1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY FFB Steering wheel (MMosFFB ) (In Progress)

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Alexey, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. GoRacing

    GoRacing Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Balance:
    95Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    So if I understand correctly, will I create the file like the one I have attached?
    Then in AC I modify the file: ff_post_process.ini adding this string:
    [HEADER]
    VERSION = 1
    TYPE = LUT
    ENABLED = 1
    [RANGE]
    VALUE = 1
    [LUT]
    CURVE = myfile.lut
    is subject to changes right? Sorry but I'm not very practical. Thanks

    Attached Files:

  2. doddynco

    doddynco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    Joyrider
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Yeh looks good to me. I've made a change to the suggested lut settings on the previous post as there was an error.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. GoRacing

    GoRacing Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Balance:
    95Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    OK thank you.
    The correct ones are these with the addition of space between ENABLED = 1 and [RANGE] then between
    VALUE = 1 and [LUT] Right?
    ===========================
    [HEADER]
    VERSION = 1
    TYPE = LUT
    ENABLED = 1

    [RANGE]
    VALUE = 1

    [LUT]
    CURVE = myfile.lut
    ===========================
  4. doddynco

    doddynco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    Joyrider
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Yeh just keep the same formatting as the ini file. I don't have AC installed so I can't see it for myself.
  5. GoRacing

    GoRacing Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Balance:
    95Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    OK thanks. I have to install Ac too and see if it works. :)
  6. Nutzu02

    Nutzu02 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello lads , I'm working towards building a FFB wheel , but somehow I'm stuck at "creating" the FFB .
    I've followed EbolzMagy's steps , using the next items :
    - Arduino Leonardo
    - BTS 7960 43A Motor Driver
    - 12v Power Suppy
    - Yumo E6B2-CWZ3E Encoder
    - 12V D.C Geared Motor
    -3x10k Potentio

    I've connected everything exactly as EbolzMagy presented in his videos , but I can't seem to get any feedback from the motor , actually I don't get curent on the motor from the driver .

    Any solutions towards this problem ?

    Thanks
  7. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Balance:
    2,275Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    It might be a pretty broad bunch of reasons...what soft are you in? Ebolz have several videos for different soft. People sometimes tend to mess them.
    Just as a start.
  8. Nutzu02

    Nutzu02 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I've been following his " DIY arduino forcefeedback steering wheel " Part 1 to 4 , basically his first videos on the channel
  9. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Balance:
    2,275Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    And that's exactly with Aiwave tool. Not the EMC. Aiwave is.... better even not to discuss it. Download at least his EMC Lite soft and watch for connections.
  10. Nutzu02

    Nutzu02 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I've tried his EMC tutorial , did everything the way he presented , still no FFB . When I open EMC software , I get the Steering Angle shown , but there's no power delivered to the motor . Can the BTS 7960 be faulty ?
  11. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Balance:
    2,275Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    I saw even "faulty" encoders, connected in a crazy way meanwhile... Hard to say according to only words etc
  12. Nutzu02

    Nutzu02 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    How can I elaborate the problem even more ? I'll do the best I can if you give me solutions .
  13. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Balance:
    2,275Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    Besides other things, can suggest removal of the bts radiator, and test them again. But carefully. If that help, chips've got short circuit throught the radiator.
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2020
  14. Nutzu02

    Nutzu02 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    It kinda worked(works with the radiator on as well) . Now when I get to test the FFB in the "iRacing Force Feedback Test" , no matter which option I get , it spins my wheel endlessly on one direction . Any reason behind that ? How can I solve this problem.
  15. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Balance:
    2,275Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    Swap the polarity on motor. Or pwm pins. Its all the same.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. martinez cristian a

    martinez cristian a New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    93Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hi guys!! im new here but as i have the same proyect, viewed same videos and as you all.
    I bought a broken G25 (looks like Mainboard is broken according to some test) and i want to replicate this using G25 motors and encoder, it should work?

    I have:

    - Arduino Leonardo
    - G25 power supply or a PC PSU
    - BTS 7960 43A
    - G25 encoder
    - Both G25 Motors
  17. Chris_Beeves

    Chris_Beeves Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Balance:
    788Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    It’ll work just fine!
    The hard part is fitting it all into the wheel casing.
    I’d recommend using EMC firmware. Very easy to use.
  18. martinez cristian a

    martinez cristian a New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    93Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    thank you!
  19. martinez cristian a

    martinez cristian a New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    93Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    it worked! also using Arduino Pro Micro, im going to switch to Leonardo and i need to tweak the FFB but its going well :D
  20. Chris_Beeves

    Chris_Beeves Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Balance:
    788Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice!
    Why switch? The Pro Micro works just as good. Need more inputs? The button matrix is a bit limited on the Micro. If you’re going to switch I would suggest using the “black pill” stm32 instead. A lot more powerful and has 12-bit analog inputs (if I remember correctly). Works with the newer EMC versions.

    If you donate any amount to EbolzMagy, you can get EMC pro. It has a lot more settings for the ffb.