1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY Linear Actuator design

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by wannabeaflyer2, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. motiondynamics

    motiondynamics New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Balance:
    126Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SimAxe, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    One question: can flexible joints (with a simple hole) have slipping problems on the motor shaft?
  2. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi again This type of accessory https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwi1tcz9r8jiAhW68uAKHcAfBDMQjRx6BAgBEAU&url=https://www.banggood.com/Ballscrew-Nut-Seat-Bracket-Holder-Ball-Nut-Housing-Bracket-Mount-For-SFU1604-1605-1610-p-1046815.html&psig=AOvVaw298El-GcSd4FrFfl-cPvSc&ust=1559481642803471 might be something your after . close to off shelf part requiring just some extra tapped holes to secure a tube mount . Just a thought as im doing that on mine now as part of some updates .. printing 3d parts later today just for trail fit to see if its a doabke option :)

    not sure if your saying you have a slipping problem with the coupler or need a method to prevent slipping :) either way any looseness in this area usually increase wear and will becoame a greater problem over time. Best to make sure any coupler used is very secure and use threadlocking compound to secure screws once tightened.. the back and forth nature of the movement will work loose if not keyed / Pinned or not tight enough in 1st place . again just my 2 cents worth -----call it wannabe's learning curve being passed on LOL
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  3. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @motiondynamics as mentioned yesterday this is the option im introducing to my Actuators to make use of off the shelf Ball Nut carrier , I will need to drill and Tap an additional 3 x M5 ( 15mm deep holes) to the purchased block I think they are less than £5.00 each ..

    The photo shows the 3D printed Rod Mount and there will be 2 Adjustable sliders to dial out excess ball nut carrier rotation.. also while I have the Actuator apart i'll had the Optical encoder GT2 40T pulley to the Motor Shaft .
    IMG_2959.JPG IMG_2960.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
  4. motiondynamics

    motiondynamics New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Balance:
    126Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SimAxe, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi wannabeaflyer2,
    congratulations for the idea you had, in this the Ballnut replaces the piece that you would have had to print in 3D, shorter waiting times to create the piece in 3D and print.
    Two curiosities:

    1) I read that the diameter of the steel tube is 18 mm inside and 20 mm outside (1 mm thick metal), so I suppose the diameter of the Ballnut attached to the ball screw is about 18 mm, which the Ballnut extra, it has an internal hole with a diameter of about 20 mm. Is it so?

    2) The 20 mm tube, how was it fixed with the two Ballnut? I saw on the photos a piece of blue color attached with the tube, but I didn't understand the method of fixing (a passing screw? Or glue?)

    Thank you

    Attached Files:

  5. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @motiondynamics I just today did a drawing of the revised Adaptor which can be 3d Printed or |Made out of Ali / HPDE plastic .. Gimme a mo to photgarph the drawing and i'll add it to this post later , 9 Gotta find camera as I forgot to e-mail it to myself at home LOL ) .

    My Steel tube has a 25mm od and the Ball nut is 28 mm The clamp has a hole reduction feature to match the chosen Tube ( Carbon Fibre . Metal whatever ) centrally to the ball nut and is locked in place with a Pinch clamp feature built into the adapter ,, ( as most of the force is applied vertically ) this pinch clamp idea should be Fine ..

    the one shown in pic was done on cnc Lunch time so bit rushed but the idea is there , its clamped to the ball nut holder by x M5 screws and has a 6mm Nut and bolt at the base to clamp onto the tube to prevent tube rotation or being pulled away from the adapter block ..

    Tomorrow i'll clean up the sketch and show a cutaway section of the assembly .. the loaded platform weight is transferred directly from the rod to the top face of the ballnut . well that's the theory ..

    so the 3d printed version in blue was proof of concept the Black ( Delrin -Acetal Co Ploymer ) CNC version I think will be my choice ( mainly because I have access to this machine at work in free time .. my Home cnc is in bits ... making it bigger) but missing its use for stuff like this .. Cheers

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  6. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    583
    Balance:
    3,952Coins
    Ratings:
    +249 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    you keep reinventing the wheel... my friend, you need to enjoy your 6 DoF more than you do building it @wannabeaflyer2 !!!
  7. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    LOL @hannibal you have a very valid point , im a tinerer and love the making bits , But need to get on with getting the platform with these upgrades running , these were little upgrades that I had inn mind so I'd better get back to assembly after these last bits are made :) im missing the fun
    So order was placed yesterday for AMC103 Sensors ( plastic took a hit ) and 3D printer will now be working and earning its keep Cheers Crew.
  8. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Guys , As a master tinkerer and general I can try that kinda guy , I have decided to embark on a 5 DOF simulator using these ever popular AASD15A AC servo Motor Drive / Motor Kits .. always had this bee in my Bonnet about using encoders and this system looks like it will fit the Bill ..

    I'll start a New Post for this new Endeavour so this is just a teaser , The new actuator I just built is a Derivative of my Trusty ol 6 DOF unit ( just scaled down to allow 150mm total travel ..

    Cad drawings are now in last stages before release but those familiar with the MK1 version will see no major changes other than the Motor used and some small tweaks .

    If these Motors Perform as well as they seem to , then im looking to swap my DC units out and replace them with these AC servos . Some changes will be needed to the New Motor Mounting arrangement but totally doable so I'll still Have 6 DOF setup and running and a 5DOF Car racing sim with Traction Loss..

    Basically this new system will be Wannabe's version of the SFX unit but with my Tight arsed trying to save money mods LOL .

    So without further ado here are a few teaser Pics ..

