1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

DIY Linear Actuator design

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by wannabeaflyer2, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    People were asking me when the AMC1280USB will support quadrature encoders, so it does now. I used it for linear servomotors that I didn't want to attach external position sensors to them successfully.

    Generally I heard feedback from people tried kangaroo and compared it to the AMC1280USB before, that the AMC1280USB provides more smooth ride in flight simulators. ( see Markus : http://6dof.my.primusnetz.de/ )

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Ringorumble

    Ringorumble Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 1 / -0
    @Thanos can you give me more Info about the Quadratur Support ?
  3. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    ok another minor update , this is my attempt at trying to create a wiring diagram showing how i'll be connecting the Encoder2Pos Interface to my Barebones AMC128USB .. as I have mentioned I will be trying 3 different option to see which gives best operation overall..

    1st up then is the attached PDF drawing ( it may not be correct and I need to clarify some info regarding Jumpers that need shorting , Where and would like to create a doc that explains each part of the PCB ., Which connections are actually required for each setup etc , at the moment from the info I have gleaned from you guys here regarding working Dipswitch setting for Sabertooth , baud rates and the like for commss with barebones AMC so will need to be verified in my setup ..

    as always feel free to point out anything I missed guys as I'd like this to be a sortta one stop point for info regarding this configuration ..

    Actual wiring starts today so more to come guys .

    OH Oh should have pointed out that the pdf only shows one actuator setup obviously it will be mirrored for all other axis's with the appropriate feedback and encoder outputs signals routed accordingly to the AMC controller :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2018
  4. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    hi guys he's back with the 1st rough setup and initial connection/operational tests done .
    to be honest it would have been straight forward had dofuss here read a bit more and followed his own wiring diagram LOL .

    anyways I made a few fundamental mistakes which sortta had me pulling hair out and have to add they were self inflicted issue , and nothing to do the with the product , ok long story short I had the limit switches connected wrongly NC instead of NO so that in itself led me down the wrong path as I was sure it was correct ..

    Thanos was extremely helpful and patient with my hamfisted connecting of his Encoder2Pos PCB but to his credit he stuck with my numerous e-mails and even provided debugging tools which allowed me to identify my mistake ..

    OK so the setup as shown in the video is not pretty , but it was enough for me to get used to the operation and what connection will be when and if this option is incorporated within my 6 DOF motion Platform

    as mentioned I will add my notes and lesson learnt here so that anyone that decides to go with this option can have an easier path and not make the dammm fool mistakes I made :)

    not quite sure whats up at moment but cant seem to upload pics ? will try later
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ok, I admit this put a smile on my face, but for the wrong reasons.

    You see because of the unique unidirectional way the sabertooth handles it command input with 0-5v signal, the way you connected it kinda works.

    But the amc1280usb is no-where in that loop, to actually provide target position or PID control of the position.

    See you need to connect the 0-5v output of the Encoder2position module to the 0-5v analog input of the Amc1280usb. Then connect the analog output 0-5v of 6DOF ext board to the analog input of Sabertooth. And the encoder on the motor is connected to the Encoder2position module thus all together form a complete loop.

    Until you that, the motor will only calibrate and stay in middle position.

    Thanks
    Thanos
  6. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Here are the settings you need on the AMC1280USB:

    In USO DATA FORMAT select "Motion Data Only"
    In Set Sensor Type select "Analog 10-bit" (degrees dont matter here).
    in Set Output Type select "Analog 8-bit" and "2. SNS Uni-DIR" option"

  7. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    LOL my bad I should have explained I did this test to confirm that the encoder was working ok and that if connected to the sabertooth it would mimic having a POT connected to S1 & ov
    So I should have made clear that this test confirmed those two elements of the system were working together in one hit ... I did try the barebones AMC as you suggested but could not get a signal out of the AMC to the sabertooth with a free standing 12V scooter motor .. that being the case the sabertooth saw 0V at S1 and went to full reverse ( as it should ) so I figured that's a NO NO for the actuator

    so the video I [posted was that setup whilst I tried to sort out what I did wrong with AMC setup :) Oh Oh and thanks for the AMC setup Vid that should do the trick for me Cheers ...proper vide will follow soon
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey,

    Update to the following firmware:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/p5upy8bug5fdyfl/enc_6dof_AMC1280USB_v2.4_rev7b.hex?dl=0

    It contains a fix for a strange bug I found. (some floating pins cause the output to lock to 2.5v when the board in not touching the floor lol)

    I uploaded a new video showing what to do to setup the AMC1280USB barebones for sabertooth and how it reacts with the encoder2position module on it.






    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  9. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Thanos just to say Thanks for checking this out for me , this video is just what I needed , one thing ,,,
    I noticed what looked like Links ( Jumper) fitted to the PCB header just to the right of the analogue input pins , Is this required ?

    My barebones does not have this Header fitted to those pads "S1 to S4" . Should I add one and fit the jumper across "S4" ?

    is this why I have not been able to get a voltage change at the analogue output pin as shown in your video ...

    Of to work Now but Hope to check this out later today . Cheers @Thanos
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The double row pin headers on S1-S4 are for jumpers to enable certain functions.

    S1= enables output for Maestro mini servo
    S2= ... dont remember lol
    S3= logic output for enabling clearpath servomotors
    S4= keeps the LCD menu enabled while in ONLINE mode.

    They are not really needed for your case except if you want to place a jumper on S4 to debug while connected to Simtools.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. hjr2

    hjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Great thread. In for updates.
  12. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Thanos massive thanks for the closed captions on the Tutorial video for the sabertooth and Encoder2Pos for me that was brilliant as it cleared up some misconceptions on my part. so Big shout and thanks for those new Videos ..

    I have to hold my hands up and say I must have zapped something cos my analogue Output pins are sitting at 1,794V in some instance and then other times its 3.0594Vdc ...New firmware successfully updated and as per video with nothing connected other than the USB supply im not seeing any change when I press the 4 Cursor keys in sequence ..

    Im thinking that those pins should sit at half of the 5v supply ref SNS unit -dir Control method ( and that way any controller connected wont runaway when the system is powered up) also means when the cursor keys are activated left /right or Up/Down the signal should go 2.5V to 0V or 2.5V to 5V . (ref inbuilt AMC test commands)

    I have not had any blue smoke or any other signs that damage was done , other than I noticed that when I disconnect the USB cable any Voltmeter connected to analogue out pin and ground reads 1v or thereabout ( as though the board is holding a charge somewhere) will stick a video on youtube if it helps

    Is there another test I can try for determine what I have blown up .
    thanks to the videos and your explanations i'm now pretty sure even with my fumblings I should at least be able to do the basic test as described and shown ..

    cheers just don't give up on me yet i'll get there mechanics I can handle Electronics Pah :-(
  13. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Added link to Video of my possibly self inflicted Issue, getting My barebone AMC128USB interface fully operational at testing stage



    DVM Connected to Analogue Output Pin and Ov
    all Menu settings as shown in tutorial Video
    I,e Sensor type Analogue 10 Bit .
    Output Type = PWM 12 Bit , Sns Uni-Dir etc

    video shows 10K pot connected but even with Pot disconnected and manually triggering each cursor , the voltage change at the Analogue output pins does not do what I expect it to ...

    Any ideas Guys , Off to Work so will check back later ..
  14. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Can you take a clear photo of the board, i can't see the connections you did on the video because of the LED glare!!
  15. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Thanos rry about the duff video , Ok the Positive lead form the dvm was connected to the Each analogue out pin 3ed row of the 12 bit PWM header and the zero o volt was the Gnd Pin next to the 5 V pin top RHS of PCB above the 8 Bit PWM headers on the PCB or in this picture I used the ov header as per your Video either way I thought all 0V points were common :)

    Attached Files:

  16. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Sorry for the delay,

    Can you try the test mode of the outputs to see if there is proper output voltages?
    Just set the DIP switches as:
    Dip #1 OFF
    Dip #2 OFF
    Dip #3 OFF
    Dip #4 ON

    The analog outputs should be ramping Up and Down from 0v to 5v and the digital out pins should toggle states 0v ot 5v
  17. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Thanos , I went through that test and that's what's weird :-( when I monitor the anologue output pins and the digital PWM pins i'm getting the switching correct (on /off ) and ramping up from 0V to 4V ??, but noted the voltage at analogue seems to be 0v to 4 volts ( never get to hard 5V but that may be the analogue meter needle damping) ..

    I take it that after this test , I should just be able to switch back to Dip switch 1 on all others off, and press reset.

    That being the case and without any other device connected , when I press any of the jog keys I would expect the signal at the analogue out to be steady 2.5Vdc (No jog button pressed ) and once a button pressed it should move towards 0V or 5V ( depending on which direction selected ?

    quick clip of test setup

    Unless im missing something ( VERY likely lol ) Im sure there is another issue that's stopping the anologue feedback demand signal getting to the analogue out stage of the PCB ..

    Does the test routine bypass this route ?

    Really appreciate the patience and the assist with this ,so I can move this test forward and start getting some progress info to post here and possibly help others :) will stack a video on youtube for you to see the test setup and verify my findings .
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2018
  18. Edaurdo

    Edaurdo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @wannabeaflyer2,
    Congratulations for your actuators!

    I am interested in knowing what is the power of each 12v motors (Or the maximum current that they consume to reach the range of weight lifting that you have indicated)
  19. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    5,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +591 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Edaurdo its been a while since I used my platform still works but been distracted so not been developing it as I should have done by now, if I recall I was only seeing 30 amp ish peeks ( but my testing was tame in comparison to the other guys so cant say that's truly representative). I'd have to find the videos to show that . that's why I was still using the DE sabertooth 2X32 controllers.

    A lot of the guys have opted for the 2X60 version so im guessing that that would be the way to go .. as for im sure it was posted earlier in the thread or @SilentChill post as there were some early issues about what the actual full speed shake your teeth out load current drawn was hence the bump up to the 2x60 controller version..
  20. Edaurdo

    Edaurdo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Perfect @wannabeaflyer2 ! Thank you very much for the information! As soon as I start my development I will let you know.

    Greetings from Argentina!