1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

F1 Cockpit Kit

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by mrt, Dec 3, 2015.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,599
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,758Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,580 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sway looks to be inverted, as the rig leans into rather than away from a corner.
  2. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    good spot guys haven't really paid to much attention the the actual movement as i was testing the concept. Will do some fine tuning on it once i can actually sit in it :) then the fun begins!
    • Like Like x 2
  3. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    DSC_1206.JPG DSC_1215.JPG
    So two more pictures to try and keep you all interested
    on the left the mould for the head cockpit surround and on the right the seat mould. There is alittle bit more refinement required on them both but hopefully ishould be able to get a mould from both soon. As I am waiting on the seat to progress with the whole project.
    • Like Like x 3
  4. jetorr

    jetorr Powered by caffeine

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    College student
    Location:
    Puerto Rico, USA
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Looks great!
  5. Doctor Kruntz

    Doctor Kruntz Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    364Coins
    Ratings:
    +80 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Great job driver... :thumbs
  6. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    so finished making the bracket for the quick release for the srw-s1 wheel and have mated them together. Just need to cut down the bolts and use some nylon nuts.
    DSC_1217.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
  7. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,662 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Im tempted to place an order for seat base, would fit nicely into current design.
    This will sit in cradle of my 6dof design for racing and when I want to go flying unbolt/clip the race rig and clip in the flight rig.
    True multi purpose 6dof. lol

    Attached Files:

  8. Zwodog

    Zwodog New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    65Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Hi. Great work!
    Do you customize that seat, too?
    Sorry if I have missed it: did you already consider a price for the cover?
    @eaorobbie I guess shipping to Austrialia will be an issue.
  9. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hi did you mean the seat or the motion base?
    @Zwodog Im working on making the seat from the mould this weekend so should have further developments soon. At the minute it would be just fibreglass but i had thought to add cushioning/pads on it. Shipping isnt an issue to me but the cost could potentially up the cost on a unit.
  10. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    @SeatTime me
    So heres the seat . Alttle more worked required but now i can look at how it will be secured in the monocoque. ham1.jpg seat1.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
  11. Zwodog

    Zwodog New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    65Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Hi. Great job. Real f1 wheels??? The comparison to the seat hamilton is sitting is a great idea. Depending on playtime you may like a little more lumbar support, also it seams you have some kyphosis in thorax. Looks confortable anyway. Sorry for talking smart, your diy skills are obviously way above mine, pls take no offence! As i broke my spine twice with snowboarding backpain is a good friend of mine.
  12. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hi yes they are real f1 wheels :)
    The photo might be aa bit misleading as i am quiet a bit taller than Lewis Hamilton and much heavier. If it wasnt for my big backside which is pretty much on the floor i presume it wouldnt look like my back is curved some much. Although it is pretty comfortable to sit in. self adhesive padding could be added to aid comfort. Plus with changes to regulations of the monocoque my legs might not be as high as they are in the photo.
    I also think seat belts would aid in comfort so i will bear that in mind.
  13. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Another view of the seat

    seat.JPG
    • Like Like x 4
  14. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Hi @mrt Would you happen to have a wiring diagram and a couple of pictures of how you connected the hyperaxis 100 and the scn6 to the boards. Im fine with the power but its just this part i'm struggling with. I have order 5x db9 cables to cut one end off but need to connect this end to the actuators and dont want to connect the wrong wires

    thanks

    Jay
  15. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hi Hope these help. I dint have the hyper axis on me so you would have to look at the shape of the plastic connector. Although i will tru and get a picture of the hyper axis later. DSC_1234.JPG DSC_1235.JPG
    on the plastic clip the black wire is on the bottom left and green on the bottom right and white on top right.

    on the rs232 connector the green is on the first pin on the top ( looking at my photo) followed by white and on the bottom of the top row is the black
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2016
  16. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Thanks @mrt . That is absolutely spot on. That should be all i need. I see you made your Wires to go into the 485 board. I have bought the other halfs of the connectors your are holding which should be here today. so i will get them put together tonight and if my db9 fittings arrive tomorrow i should be good to go.. I got some rs232-rs485 convertors to get the boards below for easy connection but i may cut down some rb9 cables at a later date for neatness which i also ordered.

    Just knowing the pins i would of got away with just cutting down some cables, but thought i would rather have stuff not needed, that need stuff that i dont have

    Cheers

    jay

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  17. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    @crammy Where did you get your connectors from . As i will have to make some extentions at some point.
  18. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    @mrt ill find the link for you when im back at work tuesday as i ordered them from work. To be honest though i wouldn't waste your money on them. I only got them as i looked at other topics. I didnt even use the converters as i just wanted the boards. if I knew then what i Know now i would of just soldered a cable to the RS COM port you had done and sent me a picture off.
  19. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    @mrt i noticed you said connectors not convertors as soon as i said post. If you are referring to the plastic connectors for the actuator data, i got them from Farnell uk. I put an order in last week and ordered more than i needed so @Roadster2 had some. i didnt know you needed any. if you can hang on until Tuesday i have an invoice at work with the part numbers
  20. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    705Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Yeah that would be great thanks