1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

First 2 DOF DIY Motion Sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Papapetrus, Mar 19, 2018.

  1. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    and that's how it looks at the moment .... DSC_3806.JPG

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Now I will wait for my motors and have a few thoughts about the mechanics for the simulator, .... :) DSC_3809.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    462Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    hope that the motors arrive soon :)
    Please let us know, if the motors are good ones that fit for your frame.
  4. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I'll do it, but I think that will take a while, .....
    I'm looking forward to it.:)
  5. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I got 4 power supplies from a friend.
    One of them should suffice per engine. DSC_3824.JPG
  6. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
  7. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Of course I will install all 4 because I have enough space. :) DSC_3827.JPG

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  8. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Then solder again, ...

    Attached Files:

  9. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Power supply installed, and now again waiting for parts, ..... DSC_3836.JPG DSC_3855.JPG
  10. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    462Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Great, I am also looking for suitable PSU.
    Am I right, that each of your power supply has two 12V outputs and you put them "together" (2 cable in 1).
    May I ask why ?
  11. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I think that it can not hurt. And if a solder joint is not clean or should come loose, I still have a working connection.
    I'm also not sure if the rails might be split. In 30 and 30 A. Should it be so, then I would have no problem there.

    But that's just a guess of mine. Of course, I can also be completely wrong.

    But as I said, I do not think it can hurt ..... :)

    There are certainly in the forum but people who really know it! :)
    • Like Like x 3
  12. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    462Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi Papapetrus,
    can you let us know, which hall sensors you are using ?
    Thanks. Arazok
  13. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
  14. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    a lot has happened since my last post.

    the engines have arrived in the meantime

    but I actually changed my entire project.

    I built a motionplatform, but I was not satisfied with the stability. In addition, the entry was a bit too high for me.

    I also had problems with the electronic. that might have been due to a broken monster moto.

    I have then rebuilt everything in my vacation on a Seatmover. With that I am very satisfied except for a few small things.
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    follow pictures,...

    does not work for me right now ...
  16. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    DSC_4025.JPG DSC_4024.JPG DSC_4028.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    my currently finished project
  18. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    I have reduced my project a little and also built the electronics directly into the seatmover.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  19. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    my first try as a motionplatform

    Attached Files:

  20. Papapetrus

    Papapetrus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    The entry was a bit too high and too little stable for me, but it was also annoying when the platform sank down.

    Stupidly, one gear holds better than the other though both are translated 50: 1

    Attached Files: