1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Dofreality says simtools is worse than its current software...

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Avee, Jul 6, 2020.

Tags:
?

What Software for my requirements?

  1. Simtools

  2. FlyPT Mover

  3. Simracing Studio

  4. Something else (please explain)

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    845Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    AFAIK, Dofreality used to supply its motion platforms with Simtools. Right now it is supplying Simracing Studio with its platform.

    As a flightsimmer, I have some problems with the new software, Axis are not assigned the way I expect them to be, and there seems no way I can change that. I have reached out to Dofreality and SRS to see what can be done, and it seems that I will have to wait for possible improvements in upcoming versions.

    So I asked Dofreality if there was still a possibility to get Simtools through them, and they replied that Simtools would be complicated to set up, and that it wouldn't help and make matters worse.

    Now the first part I believe, with power comes responsibility, and simtools provides many ways to have a bad experience. But in my opinion also many opportunities to set up my rig just like I want it.

    But what about that second part of the answer, making matters worse? Are there unresolved issues when using Simtools with a dofreality 2dof platform? I have read that the 6dof is not really supported, but before that people seemed to be using Simtools without great issues with the 2dof and 3 dof platforms?

    What would you recommend, wait for updated software, or purchase simtools and make my own profile?

    Note that my requirement is flight simming, for occasional racing I would not bother with simtools and rather use the pre-setup software.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. hideki

    hideki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +49 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Sim Racing Garage has a new video and talks a litle about the software
    I had simxperience and LINCE and Simtools is the most complete software, just be patience because it is not as user friendly at the begining IMHO
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,626
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    133,224Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,261 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That is just pure nonsense, one of the problems with SimTools and DOFreality rigs has been that the SimTools profiles provided by DOFreality had way too high Axis Allocation % totals. A DOFreality rig properly tuned would perform as well with SimTools as any other 3DOF + traction loss, or even 6DOF.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Avee

    Avee Virtual Pilot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    845Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I have now had some time to experiment and set up X-Plane just the way I would like to have it in Simtools. I set it up from scratch, didn‘t use a predefined axis setup or tuning. I used the advanced axis setup so that I could control washout and gain.

    Sim Racing Garage mentions how well tuned the SRS software is, my impression is that it depends on the game. With X-Plane it is not there yet. I have also sought contact with the developers, so I hope I can give them some help to get this right for flight simulators as well.

    i can see why they could say from a support standpoint that Simtools causes problems. Simtools is just the basic canvas that provides possibilities to drive a motion platform. The quality of the movement then depends on a community provided plugin, an axis configuration and tuning settings. These are a lot of variables. And there is no single point of contact if something doesn‘t work right. In all likelyhood, simtools will do as it is supposed to, and a bad outcome will have to be fixed by changing its settings or doing something in a plugin.

    So if you know what you are doing, Simtools provides a lot of flexibility, but it is easy to make it do things very wrong. It is no problem for someone who understands the capabilities and limitations of his homebuilt platform, but it might not be ideal for someone who just wants software to work seamlessly.

    I will stay with simtools for a bit, until SRS works right for flight sims. I guess once everything is configured right, there is not much need for tinkering.

    I also am planning to experiment a bit with Flypt Mover, as I want to see whether certain filters can help with some harshness in the dof mechanics. Especially, I want to try to drive the motors slower in poses where some free play in the gear boxes may be expected. I would also like to try to refine the washout movement more than currently possible in simtools.
  6. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    13,015Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,290 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    I think you've given the answer yourself: SimTools is a very open software for a wide range of different motion platforms. It can control a wide variety of controllers (Jrk, SCN, Arduinos, COM, etc. etc.), different platforms (2-6 DOF, traction loss, etc.), more than 100 games, transducers & rumble motors, dashboards, etc. etc. the settings for individually created motion platforms can be made to the point and you're hardly limited by restrictions of the software.
    I would expect that such a generic software like SimTools has more possibilities for different settings than a software dedicated for a single system. And I just think, this flexibility is great :)
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Scblacksunshine

    Scblacksunshine Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF
    Do you guys know if Simracing studio support Serial interface similar to Simtools? I downloaded the software and want to give it a try but looks like hardware support is only available to PT-actuators, DOF and Prosimu?
  8. olsayd

    olsayd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    32Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    hello guys, I finished my 2dof and I don't know why software go, I was going to buy the SRS but from the support they said that it doesn't work with DIY projects, but I mean, i test and it worked for me, but need license for test in game. , although that leaves me in doubt whether to buy Whether or not the license, I really like the SRS interface and above all the compatibility with VR compensation and joystick mode.
    the question is, does anyone have SRS soft. working in your DIY project with arduino?
  9. ivan jack

    ivan jack Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    Chef
    Location:
    Romania
    Balance:
    275Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I have both simtools and SRS running flawless with my rig. Use the H2 setup if you have motors in front and M2 if you have them in the back.
    • Like Like x 1