1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

DOR Reality H2 motor upgrade?

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Mechromancer, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. Mechromancer

    Mechromancer Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    182Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Has anyone replaced the motors on the H2 with something a little beefier? Or a little smoother?

    The unit is great for the price point, but it has some slack in the motors which I have not been able to resolve after about 9 months of fiddling with it here and there.

    I'm wondering if maybe some better motors would alleviate the problem.

    Thanx
  2. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,576Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    With a little luck you only need to replace the gearbox.
    It could be possible to fit a planetary gearbox up to the motor.
    They give there backlash in specs. and are more efficient(you get more force with the same motor)
    The motormount must be replaced to fit. because motor and gearbox become in line
    regards Ad
  3. Mechromancer

    Mechromancer Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    182Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thank you for the quick reply.

    I'm new to the sim scene :p

    Any suggestions on a "simple" install, ready-to-go box? I Googled "planetary gearbox" and got some hits: $500+ :( That may be a normal price, I don't know, but that would be out of my budget. Also, I have no idea if they're compatible with the H2 motors.

    Thanx again.
  4. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,576Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    It will probebly be a planetary gearbox nema23 or 24 look on aliexpress
    A direct fit would only be there P serie motor.i think
    regards Ad
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Mechromancer

    Mechromancer Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    182Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    OK.

    Thank you for your time. :)