1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom DX - Compact Simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by noorbeast, Sep 29, 2014.

  1. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    For anyone else curious on Drill Presses, I picked up this bad boy a few years ago for 159$ and have LOVED it since day 1, the ON The Fly adjust ability of the speed has to be the Biggest bonus factor. Sure its No Industrial sized unit that can drill Anything Crazy but it more than does the job..... Ive also never seen a another press with the speed adjustment like this one has.

    Ryobi DP121L Drill Press

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So a little more progress.

    I have gone for simple in mounting the 40kg servos for the quasi surge plate so I can at least test them.

    20141022_121353.jpg

    You can also see the multiple pivot mount points that allow for a seat shaker, flight and race mode.

    20141022_121225.jpg

    Because the pivot post can be set in different modes I needed a simple and flexible way to adjust it on the base, which is almost finished. The center post has been modified so it clamps the rails with four bolts and plates but can be released. A cordless drill will be used to turn the 1/2" screw that will alter the position of the post, I just need to finish mounting and drilling the front boxing it will go through and rotate in. I have teflon on order to help it side. You can also see the new solid aluminium lever arms.

    20141022_165815.jpg

    20141022_165851.jpg
    • Like Like x 6
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    4,640Coins
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2 / -0
    woow, nice your servo use!!! where did you got the rails that will move your sim back and forward ?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. fusednova

    fusednova Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    649Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Wow - awesome work on this! Love the shifter/hotas mounts. Simple but elegant.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The posts are recycled from the original DX Racer chair. I still have to build the Hotas top plates but am waiting on some buttons to arrive before I design them.

    I am a minimalist at heart so I like simple as much as possible. Every time I put the DX Racer together and stand back I get a buzz from its seeming simplicity. Every time I turn it over, pull it apart and yet again modify something because of the tight tolerances I curse its complexity. But it is only the quasi surge plate experiment that makes it complex. It would be dead simple as a 2DOF seat shaker or a combined flight/race full frame with lighter controls and a single balance point.
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Time for the shaft and pot mounting. I followed @SeatTime's handy tip to drill the shaft using a lock nut with a smaller nut inside to center it.

    20141022_121146.jpg

    I drilled the shaft 8mm but went slightly deeper at 7.5mm and let the threaded rod cut its own end locating thread.

    20141023_141931.jpg

    Next the shaft was drilled and 5mm tap. The M5 grub screw was cut just long enough to create an interference fit with the shaft nut, which keeps both locked in place.

    20141023_143243.jpg

    20141023_144314.jpg

    The shaft was drilled and tapped to secure the shaft to the motor, again with M5 grub screws.

    20141023_155450.jpg

    Finally the pots were mounted to the motors with 2x20mm aluminium and flexible couplers. A 6mm angle bracket was also made to secure the adjustable post threaded shaft. Thanks go to @bsft for advice on angles for the movement arms.

    20141024_153224.jpg

    20141024_153329 (600 x 450).jpg

    For now all that remains of the main construction phase is to rebolt the base plate back on when I have someone to give me a hand and then move the DX Racer inside the house for the electrical work and testing.
    • Like Like x 6
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Curious why you didn't pick up a pair or 12mm or 1/2" to 6.35 Couplers ?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I used something I already had @Nick Moxley, which was 6.25 to M8. The shaft did changed from the 12mm I initially thought I would use to 1/2" as the latter was a better fit in the motors.
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Ya i had to use 1/2" on my motor's and 12mm on buddy's different motor's. I was More curious than anything but glad the couplers are on there to avoid any potential issues down the road.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Same here @Nick Moxley. I got 3 of the same motors and it turns out 1/2" fits perfect in two and 12mm in the other, so am guessing it is a manufacturer component batch issue.

    I was initially going to directly mount the pots to the shaft because it was more compact, but changed my mind at the last minute and grabbed and added the couplers, just for a bit of extra tolerance security.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The HP power supplies have been modded, with @Slider handy how to making it nice and simple.

    Setting up the JRKs for the the motors should be pretty simple, with @eaorobbie step by step guide.

    I do have a question though, can I use the same model JRK to control RC servos and if so how do you wire that up and would there be and key differences in the Pololu config utility? There is lots of Arduino forum info for RC servos but I can't find anything re using the JRK. I am happy to go down the Arduino path if that is easier, but I happen to have an extra JRK already. Any advice is much appreciated!
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014
  13. Slider

    Slider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Occupation:
    Irrigation
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Balance:
    1,010Coins
    Ratings:
    +107 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Exceptionally so thanks @Slider, it really should be in the FAQ section.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Dunno about JRK controlling servos, ask pololu.
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks @bsft, JRK list it RC being supported for this model but I will need to contact Pololu as it is not clear how it is set up, as everything I can find re RC servo control relates to the Maestro line. I don't want to waste a lot of time, as there is much more info on the arduino working with SimTools and I can always grab some of them next week.
  17. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    4,640Coins
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2 / -0
    @eaorobbie made an arduino code to move servos, it may be wired use jrk and arduino toguether you should ask his opinion, at least it would be fast, since you wont have to research or develop anything.

    best regards

    fer
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am also thinking it is may be easier to go the arduino route with @eaorobbie code, so will grab one next time I go to town, hopefully next Monday.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Got a problem with setting the JRKs when following @eaorobbie step by step guide.

    As soon as I add power and start 'Detect Motor Direction' it gives a PID Period Exceeded warning, but you can't check the error tab to see what it is and as soon as you close the Detect Motor Direction Dialog window the PID error disappears. Any advice gratefully appreciated.
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,544
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,497 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Never mind, it was a loose wire and a loose pin. Don't you just hate that sort of thing!
    • Like Like x 1