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 7
    • Creative Creative x 1
  9. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Doh Forgot the 1st Draft Cad Pic

    Happy to report the 1st round of manual testing went greta actuator works a treat ,
    Using my Barebones AMC128USB with AASD15A firmware and connected to AASD15 Controller via a Bread boared Lash up ..all ggod
    Self Homing Works ,
    No Limit switch required ( But these can b fitted if user needs them )
    Next Step Simtool V2.04 Control Then I will be cooking with Gas as they say ..

    Currently Only bought one controller / Ac Servo Set as test assembly, But looking good so far IE "does what it say on the tin " just like the advert :)

    Just need to tidy Up the last few Bits on the Actuator .. NEW POST coming guys

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  10. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    One mor LOl then i'll bugger off for the day
    Note speed turned down for these initial test ...This puppy will go a bucket load faster once I get brave enough :)

    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,088
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +878 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Soon you'll be here:



    ;)
    • Like Like x 3
  12. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,448Coins
    Ratings:
    +280 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you are going from 6dof down to 5dof and a reduction in movement to 150mm

    what were you reasons for these decisions

    how much are the ac motors - they look like a nice unit, what is rpm ?
  13. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    hi @Gadget999 sorry only just seen this post ,
    you are going from 6dof down to 5dof and a reduction in movement to 150mm
    after all this time messing about i sortta convinced myself (and wallet ) that seeing an nicely priced ac servo motor inc controller and built in encoder would make for an almost plug n play setup , all i need to do was conver my actuators form DC to these New AC servo motors and coulf still use my AMC128 usb setup it worked well enough for me and now bought AMC-AASD15 dedicated servo controller made by @Thanos .

    what were you reasons for these decisions
    i got seduced by the 4DOF darkside LOL ..been doing to much tweaking and not enough simming and i have now verified that i can upgrade my 6DOF actuators to AC with simple mod ( best of both worlds ) 6dof for flight simmimg and 4-5 DOF for cars ( that the Plan till may i have to sell one

    how much are the ac motors - they look like a nice unit, what is rpm ?
    well the AC servo motors and controller were each set at circa £195.00 + shipping and Buggering import duty LOL . can post a link next time and have to say they are great value for money one parallel port cable required and either sfx or preferably Thanos AMC-AASD15a and with simtools or FlyPT mover you'll have a single axis system up and running in no time .. just need to change a few parameters on Servo controller and your good to go

    been messing with kartkraft and cant wait to get the cockpit made and mount my new sfx derivative Actuators..

    Cheers
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oh Oh forgot to add ,as a warning i guess , only downside that seems to have been flagged up, is when using these ac servo motor and controller , there seem to be a high pitched noise (whine) in the background that annoys a lot of users :(

    Lucky for me im deaf LOL and Old so this wont be an issue .. thought i'd mention it as you'll come across a few users that this issue spoils, what would otherwise be for them a great sim system/setup..

    One hopes that with time someone will figure out how to work around this ( different people get affected and for some like me its a non issue ) cant guarantee what any visitors might hear though so it may well be an issue for people demoing the simulator when its finished ..
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Schopfer

    Schopfer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Thailand
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    great work
  16. Özden Büyüksanalan

    Özden Büyüksanalan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi,

    what a wonderfull piece of ARTWORK !!! Respect.

    I am also dreaming and planing to build an actuator like yours.

    Which motors are you using right now? I am wondering if nema 23 is strong enough or
    did you use nema 34? Also, why not choose closed loop stepper for position signal? That would
    have reduce your problems with the pot. Or does that not work?

    I was wondering if wiper motors without gear directly mounted at the T16 Rod would also work
    as a motor or are they to weak without gear? Did someone have experience with that?

    Again, great work.

    Regards
    Rock
  17. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Özden Büyüksanalan i am currently using the ASD15 servo motor/ driver setup that most diy guys are using for SFX100/150 Type builds , moved away from DC motors as the price came within the acceptable level and a lot easier to configure and use . there are pro's and cons for any motor choice but for me the clincher was the encoder incorperated in the servo motor . even though its mains driven my 6 Actuator only pull < 10 amps so far and to be honset ive not looked back to dc . Still have all the gear but now will be selling stuff before long to buy more AC gear :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. Özden Büyüksanalan

    Özden Büyüksanalan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I do understand your point.

    I will try to customize a wiper motor to connect to a T16 rod. And for the positioning i will use
    a 125 mm Fader if thats possible and enough movement range. Just designing a clamp for the
    Fader to put on the main assembly of the Motor and Rod Shaft. Maybe it will work.

    If, then we can set up a very very cheap setup.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,953Coins
    Ratings:
    +907 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Özden Büyüksanalan we all star somewhere in this DIY hobby and your in the best place for advice all over this forum . i have been through wiper motors , Wheelchair motors and gearboxex , and DC motor driven ballscrew etc and the only thing id say you need to bear in mind, is the weight , speed capability of your intended motion system, . pound for pound the ballscrew combo delivers but can be a bit noisey ( im deaf noise is not an issue LOL ) hey good luck with your project and welcome to the forum , i mean it when i say this is best place for info and feedback , its all good stuff and great sharing experiance :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
  20. yondwangmms

    yondwangmms Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    - 186Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello, I am using linear actuator based on DC motor. For me, the price of servo motor is still too high! I feel that the linear actuator of DC motor is the perfect combination of price and performance! I don't know if my statement is correct, because I haven't used the linear actuator of servo motor, so I can't distinguish the specific performance difference between the two actuators.