1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question DOF H2: Motor not returning to start position(?)

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Mechromancer, Sep 12, 2018.

  1. Mechromancer

    Mechromancer New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hey guys, I'm new and I'm not sure if this is the place for this question. My apologies in advance.

    My rig is the DOF H2. It's only a couple of moths old and I only use it a couple of hours a day, about 3 time per week. I'm using the Joystick plugin and also using the Elite Dangerous plugin. That's all I use. I only play ED.

    Briefly, this is what happens:

    When I roll left my rig returns to the default position correctly. When I roll right, however, it only returns, I would say, about 85% to default (this happens whether I'm using the "Return" filter or just manually moving the joystick back to center). If I nudge my joystick left a bit, it will return the rest of the way. I checked the settings for "Roll" (and all the other axis) and they are identical for both motors.

    DOF sent a utility to diagnose the motors. It puts the motors through some motions, individually, and they both seem to be working correctly, so I can't tell if it's the left motor that's not "pulling" or the right that's not "pushing" back to default (if that's how it works). :(

    The weird part is that when I shut down, it comes back properly to default...??? It seems to only happens when using the plugins.

    In *general* does it sound like a software issue, or does it sound like one of my motors is going.

    I know this is kind of a vague question, please let me know if I can provide more details.

    Thanx in advance for any help.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. Mechromancer

    Mechromancer New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thank you for your suggestions.

    I did try to balance the unit before actually using it. I installed the rudder pedals and HOTAS and then followed the instructions included with the unit (sat in chair, disconnected motor arms and balanced as best I could) front to back and side to side.

    Honestly, the instructions were kinda vague as to how to balance the unit. It just said to sit in the chair and make sure the unit doesn't tilt forward/backward or sideways. The sideways part was relatively easy to grasp. The forward or back wasn't quite as intuitive. I just kinda guessed that the detached arms should be in the parked position and then I tried to align them up to where the attach to the unit as I balanced it. Not sure that was the correct way to "balance" it.

    Is there any "calibration" that needs to be done. Sorry for the ignorant questions. Trying to learn. :)
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Normally the best and safest way to balance a rig is with the assistance of a friend, so you can correctly position your weight in your most comfortable position.
  5. Mechromancer

    Mechromancer New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Yes, thank you.

    I had a buddy help me. No way I was going to try to balance on a U-joint by myself. LOL!

    I tried rolling the chair by itself (I wasn't sitting in it) and it displays the same behavior. Doesn't come all the way back after rolling right, but parks correctly when turned off...(?)

    I wonder if my joystick is not reporting as being back to center? Although, it does go back to the center value in the tuning center after rolling either left or right.

    Can the values/graph in SMC3 shed any light on the issue? Or is there any way to test the motors to see if they're both getting the same amount of power or something? I don't know; just thinking out loud. :p
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can add a dead zone in Axis Assignments and see if that helps.

    I am presuming everything works fine in Output Testing.

    It would help if you post all of your settings, including any filters you have allocated.
  7. Mechromancer

    Mechromancer New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanx for the help noorbeast.

    I dug around and found a motor calibration video that helped. My 2nd motor was slightly off on the SMC3 graph, but apparently, that made a significant impact physically.

    I calibrated it and it now returns to parked correctly. YAY!!

    There was also the default SMC3 setting included in the video and I noticed they were a little different than mine, so I changed them and it really smoothed out the motion even further.

    I don't know if I'm allowed to post a link, but any other newbs like me having a bit of a rough ride, the video is on Youtube, titled:

    Calibrate DOFREALITY motor
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK