1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Do you think oculus rift will support motion simulators?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Thanatosx, Feb 12, 2015.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,802Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,364 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have near enough fixed the problems with my DK2 camera now I have attached it as solid as possible to the rig and I don't lose tracking any more or get thrown around in the rift everywhere. There is some movement which isnt much different than what you would get in real life.

    I cant believe I use to be able to drive with it being so wild lol
    • Like Like x 1
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,758
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Your 6DOF is far more refined, but your old rig has drawn plenty of new members to Xsimulator.net!
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Toplsvette

    Toplsvette first race rig

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    retired USAF fighter mechanic
    Location:
    Navarre, Florida
    Balance:
    368Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    This is great news for me. I just pre-ordered the cv1 with hopes of building a motion Sim to get the full effects. I built a computer with a i7-6700k , gtx 980 ti setup hoping it will work for both.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,758
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Quality motion simulation and VR are highly complimentary and when combined with quality peripherals, sound and haptics is about the most reliable way to elicit presence, the feeling of actually being there.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Excellent to hear, hope my thread on the subject helped. Mine is still working great and can attest to even less throwing around and more realistic G forces with working washouts - roll on SimTools V2.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. kenshihh

    kenshihh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    - 25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    are there any News regarding using the Vive and Motion Cancellation?

    I'm planning to Build my First Motion Sim(3Dof) in the Next Few Months (Still reading and try to learn as much as possible) and i wonder if the Tracking of the Rig would be possible with just mounting 1 or 2 Controller on it, the Controllers are Extremely accurate, i can spin them around and they never loose tracking.
  7. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,215Coins
    Ratings:
    +837 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My concern with the Vive and mounting it on a moving rig is that the lighthouses have a spinning motor in them. I am not sure how the motion and vibration will affect this motor as it spins, the Oculus camera has no moving parts so I suspect that would be better on a moving rig.

    I have heard some reports of the lighthouses being very susceptible to vibrations but I have no first hand experience so I can't confirm.

    With my DK2 I have that on a tripod in front of my 2 DOF rig. Now that I am moving to 3 DOF and the CV1 I am going to mount the camera to the front of the rig so it can rotate with me. I have 7 transducers and a lot of shaking from the motion so I am hoping it will be fine.
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,802Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,364 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So far the I can say that the CV1 camera seems to be more forgiving than the DK2. I have had no issues with it skipping or jerking whilst in motion.
  9. kenshihh

    kenshihh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    - 25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @Avenga76
    i'm not talking mounting the Lighthouse on the Rig(they are very sensible, just flick the lightly with your finger and they shut off for a few seconds), what i mean i mounting the Motion Controllers on the Rig to Track the Rig, using the MotionControllers as a Proxy for the MotionSim Movement

    @SilentChill

    ah cool thx for the confimation that the CV1 Camera works better with Vibration :)
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,758
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have always intended mounting the Vive controllers to my rig and track them with Lighthouse, then investigate how easy or hard it will be to do the motion cancellation offset in a generic way on the software side. I have my Vive and will get to it, which will mean either moving my compact simulator into my lounge for a while, or moving Lighthouse into my sim room.

    Unfortunately at the moment I am more focused on getting the Vive sorted and doing some work related development project with it.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. kenshihh

    kenshihh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    - 25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    great to hear that, please post you findings :)
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nope, I think motion cancellation will be along time off if ever. Although, I and others are still running with the current camera setup successfully.
  13. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I think it's rather odd that Oculus and HTC aren't including motion sim correction right from the start. Motion and VR is such an obviously perfect match this just seems silly!

    My Rift camera will be mounted to my platform so if I understand correctly what will still cause a problem is the gyro and accelerometers in the headset tilting my head up, down, left, and right when it's the platform that is moving.

    It even seems like they could probably just simply allow you to turn off the gyro and accelerometers in the headset and go 100% based on the camera and it should be fine.

    I'm building my 6DOF sim for lots of travel (same build as Stevant over at Thanos Motion Sim Forum) and it will be a shame if I have to tone it down because the unwanted head tilting is an issue.

    I suspected that for the most part it would be tolerable, but definitely not ideal, if positional tracking is correct but on board sensors tilt your head around a bit.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,758
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you mount the camera on the rig you will be fine, as long as there is not significant vibration.
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No guarantees, but my Sim is capable of a bit of movement and the DK2 Tracking Camera mounted to the rig works fine for me (CV1 is meant to be even better).:). See video.
  16. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks NoorBeast and SeatTime! @SeatTime that video makes me even more excited to get my motion sim up and running!

    The need to tilt your head up to look straight ahead under decel, down under accel, left during hard right turns, and right during hard left turns, is what I'm annoyed by. I figured that the brain would make this automatic and it wouldn't really bother the driver but still I'd like to have it not there at all if possible.
  17. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Balance:
    1,651Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    @Trip Rodriguez This is why I went with a GSeat over a platform. It may be tolerable to have to tilt your head on a fast driving rig but for a flight sim I don't think it's something I could live with. The camera on the rig is a good solution for rift (for now) but I can't imagine the Vive will fair too well.

    Oculus should have considered a second IMU in the camera. Once mounted to the platform the camera IMU values could be subtracted from the headset IMU values and zero out the motion of the rig completely. I think drift in the sensors is probably the major problem though. Anyone remember back in the dk1 days before we had a camera to zero drift and we had to recentre every few minutes?

    By the way Trip I love your star citizen videos. I changed to yaw on my X-axis and put roll on my pedals because of you :p
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,758
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    To be honest the Vive has a natural advantage for motion cancellation in that you can strap the Lighthouse controllers to the rig and instantly have sub mm 1:1 tracking of it. It is just a question of how easy or hard it is to find a way to subtract the movement from the HMD on the software side.
  19. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Balance:
    1,651Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Yes that is the major issue with Vive. It's a good idea in theory. I'm sure some titles will be harder than others so it may be quite limited in practice.
    Last edited: May 9, 2016
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,758
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The aim would be to do the Vive software cancellation in a generic way, not game by game. VectionVR motion cancellation for the Rift never took off for that very reason, it had to be compiled in at source level game by game. LFS supports VectionVR motion cancellation for the Rift, but as far as I know that is about it.