1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

[DIY] OpenSimwheel.NET | Selbermacher Servo-Lenkrad

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by bberger, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    if thats the case then I have it all. I was going to add some power switches for the motor and for the servo driver. I dont see any of the fuse info on there or the resistor either....Thats the issue is there are a few different versions floating around. The wiring, the damn wiring and the schematic wtih 3 options on it has me a bit confused. There are a few places where the wire is in a T, meaning it looks like it connects to 3 locations. Not sure how I will handle this or if I am reading it correctly.
  2. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Yes ther are some dif in configurations. Just follow Martin Aschers tutorial and you'l be good
  3. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I will take a look there again. I also emailed that guy earlier about the stm breakout board. Not sure if he still sells them or not and how long that whole process takes.
  4. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Just looked, thats the schematic I have been using. I dont understand the best way to approach the wires with intersections that go to multiple places.
  5. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Lol, I'm a very simply guy with no experience in electric wiring whatsoever. I just began and followed the wires one by one and three days later I was finished hahahaha

    The break outboard for Argon is sold by granite. Klik
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Now I'm going to eat lol
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Thanks @Rinus janssens thats helpful and yes i bought that board but I was talking about the one that sits on top of the STM Discovery board.
  7. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
  8. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Youl need to contact Dennis Reimer for that !! info@ib-reimer.de

    The pics are from granite wiki Klick
    • Like Like x 1
  9. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Thanks, Already sent him a message. and thanks again for the wiki pics
  10. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Sent him the money..51 usd...thinking things just got cleaner and easier...had to order some components but will ship the end of next week
  11. ericRacer

    ericRacer You get old because you stop playing ! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Balance:
    - 1Coins
    Ratings:
    +137 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
  12. James High

    James High New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Occupation:
    Sales, Media Production
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Balance:
    164Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Sorry I'm new, and this may be a bit off the main topic, but if someone here has ordered a kit from D Reimer, is there anything I need to do with the local import / tax office when the wheel is in transit? fees? websites? I don't want it getting stuck somewhere, y'know? Anyone have a detailed account of this? Just making the final preps on my end here in Milwaukee, WI. I just paid up, including shipping, and got the invoice from Reimer last night. SO STOKED.
  13. yangyang8825

    yangyang8825 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    我也在开始,不错的项目! :grin
    Google Translate: I also started a good project!
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 15, 2015
  14. Kurt Vanhee

    Kurt Vanhee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Have a question regarding what rim to use.
    I have a Thrustmaster F1 rim, full carbon with sli-pro lying around. Can this 1 be used or mounted on the OSW?
    If yes where do i need to look for an adatper, or what do i need.

    Fanatec formula rim also, so same questions as for the thrustmaster.
  15. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Useful Useful x 1
  16. Kurt Vanhee

    Kurt Vanhee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hmmm, thanks for responding but unfortunately i am no 3D wonder:oops:
    Just wanted to know, if there are already people with any of these rims mounted on a OSW
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,463
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,473 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,284Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  19. jordi

    jordi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    spain
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi to all,

    I'm new in the DIY OSW, i would make one and i have any questions, i send a image for this

    Please help me with the questions, i'm not expert on electronic.....

    Thank you

    Attached Files:

  20. Francisco C

    Francisco C New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Modena Italy
    Balance:
    277Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor
    Hi everyone and specially @bberger,

    I am trying to develope a little system with FFB just for the wheel.

    I have developed a little HID device, the device descriptor is really hard to write.

    Everything works (butons, pedals and wheel encoder) but now I want to add the FFB to the Device Descriptor to make windows recognize it and I am really lost.

    @bberger I can not find the device descriptor in your project, can you give some advice or indication?