1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Finished my 2DOF motion sim for P2D v2

Discussion in 'Prepar3D' started by Peter van den Esschert, Apr 26, 2016.

  1. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    I just finished my 2DOF motion sim project. I am using the Oculus DK2 and the SIMTOOLS motoin driver.

    AND IT ROCKS!!!!!!!!!

    Its ultra cheap but extremely cool.

    what i used:
    2 old whiper motors 12V
    2 30Amps power units
    2 pololu controllers JRK12V12
    1 old car seat
    1 universal joint
    about 6 meters of steel tubing
    1 good friend with welding abilities ;-)

    Now just trying to find out the best Axis settings for realistic motion.

    Willing to share ideas!

    Peter
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    got any pictures or videos
  4. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Some pics: 20160314_225052.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  5. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    I was just uploading. Thesse a not the latest setup. I changed the position of the motors. I made a cross beam behind the pedal to releaf the tention/force on the motors.

    I wil make some new pic and post them.

    Must say that the motors have a lot of power. More then i expected. I am considering to place the moters back at the rear of the platform so i have more motion movement. Although i found out that i dont need a lot of motion when i am using the oculus dk2. Its the sense of motion that does the trick... not so much the amount of motion..

    Do you have a motion sim yourself?
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I would hope you aren't running those JRK's for any lengthy period of time. Running without heat sinks is asking for trouble. Fan and Heat sink are mandatory for the JRK's

    PS seat mover's style with motor's out back and long arms coming up will help your motor's tremendously.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,576
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,410Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,514 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    hi peter. im in the middle of making mine at the minute. just waiting for a couple of extra bits then i will be onto the software side of things
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Good call Noor, Those motor mounts look woefully under sized and will most likely have some flex.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Hi guys,

    thanks for your input!

    @Nick Moxley : thanks for the heads up. Im running the JrK's without heatsinks. I have been running them the last two weeks for a couple of hours every night. (So far) No problems. But i am running my sim in my garage. Believe it or not, today it snowd here (i live in holland!).... so cooling isnt a problem yet... :)
    I have some old videocards. I will use those heatsinks.

    do you know if the JRK's have some kind of overheating protection? like intel processors... if they overheat they just quit untill they have cooled down enough..

    @grammy : can you show some pic's of your sim? I am very curious

    @noorbeast: thanks for the link! I wil compare my own settings right away. The motor mounts are pretty ridged. But i changed the motor placement. I made long arms just as you advised. I wil post some pics this evening.

    Thans guys!!!!

    hopefully i can help you as well!
  11. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Hi guys,

    as promised some pics from my sim:

    an overview pic
    20160426_205713.jpg
  12. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Running the JRK's without a Heatsink and Fan blowing ideally directly on the heatsink, is NOT advisable. Yes the JRK's have a Thermal Shutdown, but why even take them to that point. Get some Stick on Heatsinks, or as you say Chop up some GPU sink's and get them jrk's running Bone cold as when you start to find tune the profiles and expect some decent motion out of them, you Surely will get them too hot even given the Cold nature of your shop.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    some extra pics:

    Attached Files:

  14. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    and some detail pics: 20160426_205735.jpg 20160426_205812.jpg 20160426_205822.jpg 20160426_205832.jpg

    Attached Files:

  15. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    as you can see, its not the most beautifull sim :grin. but using a oculus rift i dont see the sim anyway :grin.

    its cheap and functional. i can fly with the yoke (boeing and cessna's) and also with my old f16 hotas for jets and helicopters.
  16. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    @noorbeast,

    i just triend Archies motion settings..... somehow i doesnt work for me. using the extra1 and extra2 for roll and pitch..... i'm so motion sick right now! :D. Seriousely, i am done for this evening. I am just as green as the emoticon. it could be because i just flown helicopters... some how flying helicopters tends to have more effect on motion sickness
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,576
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,410Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,514 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you are feeling ill there are some possibilities that come to mind.

    First, if you are new to VR stop playing as soon as you feel the slightest bit off, otherwise you risk turning yourself into Pavlov's salivating dog.

    Make sure you do not have an axis inverted, if motion does not match what you see then that can make you feel ill.

    Ensure fast accurate motion. With VR it is better to have faster rather than large axis movements, the last thing you want in VR is latency between what you see and what motion you sense.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  18. MAYA One

    MAYA One Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    385Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Thank you to share, it is worth learning from.
  19. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    @ MAYA One: thanks. I got a lot of information and ideas from this forum. Without you guys i could have never completed my own rig. So now its time for me to give back. hug:

    @ Noorbeast: youre absolutely right. If the motion is off from what you see then its just a vomit machine. I found that the extra1 and extra2 simulated the acceleratio for botch axis. Turning in was ok but after turning in the sim right away turned level witch does not feel right.

    today: i will try combine my own settings with Archies's settings.
  20. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    By the way: funny thing: yesterday i flew an old Huey helicopter, then i turned into a fast corner the complete sim started shaking. I guess it whas the fibration from the rotor. Realy cool but also scary.... it felt like destroying my rig! :eek:

    and landing on steel skids is not as soft as landing on air filled tires with shockabsorbers. what a bumb!
  21. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    @Peter van den Esschert . here is a link to my build so far. i have been working on the wiring the last couple of evenings so will hopefully be finished tonight of tomorrow if last part arrives. I have not built the top frame or seat yet as i will just clamp my old non motion rig to it for testing. pictures are on bottom of page 4. its just a motion platform at the minute and not finished yet. the traction loss actuator still needs sorting.
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community...ion-sim-traction-loss.8267/page-4#post-104759