1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom FlyPT - 6DOF Brushless DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by pmvcda, Aug 29, 2017.

  1. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes, can forget them...
    One day I will get the batteries.
  2. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I abandoned these engines and decided to buy the ones found in the shop list, I need a smaller micro switch and I saw this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5-x-Ultra-Mini- Long-Lever-Actuator-microswitch-SPDT-Sub-Miniature Micro-switch / 283103414096? epid = 1442343197 & hash = item41ea474750: g: RfsAAOSwO9RbHxsx
    all right?
  3. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes, I think they work.
    (If I understood the link)
  4. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,513Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Bumping this post to comment on how much I like this :thumbs. When it comes to priority I'd prefer speed for wind with a slider to adjust for different vehicle top speeds first before tackling g-seat stuff but I like that too ;). Other dash stuff isn't very important imo as I don't see others using it except maybe for a tach. I guess speed and rpm would be good when possible.

    And I don't know if others have an opinion or not but I wouldn't mind if dash data and motion data went to the same com or network port either instead of needing to use separate ports but it doesn't matter either.
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2019
  6. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF

    The board is laying in a corner right now, jus getting some dust....
    But she's looking at me and sending some kisses :p I have to get some time for her.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,513Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    It doesn't appear you need any but I'm willing to help in any way possible. I've already implemented this using an arduino and VB. Are you planning on using the STM32 for this also?

    Like I said before I'm mostly into racing so I made 400 my top possible speed then use a slider to adjust it downward to a min of 30. But for flight that may not be high enough. But then again wind is not realistic in a closed cockpit aircraft anyway. However personally I sometimes want the wind speed to max out before the vehicle speed does anyway when top speed is rarely achieved or when I prefer the wind to ramp up faster.
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2019
  8. gry1211

    gry1211 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi @pmvcda , I really admire your work and efforts you showed.
    First of all I have to say, I have no experience on this kind of projects before. And by the help of your previous descriptions, I want to build my own FLIGHT Sim at home.
    So my questions may come to you really basic and stupid. Sorry for my ignorance in advance. :)
    At first, I would like to build a sim with esp32 +nema23- 3A-2.2Nm+ tb6600 drivers which are easy to find + and LRS-350 Meanwell 36V 9.7A power supplies (cheaper ones)
    Is that possible to make it with those tools above by using your codes?

    Many thanks in advance for your attention.
    Looking forward to hearing from you soon. :)
  9. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi, welcome to the forum!

    What you have there, is stepper motors.
    It's completely different from the BLDC (BL from brush less and DC for continuous current) motors I use.

    Right away, I would say that those motors are not good for this kind of application.
    They have a good torque, but at low speeds. Look at the graphic:

    s-l500.jpg
    A stepper motor similar to what you have (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Leadshin...699596?hash=item3d1dd7fe0c:g:610AAOSwBPNXRpq~).

    I know it might be heavy, but take a look at this paper: https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/147045512.pdf
    It's a comparison of different types of motors. You can go straight to the end and see the conclusions.

    I choose the BLDC for the following reasons:
    -Speed
    -Smaller in size for the same specs compared to brushed DC motors
    -Durability, because brushes although replaceable, have a limited lifetime, specially in this type of application where we are constantly changing speed and direction
    -Cheap controller available
    -And, last but not least, easy to control with an Arduino/ESP32, using the internal sensors that most of those motors expose (now I can say this, since I was able to make it work).
    This last item, makes the system cheaper, because you don't need anything more to determine the position of the motor relative to a classic brushed motor.

    I know of people working with scooter BLDC motors, more powerful, but requiring expensive controllers, and better power sources.
    Stepper motors are cheap, the slow speed (they loose steps at higher speeds) makes them more suitable for CNC machines, where we move slowly and need high torques.

    I would recommend you to use the BLDC solution or go with a brushed motor, like most have done in the forum (you get more feedback with this solution and it works).
  10. gry1211

    gry1211 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Many thanks for your answer with speed of light :)) I will write back after I find the correct type of bldc motor.
    By the way what do you think if I change the drivers and power supplies that I mentioned before? Does it work with your codes??
  11. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    No it wont work. Stepper control as nothing to do with BLDC.

    Take a look at my list of parts, there you have the motors and controllers I used.
  12. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello guys, what do you think? I will use them for a driving simulator. just missing the electronics and trying it.
    I accept advice if you see something wrong

    Attached Files:

  13. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Is that a 57BLF03?
  14. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    [QUOTE = "pmvcda, post: 176572, membro: 4322"] È un 57BLF03? [/ QUOTE]
    yes
  15. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    So you can use it with my code and the ESP32.
  16. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I will use it with your code, as soon as I have time I will start the wiring and surely I will ask you for help
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  17. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Anything you need, just ask. ;)
    Are you making a 4DOF?
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  18. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yes, this is the first piston built the second I will try to take more detailed photos of the construction
    • Like Like x 1
  19. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +693 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Did you make a load test?
  20. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    236Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    no again, I have a broken computer, I fixed it 10 days ago I don't know what happened to it as soon as I try it and write to you
    • Like Like x 1