week.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    302
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    2,215Coins
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    This one is very near !!! and you must change every 50 hours of gaming !!!!
    Give me your PM because : The uploaded file does not have an allowed extension.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2021
  16. Daniel van Mourik

    Daniel van Mourik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    117Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Our build is going very slowly but its getting along.

    The rig was first build by an intern at our company

    TestingTheRig.jpg

    After fitting everything correctly we tried the caps on the actuators

    TestingRigCaps.jpg

    Looking a bit better... so everything works so far

    Now we give it a shot at the powdercoating company we work with.

    PowderCoatedRig.jpg

    So far so good.

    Everything works like homing the unit etc.
    Hardest part is now finding the right filters and settings in mover software.

    When i skip the filters it works but very very shaky and not smooth.
    When i use the EMALP and EMAHP filters like 200, 50 it's not reacting at all at the moment.

    What we changed in the firmware of the ESP (We use the Lolin32 ESP units).
    PWM_RESOLUTION 4 (at 8 it was not reacting and calibrating that smooth)

    Everything else is still stock and we slowly getting the settings... it's a fun and sometimes frustrating project.
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    656Coins
    Ratings:
    +179 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Good Work! What material was used for the sheathing?
  18. Daniel van Mourik

    Daniel van Mourik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    117Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    We used 1mm aluminium for sheeting.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. katy77

    katy77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, SimAxe, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi there,
    I am new here and trying to build my own simulator.
    I am trying to communicate PLC to Flypt mover and need some help with that!
    I would be appreciate if someone can help me with that and absolutely would pay for that!
    Best regards,
  20. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    12,535Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,749 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    How do you send commands to the plc?
    What hardware are you using?