1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

does any one know to make a plane on fsx

Discussion in 'Flight Simulator X' started by marlon, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. marlon

    marlon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Balance:
    1,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    i tryed editing the cfg file and using to open it opens the plane file the program is called DXTBmp i been trying it but there got to be a easy way to do it then that
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you mean a plane skin then there are two parts, first editing the DDS texture files and second editing the plane cfg file to add the menu entry for it.

    Easiest to use an example. Grab the Tiger Moth here: http://www.antsairplanes.com/downloads/AntsTigerMothV110.zip

    It is an installer but for now just install it to something handy like My Documents, not the program directory.

    Go to the install folder -> SimObjects\Airplanes\Ants Tiger Moth. Copy and past the Texture folder and rename the copied folder to texture.Xsimulator

    For fun I modified the Xsimulator.net logo so it was transparent, then used Paint.net to open the wing DDS files, added a layer, manipulated the logo so it would render the right way, which can be a bit confusing, then saved it as a DDS, saying yes to flatten the image. The results are attached in the zip file, so if you want you can use them as a template to figure out which way the images are oriented.

    You could use Gimp, there is a DDS plugin for it, but you have to get the DDS settings right. Paint.net is correct for DDS skins by default.

    Once you have the skin customised you then need to modify the aircraft.cfg file which is in the Ants Tiger Moth directory. Use Notepad open the cfg file and you will see entries 1-7 describing the existing skins. You need to add another one, the two main things you want to change is the Title, so it is easy to find, and most importantly texture=Xsimulator, which identifies the new folder we made earlier 'texture.Xsimulator'. I also altered the Description in the following example. Just copy and past below after the existing [fltsim.7] entry in the cfg file and save it.

    [fltsim.8]
    title=Tiger Moth Xsimulator
    sim=Ants Tiger Moth 00
    model=round
    panel=
    sound=
    texture=Xsimulator
    kb_checklists=Ants Tiger Moth 00_check
    kb_reference=Ants Tiger Moth 00_ref
    atc_id=BMPY
    atc_id_color=
    ui_manufacturer="De Havilland"
    ui_type="DH82 Tiger Moth"
    ui_variation="Yellow G-BMPY"
    ui_typerole="Single Engine Prop"
    ui_createdby="Ant's Airplanes"
    description=The De Havilland Tiger Moth is one of the most famous aircraft ever built. This is a custom Xsimulator.net skin for the Tiger Moth.

    Now copy the Ants Tiger Moth folder and paste it into your FSX install directory inside -> SimObjects\Airplanes\

    Now when you go to FSX you should see the Xsimulator skin entry, your own description and the preview of the modded skin.

    XsimulatorTM.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
  4. marlon

    marlon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Balance:
    1,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    i think i omost that i was looking up youtube videos about it
  5. marlon

    marlon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Balance:
    1,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    should i be changing this part
    ui_manufacturer="De Havilland"
    ui_type="DH82 Tiger Moth"
    ui_variation="Yellow G-BMPY"
    ui_typerole="Single Engine Prop"
    in the middle of "
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No you don't need to change those.
  7. marlon

    marlon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Balance:
    1,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    i dont get this part
    [fltsim.8]
    title=Tiger Moth Xsimulator
    sim=Ants Tiger Moth 00
    model=round
    panel=
    sound=
    texture=Xsimulator
    kb_checklists=Ants Tiger Moth 00_check
    kb_reference=Ants Tiger Moth 00_ref
    i dont get fltsim and the other bit
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The entries name and describe the model, the only ones you need to change is the title, so it is easy to find in the menu, and your new skin name: texture=Xsimulator

    FSX will know where to get the texture you made as long at the is the same naming convention as you used to renamed the texture folder in the first place. Remember the early step where I said to copy and past the Texture folder and rename the copied folder to texture.Xsimulator. The second part of the name after the dot, texture.Xsimulator, is what you use for texture=Xsimulator
  9. marlon

    marlon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Balance:
    1,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    i try to do one on airbus called it marlon
  10. marlon

    marlon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Balance:
    1,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    do i have to put texture 1 higher every time
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes if you have different texture folders for an aircraft then each one has the next number in the cfg file for the menu entry.
  12. marlon

    marlon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Balance:
    1,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    [General]
    atc_type=AIRBUS
    atc_model=A321
    editable=0
    performance="Cruise Speed\n0.80 Mach 530 mph 828 km\/h\n\nEngine options\nGeneral Electric CFM56-5B3 30,000 lb thrust\n\nMaximum Range\n2,454 nm 4,352 km\n\nService Ceiling\n41,000 ft 12,497 m\n\nFuel Capacity\n52,500 lb 198,675 kg\n\nEmpty Weight\n105,906 lb 48,139 kg\n\nMaximum Gross Weight\n205,000 lb 93,181 kg\n\nLength\n146 ft 44.51 m\n\nWingspan\n111 ft, 10 in 34.09 m\n\nHeight\n38 ft, 7 in 11.76 m\n\nSeating (typical configuration)\n186"
    Category = airplane

    do i have to change it to 1 editable
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,089
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,996 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I expect so.