1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

DIY Tactile Transducer

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Edwin Collingridge, Nov 16, 2014.

  1. Edwin Collingridge

    Edwin Collingridge eSEA One

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    536Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    This is my first of several projects to making a DIY simulator. I was given a Creative Labs Inspire 2.1 2400 speaker set that has a 4Ω 20W BASS speaker. Fair enough this is only a fraction the power of the commercial ButtKicker 90W transducer but without having to buy anything and having an amplifier that matches the speaker there is little to loose and experience to gain. [​IMG]

    And here is the finished transducer
    [​IMG]

    But now comes the tricky part to get XSimulator Simtools to take the data from Assetto Corsa and output it to my DIY Tactile Transducer. I have looked on the forums but struggling to find anything my brain can understand in simple terms
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2014
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I know bass shaker is in development, but thats more for sound.
    So if you are going to set it up, that will do the job.
    Dunno about running it with data.
  3. Edwin Collingridge

    Edwin Collingridge eSEA One

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    536Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I found this "Tactile Transducer Setup Guide By Jeremy Paterson" that linked to this http://www.xsimulator.net/ site and that's one of the reasons why I joined here. maybe I got it all wrong thinking X-SIM and this site is one and the same!

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Edwin Collingridge

    Edwin Collingridge eSEA One

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    536Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I have the transducer working wonderfully with it plugged into its original amplifier which is plugged into the sound card (green L/R Front Jack) via a split-er the other output goes to my 4+1 sound system (the 4+1 is receiving the other signal from the black rear Speaker Jack) I also have a stand alone central self powered speaker receiving its signal from the sound card's Central Orange Jack.
    But unfortunately I can not get the Bass transducer to work if I plug in my USB surround headset :(
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yep, x-sim can drive buttkickers but the effects are not what should be expected (higher frequencies should not be the strongest)
    so you have to wait: Simtools buttkicker's support is under development.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  6. Edwin Collingridge

    Edwin Collingridge eSEA One

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    536Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Well for now just sound driven transducer it is then. When there is no conflict with the family and sound is not an issue then I use the transducer with the surround system and then for quieter demands from the family, I just have to use my headset in the standard stereo 3.5mm jack mode as I can not use the USB surround mode with the transducer driven by the system sound card. I guess the next step is to use software - Virtual Audio Cable that allows a program to send sound data to more than one sound device but this could then take the cost of the device from €00.00 to €20.00-30.30.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014
  7. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Bass shakers here in Australia can be expensive, like over $100 easy, so even with your extra costing of 20-30 euros, its still a cheaper option.
    well done. I must go dig out a speaker somewhere, I think I have a 6"sub not doing anything.
  8. Edwin Collingridge

    Edwin Collingridge eSEA One

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    536Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    This is a no brainer for most people, even the DIY challenged!
    • Some friend or family has an old speaker set that is just gathering dust. There is also ebay!
    • It is an easy project to do.
    • It is a quick project.
    • The results are bone shaking cool, even on the sound driven option.
    • There are lots of online info on this subject;
    The only challenge is if you want to use telemetry to dive the shaker!
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  10. Edwin Collingridge

    Edwin Collingridge eSEA One

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    536Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
  11. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I confused the video with a picture : good job! :D
    Have you ever experienced Buttkicker? so you could tell us how it is in comparison
  12. Edwin Collingridge

    Edwin Collingridge eSEA One

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    536Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    No so I can not compare. One thing I can say it sure is better than nothing. :thumbs
    At the moment it is just running of sound and not through the Xsimulator software
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Bodax

    Bodax Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Belgique
    Balance:
    480Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
  14. Bodax

    Bodax Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Belgique
    Balance:
    480Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    it is a can expensive, but easy and effective
  15. Quertreiber

    Quertreiber New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Eppingen-Germany
    Balance:
    282Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Simvibe is completely different animal than "sound". I bought it 3 month ago and i really adds immersion. Especially if one is using chasis mode with 1 transducer @ every corner. A nice axample:
    right frontwheel hits a curb, then the right front transducer starts to shake. Then right rearwheel hits it too, and both right transducer are shaking.
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    sorry, it's not easy at all: the software is complicated, many options, many control windows... I gave up
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,477
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,755Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,477 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am hoping @yobuddy is the solution, once he gets to implementing transducer support for SimTools ;)
  18. Quertreiber

    Quertreiber New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Eppingen-Germany
    Balance:
    282Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    So true. Most of the time I use only 3-4 effects. And it is way to expensive in my eyes. 1/3-1/2 of the price would be ok. Especially if you own other Simexperience products.
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  19. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, I bought 4 outputs amplifier and dayton puck in order to be able to beta-test:)
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Linkup

    Linkup Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    783Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Do you have a picture of how you mounted the setup to the chair?

    I'm also wondering how long the bolt you're using is?