1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Existing Computer Setup

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by 1Crazydriver, Jun 6, 2020.

  1. 1Crazydriver

    1Crazydriver New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi All,

    I'm new to simulators and lack basic computer know how? In other words, I have a lot to learn.

    My question is whether my computer can handle what I want to do. Essentially I would like to use a Valve Index headset, while using a DOF Reality H6 for auto racing. I guess my main concern is whether my computer will be fast enough and have enough memory to operate as required for the majority of software?

    My computer specs are: OS: Windows 10, Ram: 32.0 GB, CPU: 4 Cores, GPU: Radeon RX580 Series, USB: USB 3.0 controllers.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Motion simulation does not take a lot of computer resources, but VR does, particularly for things like the 120hz the Index is capable of.

    You have not detailed your CPU specs, which are pretty important for VR.

    I would personally classify your GPU at the entry level for VR (games like Beat Saber should run fine), but with not a lot of headroom for demanding simulation titles in VR, as often those simulation titles are not very well optimised for VR.
  4. 1Crazydriver

    1Crazydriver New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thank you for your reply Noorbeast.
    I think the CPU specs that I failed to mention are: AMD Ryzen 5 1400 Quad-Core Processor 3.20 GHz.
    and again the GPU is: Radeon RX580 Series. Hopefully, this new information will shed more light on my situation. Regards!
  5. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    389Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 1 / -0
  6. 1Crazydriver

    1Crazydriver New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Dschadu thanks for your help! I did run the test and my computer passed in order to use the Valve Index, but I guess I'm concerned with overall performance once I add on other components such as a simulator. At the moment, I'm thinking of buying another computer just for gaming but finding it hard to justify the $$. Thanks again!