1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
SilentChill

EliteDangerous Horizons Plugin (OLD Archive Thread) Version 3.3.0.2

EliteDangerous Horizons Plugin (VR Version)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mike523

    mike523 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Balance:
    448Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Can anyone share their axis settings they are using for this plugin? I'm using a Dofreality 3DOF rig. Right now the latest Horizons plugin is super jerky for me and the motions seem off ie. when I pitch forward or back I also get a bit of roll, etc.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,785
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. mike523

    mike523 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Balance:
    448Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,785
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nor problem. When it comes to settings variations in rig design makes a big difference, so it makes sense to ask other dof reality owners, plus it is a commercial rig so you should always seek support on the threads that have been created to specifically cater to commercial rigs.
  5. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,545Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    I answer to myself, tested and working without any DLC.
    Thank @SilentChill :cheers
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. runar totland

    runar totland New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    150Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I think we have to keep asking.. doesnt seem like our requests get noticed?

    I did the same to customer-service, and got this reply:

    ----------------------------------

    Hi Runar,

    Thanks for contacting us. Unfortunately we here in Customer Support have no say in decisions like this so I'd recommend that you post on our Suggestions forum here: https://forums.frontier.co.uk/forumdisplay.php/76-Suggestions-amp-FeedbackI've just searched our database for all historical contacts regarding 6dof and we've only ever had one, and it was for a separate issue. I'd definitely recommend posting on the Suggestions forum in order to make our developers aware of the demand from players like yourself. :)

    Please let me know if I can help any further.

    Regards,

    CMDR Tronador
    Elite: Dangerous Customer Support Wing


    Your Frontier Developments Team
  7. runar totland

    runar totland New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    150Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
  8. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,916
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    36,491Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,052 / 11 / -0
    I to have found it hard to get people to help with telemetry requests.
    I'm starting to think we may get better responses with some hard facts.

    For instance,
    We had 2.7 million individual views last year on xsimulator.
    That's about 7,397 people per day.
    So i think asking them, if hundreds of people a day seeing others having a blast playing your game with a simulator would help sales?

    I believe there is only one answerer to this question when stated this way.
    It simply looks like a missed opportunity if they don't do it. lol
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    288Coins
    Ratings:
    +123 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Unfortunately, they doesn't care about our problems.....
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,916
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    36,491Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,052 / 11 / -0
    All game companies care about money, its sorta the point of what they are trying to do.

    The real problem is most people that want telemetry supported for a given game only post their request on Xsimulator.
    So when the game developer only sees ~3 requests from users on their forums, it does not look worth it.
    Which is why I posted the new strategy above, as I believe it may get further.

    So if someone is chatting with the Elite Dangerous guy's, it may be worth copy and pasting the (2.7 million) info above to them.
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Agree Agree x 3
  11. Spine Raptor

    Spine Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Motion platform
    Just to chime in, I have been in talks with their support form a few times over the last year and I always bring up telemetry data to them ever since I invested time into a motion platform.
    The two support folks I've chatted with were all supportive of Frontier giving Elite telemetry support, but both have said that it's out of their hands and it was not their place to suggest ideas for the game to the devs (which mirrors the replies I've seen here).

    As others have already pointed out, the support folks suggested to post in their "suggestions" forms as they said the devs always check top threads there for ideas.
    SilentChill has made a post on my thread as well as a few other motion platform hobbyist on those forums.
    I suppose it couldn't hurt to get more people from this SimTools Plugin page to chime in on that thread?
    Mine isn't using keywords some folks would use, but "motion platform" and "telemetry data" should have made that thread come up to other support people.
    I've seen more than just one post about it.

    My post almost a year old post now...

    https://forums.frontier.co.uk/showthread.php/350348-Motion-Platform-Support-with-Telemetry-Data/

    If anyone else has a better-worded or more detailed post other than mine that they think might get traction, I'd gladly help out with a reply on said post too, in addition to the one's I've already seen here.
    I don't think anything but sheer numbers would get them to make this happen.

    Obviously I think most of us are assuming it'll never happen, including myself...but you never know.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,785
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  13. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    580Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Added mine too. Let's hope it reaches out.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,017
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    10,070Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    +1
    • Like Like x 1
  15. axenic

    axenic Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    IT engineer
    Location:
    Brest
    Balance:
    53Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have added my support.

    By the way, I am currently under the construction of my 3DOF simulator, and I would gladly help reconstruct / update the Elite dangerous plugin along the updates, as I mainly build my sim for Elite.
    • Like Like x 4
  16. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    486Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    It seems that current version of Elite is pretty stable and having good chances to stay a month or two. :roll
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,691
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,972 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Great :thumbs, I'm sure @SilentChill would like the pressure taken off him.
    • Agree Agree x 3
  18. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,916
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    36,491Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,052 / 11 / -0
    I think all @SilentChill needs is some help finding the new pointers to the telemetry data we need.
    If we had a few people helping with that, the updates would not be as bad.
    Like one person for pitch, one for roll, one for heave etc..
    yobuddy
    • Agree Agree x 2
  19. axenic

    axenic Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    IT engineer
    Location:
    Brest
    Balance:
    53Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @yobuddy Yep, that was my initial thought.
    My 3DoF is nearly finished, I should start working on getting the pointers soon. This is exciting !
  20. Ijanen

    Ijanen Living Room Mechanic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    precision mechanic, media designer
    Location:
    Germany, NRW, Halver
    Balance:
    400Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I would like to help, but I have absolutely no idea how to find out.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.