1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

[DIY] OpenSimwheel.NET | Selbermacher Servo-Lenkrad

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by bberger, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Ok so today I ordered the parts from Granite Devices....totaled around 700 USD. All in all when you compare this to the t500 and the mods I have done to it, really not that crazy and I will sell that when this one is ready to roll and I need to get rid of my g27 as well, and my dfgt pro.

    Im thinking about 1300 USD after all is said and done.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,457
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,466 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you got a link or supplier where it can be purchased from @shannonb1?
  3. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Its the picture in the message, its an amazon link, thats not spam
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,457
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,466 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My apologies I missed that, it was the big picture in the subsequent post where it was mounted that caught my eye, I should have read the thread more closely.
  5. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I just thought of something for cutting the circle and a hole dead center....don't find the center of the circle, find the edge....meaning I will drill the hole, place the center screw, trace the outer edge, cut the circle out then I'll just bevel the lip and use a beveled screw top hold the bidding r extra thought although I can't Even move it already after pounding it on
  6. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    So here is what I ordered already..and what I know I need: Any help here @bberger and @RacingMat

    Have
    Mige Motor
    Mige Motor Wires
    Argon Granite
    Granite USB board
    Granite Heat Sink x4
    Granite Breakout board
    Granite Resistor
    Asher Racing Mount
    Discovery Board
    Aluminum Case
    Fuse holder x 2
    USB mount Plug x 2
    24vdc Power Supply
    FN2010-10-07
    Wheel Hub
    Wheel Quick Release
    Steering Wheel
    PCB Side mounts for Discovery board
    Cooling Fan
    15 Wire rainbow D-sub

    Need
    E-stop
    Short RJ-45 Cables
  7. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Order some ferrite core's also
  8. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    How many and what size?
  9. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I think I need a 24 to 12 v convertor but I dont know what to get exactly. How many amps do I need?
  10. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
  11. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,219Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    what for?
    - Disco is USB powered
    - VSD needs a 12v PSU but Argon do not
    look.gif
  12. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    From what I understand its for the Logic PSU.

    Im following the schematics provided by @bberger
  13. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Argon needs 24v 1amp

    I use ferrit on every cable just to be sure. I use 6

    Some people dont have any interference and some people like me have if I don't use them.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    That's what I got. Do do you know what 24 to 12 volt I need? I assume 1 amp? Been reading the wiring schematics, little worried but gaining confidence. When I'm done I'm creating a video tutorial in English....if I get it to....When I get it to work
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  15. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Something similar to this

    What do you mean with 24v to 12v ?
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2015
  16. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
  17. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    i own a OSW but I don't use a 24 to 12 converter
  18. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    • Like Like x 1
  19. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +596 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Its in German...Translate on that page is horrible.

    Are you using the Argon Granite?
    You take any pictures of the wiring internally?
  20. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,108Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Its not in German its in english lol

    1. b) English Version:

    1. What do I have to order, to use the OpenSimwheel?

    Motor

    MiGe ST130-M10010
    Lisa Zhan
    Foreign trade sales representative
    Hang Zhou Mige Electric CO., ltd
    Website: www.hzmgdj.com.cn[/URL]
    E-mail: hzmgdjzhan@gmail.com[/EMAIL"]hzmgdjzhan@gmail.com"]hzmgdjzhan@gmail.com[/EMAIL]
    Tel: +86-571-57576990
    Fax: +86-571-82308685
    Mob: +8613758261177
    Add: Number 5, Dingshan Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou City, Zhejiang Province, China Zip: 311258
    MSN: zhanchunjin@hotmail.com[/EMAIL"]zhanchunjin@hotmail.com"]zhanchunjin@hotmail.com[/EMAIL]
    Skype: lisazhan1

    Motor-Controller
    Granite Devices Argon -> PM me
    SMv2 USB Adapter -> PM me
    Heatsinks for Argon -> PM me

    Cableset

    Feedbackcable Motor <-> Argon/Discovery Board
    Powersupplycable Motor
    SUB-D Housing
    CAT6 0,5m
    CAT6 1,5m
    24V Powersupplycable
    Ferrules
    Switching Powersupply 24V
    2x Cord with open cable
    SUB-D 15 pin connector
    Spanset
    Spanset for MiGe ST130-M10010
    Quick Release
    OSW Spansetadapter (needed)
    QR Wheelside and QR Base Adapter (optional)
    FFB ExtensionSTM32F4Discovery
    USB Micro cable
    USB Mini cable
    Adapterboard -> PM me
    • Useful Useful x 1