1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY - OSW Mige/Simucube/IoniPro

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by SilentChill, Jan 17, 2017.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thought I would start my own build thread rather than clogging everybody else's up :)

    Thanks to many members @Nick Moxley @bruce stephen @crammy @stevemontuno and more with their great write ups and experiences I have plunged into the abyss of a DD Wheel

    As usual I will try and do it as cheap as possible and probably make all the mistakes so YOU don't have to :thumbs

    And #1 mistake already made :nerd do not buy a Mige motor from Aliexpress or anywhere else just go direct to Mige through Alibaba. So that's the first thing I have bought twice already luckily I was able to cancel the order from aliexpress.

    Cheapest is not always bestest :p

    So here's the parts list I have so far and I have purchased everything here so if anyone see's something that I have not got and I will need let me know please

    All the RED fonts are clicky links :)

    Wheel Base:

    Motor Mige 130ST-10010 £299.00
    Simucube Simucube £200.00
    upload_2017-1-18_17-2-9.png
    Driver ioni driver £120.00
    upload_2017-1-18_17-30-4.png
    PSU 600W-48V-12.5Amp-Power-Supply £40.00
    Motor Mount Mige-130ST-M10010-Motor-Mount £49.99
    Case Simucube Case £34.00
    Dsub case Dsub Case £3.13
    Dsub Connector Dsub Connector £1.06


    Total £747.18 including delivery

    Wheel Rim:

    Wheel Rim MOMO-Racing-Car-Steering-Wheel-Suede £45.00
    QR Bike Clamp 34.9mm Bike Clamp £2.99
    3D Printed QR Clamp http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1575453 £0.50
    upload_2017-1-18_16-59-7.png
    3D Printed Shifter Paddles http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1678086 £2.00
    upload_2017-1-18_16-59-22.png
    BT Dongle USB-Bluetooth-V4-0- £3.19
    upload_2017-1-18_16-59-47.png
    BlueHid BC BlueTooth controller £50.00
    upload_2017-1-18_17-0-2.png
    Micro Switches R Shaped Micro Switches £3.30

    Battery 1000mah LiPo Battery £3.69
    upload_2017-1-18_17-0-34.png
    Push Switches/Buttons 10PCS-Black-12mm-Waterproof-momentary-Push-button £2.72
    M3 Nuts and Bolts Selection set of M3's £6.00
    Magnets for Paddles Strong Round Disc Magnet 8x5mm Rare Earth Neodymium £5.76

    Total £125.15 including delivery

    Grand Total £872.33

    I think a full working DD wheel ready to plugin for less than £900 is a good deal :) (Obviously I have to build it first)

    I will add pictures as I progress :)
    • Like Like x 11
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2017
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  4. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,080Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,228 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    you'll need a NC e stop. I'm eager to read your reaction going from G27 to dd.
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    going to use the one for the rig so the whole thing stops ;)
    • Like Like x 2
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Do I need any plugs and adapters from the motor cables to the simucube ? hmmm thinking about whilst I am writing it would be easier to go look at the wiki :p
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,080Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,228 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just the d-sub 15 pin female plug for the data cable.
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  9. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,080Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,228 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Simucube Wiring.jpg
    photo provided by Joe sullivan @Iracng forums
    • Informative Informative x 3
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  11. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,569Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    thats handy you just posted this. i was just about to start a topic as i couldnt connect my wheel to granity to change the settings for dirt. I just noticed that the 2nd usb is for granity. i did have 2 cables plugged in the day i set it up and tested with one to play and it worked so left it out. that is such a relief. i thought i had buggered something up but it still worked in game so i couldn't figure it out.
    I did put a new pci usb in yesterday and set it up tonight and now the actuautors are not detected but the card is working. ill start a topic if i cant sort it
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    New USB ports = New Com ports
    • Agree Agree x 2
  13. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,569Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    I expected them to be new com ports, so was just going to change that in sim tools. the issue i have is that they are not physically detected by windows. i plug the usb in but i dont get the usual windows ping and the cards are not lighting up. going to try tommorow as i feel rough now after playing dirt in vr. i keep crashing lol
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My motor has been shipped and I have my FedEx tracking number :D
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 2
  15. Ramok

    Ramok Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Balance:
    1,089Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi
    @SilentChill do you ordered 130ST-M10010 MIGE Servo Motor from Alibaba ?
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah mate click the link above it will take you to it, that's why I posted the links and prices to everything I have bought so far
    • Useful Useful x 1
  17. Ramok

    Ramok Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Balance:
    1,089Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @SilentChill another question are you buy IONI pro hc or IONI pro?
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ioni Pro I got it 2nd hand ;)
  19. Ramok

    Ramok Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Balance:
    1,089Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Oh you lucky :)
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,417 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Excited much......

    20170125_160622.jpg

    :cheers:cheers:cheers
    • Winner Winner x 7
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  21. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,672Coins
    Ratings:
    +333 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Wow that was some fast shipping ,,