1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

First 2 DOF DIY Motion Sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Papapetrus, Mar 19, 2018.

  1. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I was a little disappointed with the overall result, so I decided to cut off the platform and build everything from scratch

    Attached Files:

  2. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I then tested everything with the electronics of my first model with just a Motomonster.
    That worked immediately and much better than with the electronics in the server case with 3 Motomoster.

    I think that one of them is broken.
    I did not notice that until I got the electronics from my model
    have tested.

    Attached Files:

  3. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I now only use 1 800W power supply for the motors and one for the fans for cooling.

    This actually works without problems.
    The Motomonster are indeed hot, but so far I had no thermal shutdown.

    So the cooling should work, too ....

    Attached Files:

  4. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    and of course I put the engines back

    Attached Files:

  5. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I use BS-200 structure-borne sound transducers from Reckhorn for the vibrations

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  6. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I like to play flight and racing simulations and have to say that a Seatmover is very well suited for racing simulations.

    I am less convinced in flight simulations.
    I would prefer a framemover.

    But I think you have to take a little more money to build something sensible.

    Of course, 2 axes are too little for flight simulations.

    But I'm also on the test, maybe I find even a few useful settings.

    But with my race sim I'm happy for the first time ... :)

    and my son too ...

    Attached Files:

  7. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I have now replaced the Moto Monster driver with a Sabertooth 2X60A.

    Since the Moto Monster driver was very hot despite cooling and had once again misfires, I have just ordered to test a Sabertooth 2X60A.

    He is certainly oversized for my engines but he works great. I have also connected a battery (CF12180) in between.

    I have not had a single dropout yet. Now only the engines are warm. :)
    Sabertooth stays totally cool! :)

    Attached Files:

  8. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    :)

    Attached Files:

  9. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Battery 12V 18A (60.-Euro) and disconnector (25.- Euro)

    Attached Files:

  10. Overclockersmania.it

    Overclockersmania.it OverclockersMania Club

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Cagliari, Sardinia
    Balance:
    - 19Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  11. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    707Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  12. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    385Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao,
    I congratulate you for your simulator.
    I noticed that you used hall-effect rotary sensors.
    Seeing on the forum that other users use these sensors I bought them to replace them with the classic pots that I mounted on my sim.
    On delivery, the first thing I did is measure the values with the tester but I do not read any output value! should they be connected to the 5V to detect values?

    6127V1A180L.5 -

    Sensore effetto hall, posizione, 180°, 4.5 V / 5.5 V, Pin, cilindro ruotabile, 200 mV


    It's the first time I have them by the hands and I'm not an electronics expert.
    You can clarify the ideas on this, thanks for the reply.

    Alex
  13. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    707Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Dear Papapetrus,
    when you switched from MonsterMoto to Sabertooth (Hardware): To which smc3 code you switched ? (Software)
  14. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    • Useful Useful x 1
  15. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Hello!
    thanks Alex
    I have connected the pots to the 5V from Ardurino.
    Then it would have to work
  16. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino