1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

Flight simulator help.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by skarvsladden, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. skarvsladden

    skarvsladden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi!
    I just starting to building a motion simulator. I think 3DOF i the best setup for my sim.
    So I have some questions.
    1: I have Line actours with 300mm stroke.
    2: I also have Hydrualic pistons and PWM valves.
    3: I also have 250W 24V DC motors with pulse encoders.
    4: I can fix NC drives and motor for that.
    So the question is WISH is the best and esiest way to built?

    Question 2
    Wish interface should i use for control 3 axis?
    I have looked at tronics interface ,but can it handle some of my options?

    I will be happy for some answers.

    Best regard Micke
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. tobi

    tobi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Heilbronn
    Balance:
    253Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Micke!

    Welcome :)

    Do you have a sketch of the motion sim you are planning? This would be very helpful,
    then we can see what exactly you would like to build.

    regards,
    Tobi
  4. skarvsladden

    skarvsladden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks,
    I was thinking some of this models.
    theforce_wideangle-2%20smaller.jpg
    Imgp0086-m.jpg
    3-dof-2.jpg
    3-dof.jpg
  5. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Micke,

    My AVR motion controller interface supports 2DOF motion cockpits for now. But I will program a 3DOF and a 6DOF support soon. Just have to finish with some other minor issues first on the motor control side.

    The simulator examples you showed us are a bit expensive to construct. Unless money doesn't stand as obstacle to you... ;-)


    Regards, Thanos
  6. skarvsladden

    skarvsladden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the quick answer.

    I get those NC servos with NC motors next week
    Indramat1.JPG
    Indramat2.JPG

    Any good ides of platform designs?
  7. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hey, aren't these industrial servo controllers!!?? You propably need to put lots of programming effort to make their inputs compatible with x-sim software...! I think that they have serial input, unless they use CAN! :eek:

    Can you give us more details on the model or a relative link?

    Regards,
    Thanos
  8. skarvsladden

    skarvsladden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi!
    Yes they are industial servos.
    The only input for get it running is:
    RF = enable servo reglerfrei
    E1 = Analog input +10V to -10V -/+10V full speed forward/backward
    E2 = analog signal ground

    link : http://www.cnc-shopping.co.uk/indramat- ... p-460.html

    I think they can work with measurment converter IN 0-5 or 0-10 # OUT -10V to +10V

    Or am I on wrong track?
    Because I can get 8 motors and servos next week from my job.
  9. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes, if you can find 0 to 5v converter to -10 to +10v, you will be able to use them with my AVR motion controller! :D

    Its easy to translate the PWM signal it outputs to voltage using an RC filter (resistor-capacitor). But there is a little conversion I have to do to the programming to allow positioning in such way, as now I drive h-bridges with 0 to 5v meaning the speed and I use another two digital lines to indicate the direction...!

    So If you decide to try my AVR motion controller, I'd have to make a proper firmware just for your industrial servo controllers! Tell me when you are ready, to start preparing it... :wink:

    Regards, Thanos
  10. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    331Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Hi Micke,

    Welcome!

    There are a bunch of differnt simulator concepts, and they all have their pro's and con's. I wont and even couldnt tell you which concept is best, because it is an individual decission, that depends on many factors [in particular money, space (linving room, garage or hangar ;)), what should be simulated and your technical skill level].

    I just can tell you, that 250W Motors arent enough for platforms. Even geared.
    They should fit for pivoted concepts, but not for unsupported platforms.
    Tell us how much torque (nm) the motors have.

    In that particular case, that you have access to hydraulics with proportional valves, you should go this way if you asked me.
    2,3 or 6dof depends on how many pistons, valves or motors you can afford or organise.

    Do you have mechanical and/or electronical skills?

    regards
    Christian
  11. skarvsladden

    skarvsladden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for your answer.
    I have access to machine hall and a house.
    I can´t tell you the moment right now ,it comes from a wheelchair. I find it out.
    I have about 500+ PWM valves at my work.
    And cylinders in many diffrent styles.
    My work title is Maintenance engineering.
    Mostly electric but a lot of mechanical also.
    The work is to develop testing riggs for gearboxes and Sinumeric NC.

    Regards Micke
  12. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Micke,

    I forgot to ask you about the motors. If they are plain DC motors then you may not be able to drive then using those industrial NC servo driver! These suppose to handle brushless 3-phase servo motors... Correct me if I'm wrong...

    With the normal DC motors you have its better to look after for a suitable 24v H-bridge motor driver... I'll give you some suggestions later (must have a look in my archive).

    Regards, Thanos
  13. skarvsladden

    skarvsladden New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes you have right those are brushless 3-phase servo motors.
    Otherwise the small DC engine will be indiansmoke :bandit: